Book Review: Eleanor and Park

Image

Above are two different covers of ELEANOR AND PARK (I have the version on the right).

So I started reading this book because…well, because John Green recommended it. That was also the reason I read THE BOOK THIEF, and ANNA AND THE FRENCH KISS. I have loved all three, so I guess I’ll follow John’s suggestions in the future as well.

I mean…there was nothing new about this book. Nothing that made me gasp and say, wow, why couldn’t I have that idea? It wasn’t high concept. It wasn’t plot-heavy. But by my cats’ whiskers (cats’ because I have three), it was AMAZING.

Basically, Eleanor is a chubby red-haired girl with home problems. Park is an Asian kid who manages to stay on the sidelines. But the thing about Eleanor is that, even though people already tease her, she seems to go OUT OF HER WAY to make them think she’s weird – she wears weird stuff and is just generally…weird.

The thing I loved about this book is how real it is. Eleanor and Park are both very petty in some bits, and Eleanor sometimes acts like a massive bitch, and Park sometimes acts like a tool, but guess what, amigos? So does everyone.

There are quotes like this:

β€œEleanor was right. She never looked nice. She looked like art, and art wasn’t supposed to look nice; it was supposed to make you feel something.”

And this:

“Holding Eleanor’s hand was like holding a butterfly. Or a heartbeat. Like holding something complete, and completely alive.”

Golly golly gosh, Rainbow Rowell manages to make more romance with a HAND-HOLDING SCENE than I have ever read ever. This book is beautiful. And real. And honest. And terribly terribly sad. And so so so sweet.

You will love it.

5/5

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Eleanor and Park

  1. I want this book! I keep seeing reviews that say it’s good, so YEP, I’ll have some please. πŸ˜‰ Great review! I will now haunt my library.

Leave a Reply

