Book Review: The Lonely Hearts Club

Image

Okay, first of all, this book kind of annoyed me. And not that that’s any fault of the author. This is more of a cumulative annoyance from reading so many contemporary YA books: namely, they are all about boyfriends.

I liked the central premise. Beatles fanatic girl (First name Penny, middle name Lane…brilliance) forms a club called The Lonely Hearts Club and swears off boys. But here’s what really annoys me (and if you don’t want spoilers, don’t read this): at the end, they have to revise the rules of the club to include dating, because presumably they can’t live without boys. Sigh.

This seems to happen a lot in books. MC’s life falls apart when they get dumped. MC’s life revolves around high school boys. But in real life, that’s the least of our worries. What happened to books like Thirteen Reasons Why, or It’s Kind of a Funny Story, or 13 Little Blue Envelopes, or The Perks of Being a Wallflower? I want to read contemporary YA books that don’t focus on relationships. I want Stephen Chbosky’s profundity and Meg Cabot’s hilarity.

Don’t get me wrong, Lonely Hearts Club was a nice little book. A nice messages, nice characters and a nice storyline. But that’s all it was: nice. It was also utterly forgettable and kind of cliched. That is not the fault of the book. That is a reflection of the reader – I get that. But if you’re after a DIFFERENT contemporary YA, this one isn’t for you.

Oh, and another thing that annoyed me: the principal of the MC’s high school. He was just a full-on jerk. Despite the fact that the Lonely Hearts Club meetings take place outside of school, and don’t impact on Penny’s school life whatsoever, this principal decides to stage a meeting with Penny’s parents, telling her to disband the club. Not sure what Eulberg was trying to achieve with this, and frankly it pissed me off. Principals can’t do that, people!

A nice enough read. Two and a half stars from me.

The next book I’m reading is The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants – can’t believe I haven’t read it yet!

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Lonely Hearts Club

  1. Oh I think I understand what you mean. It’s not really bad, it just doesn’t have the depth that you’re looking for? Just too flighty, teenagery? But this book certainly doesn’t sound like my type either… besides classics, I tend to dislike MOST books centred around romance… I prefer it as a side thing.

    BUT I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THE SISTERHOOD OF THE TRAVELING PANTS.

    MY GOD. If there’s one chicky flicky book that I adore, it’s that one. I don’t even know why. I just… I donno. It resonates with me. I’m curious as to what your opinion will be on it, though ^_^

    • That’s exactly what I mean. Like, I’m a teenager, but maybe a different sort of teenager than the one this book is marketed at? Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure there are plenty of people who love it. A lot of the books I dislike have huge communities.

      I can’t wait to read Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants now. I’ve heard so many good things about it! When I’ve finished I’ll post a review 😛

  2. I really appreciate this review. I’m a teenage girl and admittedly do not mind a cute romance here and there, but sometimes things start to get a little cliched. Where are the unique books about teens for teens that manage to break away from our dating obsessed culture?

    • I know exactly what you mean. And it’s not necessarily the fault of the author, because plenty of teens like books like this. But it seems to me that most of the popular contemporary YA books are romantic. I really love contemporary YA with a plot beyond romance – but again, that’s just me, and I can appreciate where others are coming from 🙂 as a writer myself, I try to break these boundaries a little.

Leave a Reply

