What Happened This Week: Stacking the Shelves (3) and Rainbow Books

This week was a pretty big bookish week for me, which is why I’m incorporating a Stacking the Shelves into it. Let’s start with that.

STSmall

Stacking the Shelves is a book meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. It’s all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. 

For Review: 

ImageImage

* On the Fence by Kasie West

* Splintered by A G Howard

* Unhinged by A G Howard

I’m so excited about all three of these!!!! I’ve recently discovered Kasie West, and the other two…well, I just love Alice in Wonderland.

From the Library

Image

This photo’s a little unclear, sorry, but the books are:

* Cinder by Marissa Meyer

* Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

* The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson

* Where she Went by Gayle Forman

* Spellcaster by Claudia Gray

My school library actually has WAY better books than my local city library. Which is awesome. I did get Spellcaster from the local library rather than school, because they have all Claudia Gray’s books.

That’s it for Stacking the Shelves! Now onto what I’m reading right now. 

Image

I got the second book in this series for review from HarperCollins – I hadn’t read the first yet so I borrowed it. And it is actually SO GOOD. Creepy and dark and mysterious. I love it way more than I thought I would.

Oh, and I FINALLY READ CINDER. And loved it. Of course. That review will be up soon!

GIF of the week: 

(this sums my worries up so well)

What I’ve posted this week: 

Monday was the day I reviewed The Distance Between Us, which is amazing.

On Tuesday I talked about the top ten popular authors I’ve never read (I can now cross Marissa Meyer off the list!)

Wednesday was all about how long it takes me to read a book – what about you?

Thursday was a review day, and I talked about the really sweet The One and Only Jack Chant by Rosie Borella

Friday was also a review day, this time about Bird by Crystal Chan (READ IT READ IT READ IT)

And on Saturday we discussed whether you write in different genres.

Other occurrences this week: 

I rainbow-ordered one of my TBR piles! Sorry the photo’s so dark, but my room has awful lighting.

rainbow books

Also, I made a Facebook page for this blog! I’d love it if you could like the page 🙂 I’ll be posting heaps of awesome photos of my books! Click on the blog button to get to the page.

Blog Button!!!

And that’s it for this week!

Now it’s your turn…

26 thoughts on “What Happened This Week: Stacking the Shelves (3) and Rainbow Books

  1. It’s too hard to vote when you have so many awesome options!! Poor me. 😉 I went for Splintered but SCARLET ADFSLAKFJSA. It’s still my top-favourite out of the 3 I think. Although Cress is also the best. *sigh* I hate it when I can’t even pick a favourite in these awesome series. I so approve of your rainbow ordered books. I want to do that with my bookshelf someday! I tend to read too many dark blue books. *shrugs* I should read more contemporary. 😉

    • I have awesome taste, we have established this 😛 Splintered is a good choice I AM SO EXCITED TO READ IT OMG. Also I think I’m going to have to buy Cress. Which means I have to buy the first two D: poor me! A lot of my books have black or white covers for some reason. It was just lucky I got so many rainbow ones lately! (they look sooooo pretty). And yes, you should definitely read more contemporary! 😛

  2. OMG I LOVE YOUR RAINBOW TBR Pile! That looks beautiful! You got many awesome books this week including On The Fence which I have read lovely things about and Splintered and Unhinged. I was thinking of requesting those but I just have too many ARCs (they are taking up 2 shelves on my book shelf). Happy reading Emily!

    • It’s lovely to look at, that’s for sure. I DID get some great books – they’re all very exciting. I’ve only recently got into reviewing books, so having too many isn’t a problem for me YET. Although I have cleared out my bookshelves so that I have more room – there are just so many!

  3. Ooh pretty rainbow! I’ve yet to read Splintered too but I’ve heard it’s super good. Actually I haven’t read a Kasie West book either. Hope you get this many (or more) great books the coming week 🙂

  4. I recently read Splintered and really enjoyed it. It wasn’t necessarily as good as I though it would be, yet I still had fun with it. I haven’t read Unhinged yet, but definitely hope to get to it soon.

  5. I voted for On The Fence (: That’s the only one of Kasie’s books I haven’t read and I’m sure you’ll love it considering all of her other books are fantastic. I still haven’t read Cress and frankly it’s getting embarrassing 😛 I definitely need to remedy that one. The fact you color organized your books is super cool! It just looks wonderful. The gif of the week is also an brilliant choice, it really does sum up how I feel about a lot of books.

    • It’ll only be the second book I’ve read of hers, so expectations are high! I really want to read Pivot Point and Split Second, though. I’ve seen Cress around the blogosphere SO much – I’m totally influenced by peer pressure. Which in this case is a good thing. I’m glad you like my rainbow books, they look so much better in person 🙂 and yeah, go the Simpsons!

  6. So jealous that everyone has (and has been reading) On the Fence! </3 Splintered was really good, but I've put the sequel on hold 'cause the first few chapters were bothersome and annoying (for me). Cinder and Scarlet were great!

    The rainbow sorting looks lovely! I actually did that to my shelf before, but I rearranged it after getting really confused as to where to put new books, haha!

    Aimee @ Deadly Darlings

    • I’ve heard that about Unhinged, actually :/ but at least the first one should be good! I’ll reserve judgement 😛

      I wouldn’t do the rainbow sorting for my actual bookshelf. This is just for my TBR. Otherwise all the series books would be all over the place!

  7. I vote for Splintered next. I wasn’t sure I’d like it (couldn’t get into Cinder), but I luuurved it! It was like being submerged in velvet and hugged until your toes curled. That’s probably the most ridiculous description I’ve even given, but it was just THAT good. Can’t wait to see what you think of it.

    P.S. I always feel sorry for that little worm on the hook when I pop in for a visit. He looks so unhappy. Considering your awesome reviews, he’s a miserable little thing.

    • I can’t wait to read Splintered. I’ve heard SO many good things about it. Definitely reading it next.

      As for the worm, he does look pretty sad, doesn’t he? If I were any better at computer stuff I would change the design but for the moment he’ll just have to stay that way!

  8. I voted On the Fence BECAUSE THAT BOOK WAS JUST SO DAMN ADORABLE. I’m not a huge fan of the Splintered series curious to see what you think!

    Awesome post! <33

  9. How I wish we have a library here too. It will save me a lot of money. I haven’t read Scarlet and Cress yet but I don’t have the books yet. Our bookstore only have the hardbound copy and you know that they costs a lot.

Leave a Reply

