Book Review: Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen

Image

LOCK AND KEY is the third book by Sarah Dessen that I’ve read. And I mean, I must like her somewhat, or I wouldn’t keep coming back, would I? True. Very true. And while the other two books were very similar, and also kind of cliched, this one was different somehow.

Let me say this: if you like a book with lots of plot and action, don’t read LOCK AND KEY. It fills up a huge amount of space on, well, filler, not to mention back-story, which comprises probably the first thirty pages (okay, I’m exaggerating, but still).

Not to mention the fact that many of her motifs/themes/symbols were WAAAY overdone, and made me feel like I’d been whacked over the head with them. Subtlety is key, and if you read this book, at least you’ll understand the metaphors, right?

But despite a somewhat predictable ending, I found myself liking this book. I liked that Ruby was kind of a bitch to everyone. I liked that she and Nate (slight spoiler) didn’t have a perfect relationship. I like that Ruby’s friends were flawed. Sarah Dessen has a knack of getting some characters perfect, with others seeming a little too cardboard – and here I’m talking about Ruby’s sister Cora, and Cora’s husband, both of whom seem a little too perfect.

To be honest, there wasn’t anything amazing about this book. The storyline was okay, the writing was pretty good, characterisation was good and overall…it was good. Nothing I’d really read again, but a definite 3.5/5 stars.

The next book I review will be THE DUFF by Kody Keplinger.

Leave a Reply

