Interview: Stacey Nash, Author of Forget Me Not

Image

Title: Forget Me Not

Author: Stacey Nash

Length: 285 pages

Genre: YA speculative fiction

Published by: Entranced Publishing

Blurb: 

Since her mother vanished nine years ago, Anamae and her father have shared a quiet life. But when Anamae discovers a brooch identical to her mother’s favorite pendant, she unknowingly invites a slew of trouble into their world. When the brooch and the pendant are worn together they’re no longer pretty pieces of jewelry — they’re part of a highly developed technology capable of cloaking the human form. Triggering the jewelry’s power attracts the attention of a secret society determined to confiscate the device — and silence everyone who is aware of its existence. Anamae knows too much, and now she’s Enemy Number One. 

She’s forced to leave her father behind when she’s taken in by a group determined to keep her safe. Here Anamae searches for answers about this hidden world. With her father kidnapped and her own life on the line, Anamae must decide if saving her dad is worth risking her new friends’ lives. No matter what she does, somebody is going to get hurt.

Fiction is Fact. Know the Truth.

Buy it here!

You can also find Stacey at:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Goodreads

I’m so excited to be posting this today! Stacey Nash is a good friend from Aussie Owned and Read, and though there was a slight delay with her release date, Forget Me Not is doing wonderfully. There’s also a huge giveaway going on – you can find it at the end of this post. On with the interview!

What’s your favourite conspiracy theory?

Gosh, there are so many good ones; the moon landing was fake, Area 51 is where all the aliens are hidden, the plans for the electric car were brought by the oil companies then suppressed. Wait, that one might actually be true. My favourite though, is the New World Order theory. In part it is a lot like the Collective who feature in Forget Me Not. The theory is that NWO are an elite group who manipulate the government, media, and industry worldwide. They are in affect a shadow government and their goal; to create a single government with no national ties that bends to their agenda > WORLD DOMINATION.

 Why do you write YA? Will that ever change?

I write YA because I love to read it. I feel like emotion is stronger in YA; feelings are more immediate, and mostly YA has a much faster pace. All of these things are what I LOVE to feel when I read, so naturally it’s what I love to write. I can’t see that changing in the near future, but I won’t say it will never change. I never know which direction my muse will guide me in next.

 What’s your writing schedule like? Do you write every day?

I write every single day for a minimum of six hours. My philosophy is if I want to build a career as I writer then I should treat my writing as a job. I’m very lucky to have that amount of time to devote to it, I know many writers don’t. The hours aren’t always spent on actual writing though, some time goes to marketing, social media, blogging, and helping fellow writers. I actually spend a lot of time working with my critique partners. 

Do you listen to music while you write?

No. Weird, hey? I have three very noisy children, so I need a break from all the sound. Since I mostly write when my kids aren’t around, it’s a great time to enjoy the silence. I do have playlists for all of my stories though and I listen to those when I’m not writing. It helps the ideas flow. 

Books that are similar to Forget Me Not?

Assassin’s Creed by Oliver Bowden

Movies that are similar; The Matrix sequels, Fringe.  

Best and worst things about being a writer?

The best thing; it’s social acceptable to have imaginary friend and fantasy world if you’re a writer. 😉 

The worst thing is not being able to turn my mind off when I’m in drafting mode. I could be walking down the street, in the middle of a conversation, or trying to sleep when I find myself daydreaming about the plot.

 Who inspired you to be a writer?

My husband encouraged me, my mother gave me the tools through nurturing a love of reading, but it was probably a combination of my favourite authors who inspired me. Suzanne Collins made me feel that it was okay to write in the voice that came naturally to me; first person present tense. People like John Marsden and Cassandra Clare were inspiring for many years.

Thanks for joining me here, Stacey! 

Oh, and to the rest of you – DON’T FORGET to enter this awesome giveaway! Just click the link here: 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

4 thoughts on “Interview: Stacey Nash, Author of Forget Me Not

  1. Woot for Stacey! I can’t wait to buy and read Forget Me Not (I should get onto that asap, actually). IT SOUNDS SO AMAZING! Intense cover love, too, of course. That’s a lot of hours to spend writing. o.O I totally take my hat off to you, Stacey. If I’m actually writing, I spend hours and hours on it. But in-between books? Pah. I’m hopeless at even practise writing.

    • I read it at proof-reading stage and lovvvvved it. Can’t wait til you get to read it! Cover is great as well.

      Yes, I definitely admire Stace for spending that much a day – at my most intense NaNoWriMo stage during 2012 (10k was my best) I probably spent three hours. Usually, it’s about ten minutes (oops!).

  2. Your dedication to your craft shines through in this book. I LOVED Forget Me Not. I read it in a day! And I’m so excited to see what happens next for Mae and the gang. Brava, Stacey!

Leave a Reply

