Review: This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

Image

 

Title: This Song Will Save Your Life

Author: Leila Sales

Genre: contemporary YA

Length: 288 pages

Source: bought

Blurb: 

Making friends has never been Elise Dembowski’s strong suit. All throughout her life, she’s been the butt of every joke and the outsider in every conversation. When a final attempt at popularity fails, Elise nearly gives up. Then she stumbles upon a warehouse party where she meets Vicky, a girl in a band who accepts her; Char, a cute, yet mysterious disc jockey; Pippa, a carefree spirit from England; and most importantly, a love for DJing.

Told in a refreshingly genuine and laugh-out-loud funny voice, THIS SONG WILL SAVE YOUR LIFE is an exuberant novel about identity, friendship, and the power of music to bring people together.

Let me just say this: Twitter, I never should have doubted you.

image

Twitter recommended this book to me at the end of 2013, and I didn’t pay attention until about a month ago. That was when I visited the Dymocks bookstore in Sydney. I’m going to refrain from using another gif, but seriously, I love that Dymocks so much. It has, like, an entire floor dedicated to YA books, and every time I go there I end up spending a gazillion dollars.

WORTH. IT.

But anyway, that’s when I bought This Song Will Save Your Life, until it filtered down my TBR list, replaced by other Shiny New Books. After you, blogglings, voted for me to read it, I did. I didn’t expect to be impressed. After all, the book is about music and I’m not big into music.

But I loved it! Right from the start I identified with Elise, and almost cried for her during those first awful moments. I have never been bullied. I go to an academic high school and people are too worried about their chemistry exams to bully me. I am not an outsider among nerds. However, I have no doubt whatsoever that if I were to go to another school, this exact thing would happen to me. I just really want to give Elise a MASSIVE HUG.

Elise is a loser, basically. She tries so hard to fit in and when it doesn’t work, she turns to drastic measures. But then she finds Start, a warehouse nightclub, and the way she fits in there is beautiful to see. I didn’t really like Char, the guy she meets there, but you don’t really have to.

I also loved the part her family had to play in this story. At one point, her dad is really hurt when she doesn’t want to stay at his house Fridays anymore, and I could SO relate to that. Elise does something awful towards the end of the book, and that was the only time I didn’t like her as a character, but the way her family dealt with it was awesome.

The only thing I didn’t like was how quickly Elise became amazing at DJing. The author didn’t show me that, and it seems really unlikely that she’d be better than Char, who’s been DJing for years, in a few short weeks. But that’s a small complaint.

Loved it. Glad I bought it so I can read it again!

4.5/5 Wonderkitties.

PUPPYPUPPYPUPPYPUPPYPUPPY

2 thoughts on “Review: This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

  1. THIS BOOK IS MARVELLOUS AND I’M SO GLAD YOU LIKED IT. It was one of my top-favourite reads of last year. And I’m with you! Elise totally needed a hug… I think the DJing got me a bit too. But gee, Char certainly showed his true colours fast. *shakes fist* And that THING that Elise did that was so awful?! *weeps copiously* I swear, I nearly cried. This author is seriously amazing and talented.

Leave a Reply

