Book Review: ALL THIS COULD END

ImageI admire Steph Bowe for a couple of simple reasons. 1) She’s Australian. 2) She’s a teen author. 3) She’s an Australian teen book author! Which is what I want to be someday. I mean, I may not get there as a teen, but the point is that someone MY AGE wrote something THIS GOOD. The point is not that she’s a teenager. The point is that this is a very very good book.

Actually, this book kind of reminded me of…me. Of my writing. It was a bit crazy, a bit on the odd side, very light-hearted. Not as GOOD as this, obviously.

So, quick summary: Nina (the protagonist) is a girl in a family that robs banks. Just to supplement their income, as families do. Nothing heavy-duty. Just balaclavas and some guns without ammo (which is proved wrong later, but that’s a spoiler so I won’t go into it).

ALL THIS COULD END is written in third person, present tense. At first it kind of put me off. But then it grew on me. It preserved the uniqueness of the story, and the innocence, somehow. It’s also told from two perspectives: Nina and Spence. The romance between them is totally cute. Spence is the awkward guy who likes strange words, and Nina is…the guy that ends up holding a gun to his head in a bank robbery (this isn’t a spoiler. It happens in the prologue).

This is just a really NICE book. Like, I didn’t have to think too hard when I read it. It wasn’t massively emotional or dark or beautiful. It was just a really nice book. And sometimes that’s all you need – just a nice book to while away a trip to a country village.

I’m going to have to keep an eye on Steph Bowe, judging by this book.

The next book I will review will be The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants.

8 thoughts on “Book Review: ALL THIS COULD END

  1. I’m totally into bank robbers and everything, and now that you’ve said it’s written by an actual (Aussie!) teen author, I’m seriously curious x) Thanks for sharing ^_^

  2. It is great to see another beautiful book by a teen writer. Sometimes I feel discouraged. Many people on the internet seem to think that teen writers would do best to just WAIT a couple decades before attempting publication. Steph Bowe proves that teen publication can be done with quality!

    • It’s also discouraging when you type “tips for teen writers” and happen across a post saying all teen writing sucks. Which is why I look up to people like Steph Bowe. Thank you for commenting πŸ™‚

    • I haven’t got around to reading Girl Saves Boy yet – but it’s definitely on the list! I agree about finding Aussies on the interwebs. There aren’t many of us, so we have to stick together πŸ™‚ thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

