MOVIE REVIEW: THE BOOK THIEF

ImageThis is my first ever YA movie review, and I’m glad it’s a positive one: The Book Thief is a great companion to the book while also being completely amazing in its own right.

Here are some things I liked about it:

– The fact that they have German accents

– Liesel’s Papa, Hans, was really well-acted and just as warm as in the book

– Rosa/Mama was such a layered character and there were some nice additions to her

– There were some really funny bits that had the whole cinema laughing

– The way Liesel says Rudy is adorable

What I would have liked to see more of:

– Death. He’s the narrator and he gets hardly any narration at all.

– The presents to Max. I wished they could have included that

– A bit more flow to the scenes (though it worked in the book, it seemed a bit disjointed in the movie)

But yeah. I loved the book. In fact my sister got it signed for me:

ImageI was really nervous to see the movie, because I feared it wouldn’t live up to the book. But it’s taken me a long time to realise that it doesn’t have to. They’re two different things. A crappy movie (*cough*Eragon*cough*) doesn’t take away the fact that the book is awesome. And just the same, an amazing adaptation doesn’t always mean the source is amazing. For instance I loved the movie Stardust but wasn’t a fan of the book.

This is a distinction I think is important, and I’m thinking about it more and more as we draw closer to the movie of The Fault in Our Stars. It doesn’t matter if the actors have different coloured hair, or eyes, or if the director has a different vision than the author. They’re two separate art forms, and I’m just happy that, in this case, both versions exceeded my expectations.

Yours loonily,

Emily M.

 

2 thoughts on “MOVIE REVIEW: THE BOOK THIEF

  1. I just got done reading the book a couple of weeks ago and really liked it. I’m planning on seeing the movie as well! I’ll probably do a blog post on it. I did a review of the book. http://lisaorchard.wordpress.com/2014/01/13/a-review-of-the-book-thief/

    I also got done reading “The Fault in our Stars!” I loved that book too. It’s my favorite John Green book! Here’s the review I did on that one. http://lisaorchard.wordpress.com/2014/01/23/my-thoughts-on-the-fault-in-our-stars-by-john-green/

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the movie. 🙂

Leave a Reply

