Loony’s Musings (2): 5 Best Things About Part-Time Jobs

I’m in year 11 at school. And I’m a big fan of money. School means I can’t work too often, but wanting money means that last year I did in fact get a job. I work two days a week for a total of 10 hours, and it’s one of the best things that’s ever happened to me, both as a person in general and as a writer. So here are my favourite things about my job (which, BTW, is as a waitress at a Thai restaurant):

1) Awesome People

Working at a Thai restaurant means that most people working there are…well, Thai. But the wait staff I work with are a mixture of Indonesian, Chinese and Indian – there is also a chef from New Zealand. The diverse cultures and experiences they bring with they are really amazing to hear about, and I feel so privileged to know them! There are so many things they’ve told me where I’ve thought, hmm, that could go into a story somewhere…

image

2) Unintentional eavesdropping is great

UNINTENTIONAL. I SWEAR.

(maybe sometimes I accidentally-on-purpose listen to conversations that are really interesting, but only because I’m about to take their order and I HAVE to stand there)

People talk about really odd things, sometimes. Once I overheard the single phrase “strawberries and sausages” and I thought, DUDE, that’s an awesome name for a title. I spent the rest of my shift thinking up a plot to go with it (if you’re curious, MC’s father is on death row and his last meal is strawberries and sausages). In that shift I also broke a few wineglasses but that’s another story.

Unintentional eavesdropping is a great part of my job.

eavesdropping humor gif

3) Money to buy books!

You may have noticed that people work in exchange for money, which they use to purchase items. This money can be used to buy BOOKS from my local DYMOCKS, which is AWESOME.

Books-matilda

4) I get to use my Irish accent to confuse people

There’s a story behind this one. If you’ve been reading my blog, you’ll know that I’m doing Irish accents for drama at school. Occasionally I use this accent on new customers to see if they’ll think it’s legit. Unfortunately, I used it on a regular customer last week and they were like, “how did you turn Irish?”

But at least they thought I was Irish, right?

5) Doing something different

Often as a writer things can get alarmingly…well, not boring, but something like that. If you’re just sitting down to write every day, what are you going to write about? You’re experiencing nothing. That’s not to say that you have to experience everything you’re writing about, but certainly there is a LOT of influence from “the outside world” in my writing.

I mean, I’m not a big fan of the outside world. I’m a big fan of what Neil Gaiman says:

Neil Gaiman my people we stay indoors we have keyboards we have darkness

But, you know, sometimes the outside world has good things to offer. Things that inspire and influence your writing.

For all those reasons and more, my part-time job is great, and I love it.

What about you? Teens, do you have a part time job you love…or hate? Adults, do you have a day job to support your writing? Does it help you?

4 thoughts on “Loony’s Musings (2): 5 Best Things About Part-Time Jobs

  1. This post made me laugh on SO many levels. Particularly the Sausages and Strawberries…and the Irish accent. My brother used to have a serious obsession with Irish accents and he’d always sing and speak with it. And it was SO annoying. But, you know, if you can’t beat ’em, then join ’em. So that’s what Mime and me would do. I think our parents wanted to die.

    • Oh goodness, your poor parents! THREE Irish-speaking children. The only people who have to endure it thus far are my cat and my drama class.

      Well, and the customers at my restaurant, lol 😛

  2. Pingback: Write Life Saturdays: Top Ten Ways To Find Inspiration | The Loony Teen Writer

  3. Pingback: What Happened This Week: Odd Socks, Long Legs and Top Tens | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

