Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Will Make You Cry

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

To learn more about Top Ten Tuesday or see the future topics, click here!

I read a lot of contemporary books, and a bunch of them are hugely cry-worthy. Here’s my list of the top ten:

ImageImageImage

1. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The only thing I can say about this is duh. Makes me cry every time I read it.

2) Before I Die by Jenny Downham

I read this in the car, on the way home from Canberra. I had to try to stifle my sobs and it wasn’t pretty.

3) Looking for Alaska by John Green

Of course another John Green book made its way on here. But the ending of this is sad, okay?

ImageImageImage

4. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J K Rowling

I would have put 5, 6 and 7 here, but I’ll just stick with the beginning of the end: I’ve lost track of how many times I’ve read Harry Potter, and each time number 5 is the saddest.

5. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

I love Jodi Picoult books. Though I normally focus on YA here, all of her books are SO well-written. This is her most well-known, and will make you cry.

6. Marley and Me by John Grogan

You’d think the ending of a pet book would be predictable. Still made me into a bawling mess.

ImageImageImage

7. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

I think you have to be in the right mood for this one. First time I didn’t cry, but the second time I couldn’t stop. And that poem. Goodness.

8. The Amber Spyglass by Phillip Pullman

This is one of my favourites series’ of all time. It also has one of the saddest endings of all time. Read it!! But be prepared for tears.

9. Wonder by R. J. Palacio

A lot of stuff in this book, though MG, is pretty serious and sad. But it’s also really beautiful. You will probably cry for both reasons.

Those are the 10 (well, okay, 9) books that make me cry without fail. What about you?

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Will Make You Cry

    • Right? It’s such a good book though, I agree. I actually liked the book ending better than the movie ending – such a good twist. Everything Jodi Picoult writes I love (I’ve had a book of hers on my TBR for about a million years – maybe I should get around to it!).

    • Same! I wrote an animal death a couple of months ago in my most recent story and cried BUCKETS.

      But yeah, I love Jodi Picoult’s stories. Even if they do make me ugly-cry.

    • I thought about just saying “the whole series,” but I needed a picture! And OotP really did it for me. Great. It’s the one I’m up to reading at the moment.

      Thanks for stopping by to comment πŸ™‚

  1. *wails* Basically if John Green writes it, we all cry obediently, right? And yes to The Perks. I don’t often get actual tears in my eyes…but yup. That one ruined my records.

    • That seems to be the rule for John Green (but in other news, WHEN IS HE RELEASING A NEW BOOK???).

      Okay, calm down, Emily.

      I don’t often cry in books either – or at least, I didn’t used to. Maybe I’m becoming a softie!!

  2. I think I need to read Before I Die. But everytime I see it in a store or the library I’m not in the mood for a tearjerker – and I know it’s going to be an emotional one. Great list! Those are the only John Green books I’ve read but they caused me to get quite teary! Like I read TFiOS on the train on the way home from uni… tears streaming down the face…

    • Before I Die affected me more than I thought it would. The ending!!

      Those two John Green books are the sad ones. The others are happy, so if you’re in the mood for a light read, definitely try them πŸ™‚

  3. John Green’s books just kill me sometimes. Those 2 you have up there especially!! I also cried really hard while reading My Sister’s Keeper (and a lot of other Jodi Picoult’s books). Wonder sounds really good, I’ve been meaning to read that and have seen it on quite a few lists this week. I didn’t realize it was so emotional!! Can’t wait to read it now πŸ™‚

    Thanks for stopping by My TTT

    • Just…John Green, man.

      Jodi Picoult!!! Amazing writer! No wonder she’s the only adult author I read – for some reason they just hook me every time.

      You should definitely read Wonder soon. It’s a really lovely story πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: What Happened This Week: Irish Accents and Swimming Carnivals | The Loony Teen Writer

  5. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – YES. THAT ENDING WAS BEAUTIFUL AND I WAS A MESS.
    (I think it warrants an all-caps response, too xD)
    Before I Die by Jenny Downham – I simultaneously dislike and like this book. The beginning totally threw me off because what kind of bucket list is that? *ahem..* but the ending got me. I was a mess :/
    Looking for Alaska by John Green – ANOTHER BEAUTIFUL ENDING. Sad, of course. But I loved it so much.
    My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult – I don’t know how you can keep yourself from crying. I’ve read three books by her, all beautiful. But this one just made me cry. Not fair :/
    Marley and Me by John Grogan – This remains my number one favorite book ever. Probably because it was a gateway book for me – I read it in fourth grade and that’s when I started delving out of MG and into YA/adult. Probably a little young, but eh xD I never let anyone tell me what to read or not read(:
    Wonder by R. J. Palacio – I read this at the insistence of my MG-aged sister. So I was surprised by how deep it was. It really was great. Though I fail to remember how it ended o.o

    • The ending of Before I Die – oh my lorddddyyyyy. That was so sad.
      Looking for Alaska had a really sad ending as well. Duh. These are books that made me cry.
      I love Jodi Picoult’s books. She is such an amazing writer.
      Marley and Me was kind of a gateway book for me as well – one of the first adult books I read. Strangely enough, I started reading adult books before YA, not realising there were any in between!
      Wonder is a fantastic book as well. Wow, going back to this post is making me nostalgic for ALL the books πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

