Like a Virgin: Blog Hop

like a virgin

So I’ve entered this awesome contest, which is for unagented writers that have never been in a competition before. I’m really excited, obviously. Except I’m not quite sure how a blog hop works. Hopefully nobody notices if I’m doing it wrong. To those of you who don’t know me, I’m Emily Mead, Australian writer, Potterhead, Whovian, nerdfighter and crazy person. I intern for Entranced Publishing. I’m 1/8 of Aussie Owned and Read. Or at least that’s what my Twitter profile says (I’m sorry. I couldn’t resist a bit of shameless self-promotion).

There are some questions I have to answer. Which is even more exciting. Am I saying exciting too much? Okay, here we go:

How do you remember your first kiss?

Okay, well, as some of you may know, I’m sixteen. I kissed this guy that I’d known since we were both babies when I was like eleven. Which obviously doesn’t count, so I’m going to ignore that and say it hasn’t happened yet. God knows I write about first kisses often enough that it should have happened, but…nope.

What was your first favorite love song?

I’m not really into love songs *gasp* I would have to say “Love is Easy.” Which isn’t exactly from a long time ago, but I love it. It’s so simple and catchy, and it can apply to your friends as family as well as that special someone.

What’s the first thing you do when you begin writing for the day?

Avoid writing. Mostly. Which is stupid because when I actually START the writing process, it’s amazing. It feels great. To get started I look at my recent word counts on Camp NaNoWriMo (38k as of tonight, woohoo!) and decide I’d better start. When it’s NOT NaNoWriMo, I generally look at Twitter and get inspired by all the amazing things people are doing. So I open up Scrivener…and begin.

Who’s the first writer who truly inspired you to become a writer?

I started writing by copying out my favourite book, THE NEWSPAPER DOG. But I think the biggest influence on me (cliche alert) was J K Rowling. Since then it’s been many many authors, most notably John Green. So yeah. I’m a walking cliche. Sue me.

Did the final revision of your first book have the same first chapter it started with?

Heh. My first book? That was the “book” I wrote when I was about nine. It was called FAIRY DUST, and it sucked donkey balls. But then I picked it back up a year later, rewrote it aaaand….it still sucked. So I guess that’s the answer.

For your first book, which came first: major characters, plot or setting?

To be honest I’m not really sure. It was quite a while ago. So I’ll answer in regards to my second book, which was called DAUGHTER OF MERLIN (it also sucked). It was the plot that came first for me, a retelling of the Arthurian legend, in modern times. Since then, it’s usually been the characters that come to me first.

What’s the first word you want to roll off the tip of someone’s tongue when they think of your writing?

Loony! I’d like to think that what I write is humorous, and kooky, and yes…a little bit loony.

Aaaand…that’s all for my blog hop, which I have most definitely done wrong. Thanks for reading (anyone out there?). I hope everyone does really well in the contest, and that I pressed “send” on my email quick enough!

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

41 thoughts on “Like a Virgin: Blog Hop

    • Well, I do go to a nerd school, haha 🙂 That helps with focus.

      Kooky IS a great word. My favourites at the moment are chuffed, peckish and muddle. Words are just GREAT. Even if sometimes it’s hard to find the right ones!

  1. Hi! I just wanted to say I love your blog name. And your hop answers. Looking forward to seeing your entry – I love humorous writing!

    • Haha, I quite like my blog name, too 😀 and the theme. Fishies, right? Thanks for stopping by to comment! I’ve got to catch up on all the blog hop posts now.

  2. yeah, jk rowling is the best. your blog is awesome, by the way. i wish mine was a tenth this cool. also a fellow potterhead, whovian and nerdfighter here too. good luck in the contest and with your writing.

    and when i was 16 which really wasn’t that long ago, i was pretending to write when i was really listening to music in my room and pretending i was married to shia labeouf. so you’re about a hundred million light years of sane ahead of me 🙂

    • Elevated hand collision for being so many awesome things! Note to self: don’t mention the elevated hand collisions in front of strangers…anyway, thanks for commenting and stopping by 😀

  3. Well, just from your voice in your blog post, I’d say that your books probably are humorous. If you write like you blog, that is.

    Super impressed by you getting out and writing and entering contests at your age. At 16 I had a bunch of unfinished projects, and that was that.

    • I DO write like I blog, actually. A bit loonily (loonily? IS THAT A WORD???). It’s not that impressive, though, really. I don’t even have to leave my bed to do all those things 🙂

  4. It would be sad to NOT be inspired by JKR, even if one didn’t like her books. This was a great get-to-know-you thing, I’m impressed by your self-promotion and your writing endeavours. I can’t wait to read your books some day ^_^

    • She’s just such an inspiration! Especially after the whole pseudonym thing. I can’t wait until my books are…well, books 🙂 hopefully that day will arrive eventually.

    • Haha, I wish I could have avoided that answer 🙂 but yes, get Scrivener. It’s awesome (and if you win NaNoWriMo, you can get it half price). Good luck to you too, if you entered!

  5. I can’t wait to see what amazingness you produce. As a recent teen who was a writer (I’m now 20), I love meeting young writers you can just sense the passion from miles away. I really think that’s what keeps us going, at least for me it is. It’s not always easy being labeled as a teen or young writer because with that usually comes judgement of your skill level but hey, who cares…we’re awesome & we know it (and that’s all that matters). Good luck with everything!

  6. Yeah, I think you can not count that kiss 🙂 I read romance novels ALL THE TIME (and wrote kissing scenes) as a teen, but didn’t actually kiss anyone until I was 27 … but it was awesome, and I ended up marrying the guy in a happily-ever-after kind of thing. Some things are better if you wait for them (although, in this instance, hopefully you won’t have to wait as long as I did). Cheers!

    • It’s a great word, isn’t it? My favourite next to muddle. Muddle is also a great word but I wouldn’t necessarily want people to use it of my novel 🙂 yes, great kissing advice! And thank you for stopping by to comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

