Top Ten Tuesday: Popular Authors I’ve Never Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

To learn more about Top Ten Tuesday or see the future topics, click here!

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic (woah, mouthful) is “Top Ten Popular Authors I’ve Never Read.” I’m just going to make things easier by showing you guys pictures of the books these authors write. Plus I like book covers.

ImageImageImage

These are all very dark, aren’t they? Interesting.

1) Stephanie Meyer

I went through that phase of absolutely hating Twilight despite never having read it. Well, that’s not entirely true. I read half the first book and hated it, but since I don’t remember much of that I’ll just say I’ve never read Stephanie Meyer’s work. And I’m totally open to it now!

2) Marissa Meyer

Hey, another Meyer! I haven’t read the Lunar Chronicles yet. Believe me, it’s on my to-read list. Which is…quite large.

3) Richelle Mead

Since we share a last name, you’d think I would have read Vampire Academy. And I will! In fact by the time this blog post goes live, I might have already borrowed it.

ImageImageImage4

4) Melina Marchetta

I’m Australian – how have I never read Melina Marchetta? I want to remedy this pretty quickly.

5) Jennifer E. Smith

One of her books, This is What Happy Looks Like, is sitting on my TBR pile. Now it’s just a matter of getting to it!

6) Laini Taylor

I’ve heard a lotttttttttt about this series lately. I think I was put off by how massive it is. Not sure if I’ll get to these anytime soon, but I do want to read them.

ImageImageImage

7) Maggie Stiefvater

My sister’s read these books, but I never have. They don’t really appeal to me.

8) Ally Carter

There are so many books in this series! I might read them, might not.

9) Katie McGarry

I read a lot of contemporary YA, but not a lot of contemporary YA romance. The covers of these books just put me off for some reason, so I probably won’t read them. Yet.

So that’s that! I’ve only talked about nine authors, even though there are a bunch more popular YA authors I either a) haven’t read or b) haven’t even heard of yet.

What are some popular authors you’ve never read books of?

26 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Popular Authors I’ve Never Read

  1. Oh. my. GOSH. No Maggie Stiefvater? NONE AT ALL??! I’ve got to admit, she’s one of the few authors who can do no wrong, imo. I didn’t think I’d like her Raven Boys, because, well, psychic stuff isn’t my cup of tea BUT I ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT. The Scorpio Races is another huge fav, and the Shiver trilogy…I’m melting. *ahem* But anyway. Richelle Mead is on my list too, and I was going to put Laini Taylor, but I ended up putting on Beth Rivis. XD My list is quite shocking too. But Melina Marchetta?!! COME ON EMILY. I wouldn’t call her my favourite author, but she’s kind of iconic in Australia. 😉

    • None at all! I’m not a very spec-fic-y person, I guess? But since you’ve recommended her I think I will have to investigate now! I read Across the Universe by Beth Revis at the end of last year (it’s really good!) so you should read that. Also, yes, I feel un-Australian now. And Melina is the cousin of the Italian teacher at my school. YIKES. Have to read her verrrry soon.

    • I’m not into the vampire genre at all, so I haven’t tried “Shiver” but The Scorpio Races was INCREDIBLY beautifully written. And Melina Marchetta is quite wonderful. Even if I don’t necessarily “like” her books, I kind of do. Her voice is really unique.

  2. I’ve read Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta (for school) and really wasn’t a fan of it, so I’ve kind of been put off her books. xD But Laini Taylor!? Ahhh, she’s one of my favourite authors. And Marissa Meyer? You HAVE to read Cinder. It’s so much fun.

    • That’s a shame! Everyone seems to love Melina Marchetta. I’m working on Laini Taylor, but her books don’t seem to be at my local libraries D:

      As for Marissa Meyer…mwahaha. I borrowed Cinder and Scarlet yesterday, and so far I’m LOVING Cinder. So I’m progressing, you could say!

    • Definitely! I’m starting on Marissa Meyer now – hopefully I can knock this list off by the end of this year, even if I don’t like some of the authors. I tried to find Vampire Academy at my local library today, but alas they were too popular and have all been borrowed out. But I will keep trying!

  3. I’ve sadly read all of the Twilight books haha. I’ve never read anything by Marissa Meyer, though with all of the hype surrounding her books I really reaaaaallly really want too. I’ve also never read anything by Melina Marchetta and Ally Carter. Haha my TBR mountain is truly massive. All of these top tens are making me want to forget it and read the mentioned books instead lol.

    • That’s not always a bad thing! Maybe I’ll try them one day. They can’t be THAT bad…

      It’s not so bad you haven’t read Melina Marchetta, since you’re not Aussie. I feel un-Australian, it’s awful! My TBR pile is just what you said, a mountain 😛 there are about forty books actually in piles, and so many others I haven’t acquired yet. BOOKS.

  4. If you’re not going to read Shiver (and I haven’t yet either, so no judgement) then you really should read The Raven Cycle books. Maggie Stiefvater writes a freaking phenomenal series and those books are my favourite

  5. Wow, Maggie Stiefvater is one of my very favorite authors…I can’t imagine not having read her books yet, especially The Scorpio Races…I’ve read it three times already. 🙂 Marissa Meyer is pretty awesome, too. I only just read a Melina Marchetta this last year, but I am sold…I must read and own everything that woman writes. You absolutely must remedy not having read her books yet, especially as an Aussie. =) I’ll be starting Finnikin in the very near future.

  6. Pingback: What Happened This Week: Stacking the Shelves (3) and Rainbow Books | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

