Top Ten Books I Read in 2013

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. It’s awesome fun and I’d love to see your lists as well! Link to them in the comments if you’ve posted one πŸ™‚

Β 

This year, I’ve read 104 books. Lots of them were good. Lots of them were awful. Lots were okay. Very few were A MAZE MAZE MAZING. Here are those books:

ImageImageImage

10) Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

This one had a really unique premise and was just really……….unique. I loved it. I read it very early this year but I can remember it very clearly.

9) Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

This wasn’t so much about the “dying girl” as about “Me and Earl.” Lots of swearing, lots of hilarity, lots of laughs.

8) Life in Outer Space by Melissa Keil

Cute, nerdy and quirky, Life in Outer Space is an awesome example of Aussie YA, and you should read it (if you haven’t already).Β 

ImageImageImage

7) Every Breath by Ellie Marney

Definitely different to what I expected – I don’t really like the title or the cover too much, but I really enjoyed the story. It was tense, fast-paced – a nice addition to the plethora of modern Sherlock fiction, and Aussie as well!

6) Perfect by Ellen Hopkins

I finished this book yesterday, actually. It’s an “issue book,” but Ellen Hopkins deals with it really well. I’m using “really” a lot in these miniature reviews, wow.

5) The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

Also different to what I expected. I got this one for Christmas 2012, and didn’t pick it up until the beginning of the year. But JACK THE RIPPER? ENGLISH BOARDING SCHOOL? Yes please!

ImageImageImage

4) The Princess Bride by William Goldman

I love this movie, so it makes sense that I’d eventually read the book. And though Buttercup was a completely USELESS character, I enjoyed the humour and the unique approach to telling the story.

3) Wonder by R J Palacio

Wonder made me cry. It’s MG, which is not my usual thing, but that cover is amazing! And the book is amazing. Beautiful and touching, and there’s a lesson in it for everyone.

2) Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

I read this at the beginning of the year. It’s just…ahhhhh. Wow. It’s awesome. Cute and real and it has awesome quotes.

Image

1) Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

TA DA, my favourite book of this year. In fact I just ordered it and Lola and the Boy Next Door so I can read this one again. Kissing! France! Funny! I didn’t think I was a romance kind of gal until I read this, but there you go.

So what books are on your list? Most of my ones seem to be YA contemporary, which says a lot about me, I guess. I look forward to more reading experiences next year. Until then, enjoy your New Year’s Eve πŸ™‚

My next post will be about my reading and writing stats for this year, as well as my goals/resolutions for next year.

Oh, and! Disclaimer: if I counted the books that I’ve reread this year, The Fault in Our Stars would still be top of the list. Even though I’ve read it four times now. So these are books that I’ve only read once (so far).

Β 

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Read in 2013

  1. The only one I’ve read of these is Life in Outer Space. I adored that book! Laughed so hard…It’s so awesome to read really dang Aussie contemporaries. I may be biased, but they’re the best. πŸ˜‰

    • Of course they’re the best! I can’t even count the number of awesome Aussie books I’ve read this year (well, actually, I can because I kept a list, but let’s pretend I can’t for dramatic purposes). I’ve discovered heaps of them this year!

  2. #5!!! Definitely putting that on the to-read! Have you mentioned it before? I donno, I feel like you have, and I feel like I said I was going to put it on there, but I didn’t, so thanks for the reminder πŸ™‚ Otherwise… I haven’t read any of these books πŸ˜›

    And your record for this year is AHMAYZING. I read 71. A lot of them for me were pretty darn epicus, so I’m not going to bother listing. I’m glad you had a great reading year. Happy New Year, and I hope more great books come your way πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

