NaNoWriMo Journey: Day One

Today marked my first EVER day of NaNoWriMo. I’ve never done it before. And because I’m crazy, I promised a daily blog post as WELL as 50,000 words.

I woke up excited, SO excited. It’s like a writer’s Christmas! I opened up a fresh new Word document (just THAT bit is exciting) and started typing.

CHAPTER ONE

Before school, I managed to write about 400 words. At school (sucked in, Algebra!), I managed 600 on top of that.

And now for my grand total of the day: 4045.

Want to hear the good news? It was EASIER than I expected. In fifteen-minute bursts, it’s so much easier.

Of course, when I get to the middle it may be a bit harder. I’m expecting that. I’m prepared for it.

And THAT is the wonder of planning.

Here is my synopsis, just if you were wondering:

Jess knows a heck of a lot about mitosis and how to sing into a hairbrush, but not so much about boys. So when James McCarthy dumps her, she makes a vow to be normal. No more hairbrush solos or wearing different-coloured shoes.

But her goal becomes decidedly harder when she meets Mike, the New Guy. Mike, who is on a quest to find a word that rhymes with orange, who saves dandelions. Will she sacrifice her relationship with James in order to fall in mutual weirdness with Mike?

Let me know if you like the idea 🙂 comments are welcome.

So how are YOU going? How much have you written?

 

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Journey: Day One

  1. I love your idea. Your heroine sounds charming, and I really hope she stays weird and proud. I can’t wait to find out whether there is, actually, a rhyme for ‘orange’! Good luck with NaNoWriMo – I’m not doing it myself (I blogged today about starting my Draft 2 of my rather monstrous Work in Progress, so that’s enough for me!) but I hope you get on well with it. Looking forward to hearing how it goes for you.

Leave a Reply

