Book Review: These Broken Stars (finally!)

Image

These Broken Stars was the first book I read this year. And due to several school-holiday interruptions, I’ve not had the chance to review it until now. But let me just say: it. was. awesome.

Okay, so I’m sure 99% of book blogs have reviewed this one. And one half of the authors are Aussie, imagine that! There’s been so much hype for These Broken Stars, and I’m happy to say that, for me, it lived up to it.

Lilac changes the most throughout the book. Starting as a spoiled princess, she quickly learns to work together with Tarver when their ship crash-lands on a seemingly deserted planet. I loved the survival aspect of this book – I’ve always been drawn to books like that, like Hatchet, which you should all definitely read. Okay, talking of survival stories, I’m going to digress a bit.

When I was little, I folded white paper, threaded a ribbon through the side, and handwrote stories on the paper. I even illustrated the front covers! And recently I found one of these stories – it’s about a group of first-grade students whose school bus crashes into the sea. Anyway, they find their way to a deserted island, and somehow they train monkeys to be butlers. Oh, and they also find pyjamas somehow (????).

The point of this story is that though you could drive a school bus through the plot holes in my stories, everything made sense in These Broken Stars. Though it’s obviously set in the future, you could tell that Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner did their research.

Another great thing was the different POVs. I’m not sure if the authors wrote from one POV each, or wrote the whole thing together, but either way the writing flowed incredibly well, stylistically and character-wise. Tarver and Lilac are such different characters, and I always knew straight away which chapter was which.

And talk about plot twists! If you’ve read the book, you’ll know what I mean, but if you haven’t – you should read it just for the awesome plot twists. I do not read science fiction. I read bubbly YA romances and Harry Potter, and you’ll usually see me with a John Green or Stephanie Perkins novel. These Broken Stars changed my opinion, luckily, and I can’t wait for the next instalment.

Rating: 9/10.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Book Review: These Broken Stars (finally!)

  1. Eeeeep! I REALLY loved this book! It just…wow. I was a bit worried it wouldn’t live up to that mega-hype, but it did fabulously. I had no idea it was going to be a survival story. Actually, I had no idea what kind of story it’d be. I get a bit annoyed when blurbs are so dang vague. *glowers* We’re not allowed to do that in queries! But, still, Lilac and Tarver had such an awesome relationship. Love/hate. What could be more romantic?

    • There’s always that worry when there’s so much hype, isn’t there? Luckily I read The Fault in Our Stars before all of that started! I know what you mean about the vagueness, lol – how about they just put their query as the blurb?

  2. Okay, to be honest, the cover looks kind of tacky, as is the title, but judging by what you’ve actually said, I reckon I could try this one. If I come across it, I’ll definitely give it a go 🙂

    • Wow, you’re the first person I know who’s said that! I love the cover, but I agree – it’s not for everyone. But definitely give it a go if you see it, it rocks.

  3. Oh wow, I’m glad to see you enjoyed this one so much. I’ve heard endless good things. Unfortunately, I was spoiled for the BIG twist towards the middle-ish, I think? Not sure how I would have reacted to it should I have read it, so I guess it’s for the better. I don’t think I would have liked it (the twist, that is).

Leave a Reply

