30 Day Writing Challenge – Day 1

21 days ago, I embarked on the 30 Day Writing Challenge. I gave myself rules – minimum 200 words (most of the time it’s been double that or more), complete it every day with no excuses, and have fun. The challenge was based on this blog. Some are funny, some are sad, some are terribly written. Some might go on to become novels. Who knows? All I know is that it’s been fun so far, and I can’t wait to finish and have another go.

So here’s the first one, “rewrite a classic fairytale”:

Beauty and the Grease

 Isabella was one of those girls who looked like she should be on a shampoo commercial. Long black glossy hair and lips that always seemed much too red to be true. Basically I thought I was in love with her, just like every other tenth-grade guy – and some of the girls, as well. But I was just Seth “The Grease” Turner, perpetually employed at McDonald’s, up to my elbows in oil. She would never notice me.

Then, one day, she did.

It was autumn, the beginning of term two. I had no friends – what else was new? – and Isabella had about twenty-three thousand. Or at least, that was the amount of people that followed her around. I had no idea how many of them were actually friends.

So anyway, I was looking down at my feet, just as usual, and listening to music that generally meant I couldn’t hear much else. Then Isabella’s adorable face was up against mine. ‘Hey, Seth.’

I was so surprised she knew my name that my iPod fell to the floor. She knelt and picked it up, then handed it to me with a dimpled smile.

‘Hi,’ I managed to stutter.

‘I was wondering,’ she said, curling some black hair around her finger, ‘If you wanted to be maths partners this year?’

Now, I was well aware that she wanted to exploit me. I got the best maths grades in the whole school, pretty much. But what the hell? It was Isabella freaking Bayle.

‘Sure,’ I said, and promptly dropped my books on the floor.

2 thoughts on “30 Day Writing Challenge – Day 1

  1. Hi!! I love your blog-y thing!! It’s so cool that you’re a teen writer too!! Most people I know just hate books in general, reading and writing them… Hope that you have fun with you 30 writing challenge, I may just have to try that!! Again, love your blog-y thing!!

    • Thanks – I know what you mean about teens hating writing/reading. I’m already having fun with the writing challenge, it’s definitely something you should try 🙂

Leave a Reply

