Day 14 – JUST DIALOGUE

I didn’t like day 14’s prompt, so I decided to find another. I stumbled upon one – use only dialogue. So, following the rest of my rules, that’s what I did. It’s harder than it seems, because you’ve got to convey all of the info that would be in dialogue tags…anyway, here’s my attempt:

“What’s your name?”

“Honestly, you continue to surprise me with your lack of subtlety. I repeat: my name is Penelope, and I do not want to go out with you.”

“Fine, I didn’t want you to. No, no, don’t storm out! Please? Okay, thank you.”

“I’m waiting.”

“Yes, I can see that. Okay, how about we have an intellectual discussion.”

“You? Intellectual?”

“You would be surprised. I can tell you all about the sunshine of Eladroy, and the green-carpeted hills of Lorna…not to mention the shining moon of Gorgabel and – ”

“Okay, now you’re making me sick. Can I just leave? Please?”

“Certainly. But then you would never know the secret.”

“There is no secret. You’re just trying to coerce me into staying in this ridiculous situation.”

“No, really. Here, I’ll prove it: your sister’s name is Moonbeam, isn’t it?”

“Lucky guess.”

“Are you serious? How many people are called Moonbeam these days?”

“She was an accident. My mother is still slightly sore about the subject. Not to mention her drinking habits.”

“Hmm. Well, I didn’t know that. But here’s another thing: I know your middle name is Jezebel.”

“Lucky guess.”

“Come on, even you can’t believe that.”

“Fine, tell me how you do it. Peeked into my contacts book? What, are you some sort of pickpocket?”

“No, just someone very well-acquainted with the family. Remember long-lost Cousin Jeremy?”

“No way.”

“Yes way. No, stop, don’t storm out again – thank you. How about I buy you a drink?”

“No thanks. Water for me.”

“You’re difficult, you know that?”

“I am constantly reminded of the fact, yes. Thanks for pointing it out.”

“Jesus, come back!”

“Please don’t touch my shoulders. I’m very sensitive about them.”

“Well then listen for crying out loud. Okay. I am Cousin Jeremy, long-lost Cousin Jeremy, and I have come here to stay for a while.”

“May I ask why?”

“You may, but it will not yield any answers.”

“Clever. Very clever. Has anyone ever told you how witty you are? Really, it’s refreshing.”

“I am constantly reminded of the fact, yes.”

“Ugh! You’re impossible.”

“You should see long-lost Cousin Alberta…no, no, no, I didn’t mean it! Come back! Honestly, you’re as flighty as a…I don’t know. As a bird.”

“Hurry up and get to the point or I will step on your foot. Reminder: I am wearing high heels.”

“Fine. Here is the point, very simply: your parents are moving country, and they wanted me to show the family business, as it were, before they die. And by family business, I mean magic.”

“Oh, bloody hell, not the magic thing again…”

2 thoughts on “Day 14 – JUST DIALOGUE

    • The same challenge! Well, yeah, it was the only one I could find that wasn’t “your fondest memory” and “your favourite holiday.” This challenge was really fun 🙂 good luck with it!

Leave a Reply

