Book Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

ImageI’m assuming most of you have heard of this book. And if you haven’t, you should go read it! Immediately! It’s such a cute, fun read, and I loved every minute of it.

Here’s what I thought:

Last year I read Anna and the French Kiss. It was based on a suggestion from John Green. You can watch the video here if you like:

And I’m so glad I listened to John. So after receiving Christmas money, I did a bit of online shopping and bought both Anna and Lola.

I read Anna again. Then I read Lola in a day. At the time of writing this review, I’m at my grandparents’ house, and have just announced that I have finished Lola. My Nanna, who reads size 1,000,000 font on her Kindle, was astounded that it was even possible to read a book in a day. To which I reply, 1) clearly you have never read a Stephanie Perkins book, and 2) also you underestimate the powers of book nerds.

Anyway. The book review. Lola is everything I hoped from reading Anna: cute, bubbly, whacky, and oh yeah, it had Cricket (love heart love heart LOVE HEART). Veteran Perkins readers will have heard of Etienne St Clair, British/American/French heartthrob of the one and only Anna. Cricket Bell is just as gorgeous: he invents things, and he’s super-duper tall with super-duper tall hair; he loves his twin sister and respects Lola’s wishes to stay friends.

And Lola!!!! Lola is amazing! She designs costumes and wears ridiculous things (I’m talking Broadway ridiculous, for everyday attire). She’s so weird and I love it. I will admit that she gets a bit annoying with the whole Max/Cricket thing, but it felt real to me, unlike so many other love triangles.

I also loved that she has two dads. It is so rare in YA books for such loving and supportive (yet strict) parents to be cast in such a positive light. And I have literally never read a book where the main character has two parents of the same sex. So props to Stephanie Perkins for that. Andy and Nathan love Lola to pieces, and even though they ground her twice, she bears it with no (or at least, minimal) complaint.

Bonus: St Clair and Anna come back. Glimpsing parts of their relationship was AWESOME.

Overall, another adorable romance from Stephanie Perkins. I can’t wait to read about Isla!

Rating: 5/5 Wonderkitties

ImageImageImageImageImage

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Leave a Reply

