NaNoWriMo Day Ten: THE END OF THE RACE

So it’s day ten of November, which means day ten of NaNoWriMo.

And today, I completed my 50,000th word.

PARTY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I was so excited I did my happy dance for about five minutes straight. And hugged my cat. So now, for the rest of the weekend, I’m taking a break for writing.

And that’s how I know I’m a writer: because even after 10 days of writing almost non-stop, I STILL want to keep writing. This break is for my sanity rather than for my pleasure.

This is the craziest thing I have ever undertaken. Sure, I’m finished. But it wasn’t easy. Fun things, though, don’t always have to be easy, and these 10 days have been some of the best ever.

Which is why I’m definitely participating again next year – maybe I’ll just take a bit longer to do it.

So, take THAT, NaNoWriMo. And to all of those floundering after the first week of NaNo, you can do it. Because you guys are writers, and writers write. Because we can’t stop.

That’s why I write, anyway. Also because I like being read 🙂

Good luck, everyone! I’m going to keep writing, because I have a high-stakes bet of lollies to get to 60,000. May the odds be EVER in your favour!

Leave a Reply

