Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Reasons I Love Being a Reader

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

To learn more about Top Ten Tuesday or see the future topics, click here!

I love reading. Understatement of the…ever, but it’s true! I love reading, and I love interacting with other readers and bloggers and authors. I love book covers and…wait, I have to save these for my reasons!

1) Book covers

Such pretty covers! Like these ones:

ImageImageImage

2) Other book bloggers

In fact here are some of my favourite book bloggers of YA fiction:

Notebook Sisters

YA Midnight Reads

Effortlessly Reading

Speculating on Spec Fic

A Sunny Spot

Diva Book Nerd

Book Nerd Reviews

Happy Indulgence

3) Reading different genres

Okay, so most of my TBR pile is full of contemporary YA books. But I read other genres as well! Recently, I’ve read these awesome books:

ImageImageImage

4) Being part of a fantastic community!

This one speaks for itself. Love you all!

Image

5) Relaxation!

Reading is when I relax, and when I can stop worrying about stuff.

6) Helps with writing

Well, duh.

7) When people make references to other books by using characters from one book and you KNOW WHERE BOTH OF THEM ARE FROM

Image

Heh heh heh. Okay so this is more a movie reference than a book reference, but…still.

8) “Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book. And then there are some books which you can’t tell people about, books so special and rare and yours that advertising your affection feels like betrayal” 

This quote from The Fault in Our Stars perfectly summarises why I read. Because when you find a book like this, there’s no other feeling like it.

9) Connecting with authors

Thanks mostly to Twitter, I’ve connected with Australian authors through their books: Emily Gale, Steph Bowe and Gabrielle Tozer just to name a few!

10) Watching the film adaptations of YA books

For example, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, my favourite book-to-movie adaptation (besides Harry Potter, because duh):

Image

What’s your favourite thing about reading?

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Reasons I Love Being a Reader

  1. I FINALLY AM JOINING IN WITH THIS LINK UP. AND ALSO. YOU MENTIONED ME? OH GOSH. THANK YOU. AND THAT IS ALL.
    Kidding. Since when do I ever say just a little tiny thing when I can say a lot? I LOVE your reasons. (And Perks is a really fabulous book-to-movie adaption. I’m just…yes. I was so happy with it.) I also love connecting with authors and bloggers (I like recognise nearly all of those bloggers you listed, which is kind of cool for me. I’m usually two years behind in the blogging world). I also think readers ARE a fantastic community…when they’re not, like, arguing about the end of Allegiant or if e-readers are better than physical books. Otherwise! They’re awesome!

    • THAT’S SO EXCITING. I’m a big fan of lists so I love Top Ten Tuesday 😀 you’re welcome! I love your blog.

      Perks was amazing. And I have high hopes for The Fault in Our Stars. It has such potential to be amazing!

      All those bloggers I’ve listed are great, and quite a few are Aussie – even better, right? We’re a great bunch, just like the writing community on Twitter. Except for, as you say, when we fight about silly things (another one is self-publishing vs. traditional publishing).

  2. Covers are awesome, I can spend a lot of time staring at their beauty haha. Yay you mentioned me! Haha well YA Midnight Reads anyway 🙂 Contemporary is quite enjoyable to me too, though I’ve been loving historical fiction and fantasy lately. I’ve read all of the books you mentioned and also adored them. I’m pretty new to this whole blogging world but I already find myself agreeing with you on the whole connection thing. I love it! Haha, I also love catching references that the majority of people wouldn’t get.

    Lovely post (:

    • I LOVE book covers. I like staring at my bookshelves just because they’re all so pretty! Indeed I did mention you 🙂 you and Mel and Celine. I only discovered the blog about a month ago but I love it!

      I haven’t read much historical fiction. I don’t think it’s really my thing. But I’m open to most genres in YA, because who knows what I might be missing by sticking to only one genre? I’m new-ISH to the blogging world, but the writing world is fairly close, so it was an easy thing to do 🙂

  3. Pingback: What Happened This Week: Reading again, Monologues and Cycling | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

