Top Ten Tuesday: All Time Favourite Contemporary YA Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

To learn more about Top Ten Tuesday or see the future topics, click here!

My expertise in YA fiction is definitely contemporary – ever since John Green I’ve been hooked. For the sake of other authors, I’m only going to include one book from John Green, and all my other favourite contemporary authors. Here we go!

ImageImageImage

1) The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I don’t know why. I can’t tell you reasons this book affected me this much, but it did.

2) Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

This book is so cute and fluffy and funny and I just LOVE Stephanie Perkins. Also, RELEASE DATE FOR ISLA RELEASE DATE FOR ISLA I’M SO EXCITED.

3) Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

All sorts of awesome reside in this book. It’s unique, it has diverse characters, it makes hand-holding the most romantic thing in the universe.

ImageImageImage

4) The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Amazing book, amazing movie adaptation. This book makes me cry. And that poem is…wow. Read it if you haven’t.

5) It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

I was so devastated to hear of Ned Vizzini’s passing away. This book is so honest and real, and its cover is one of the best I’ve ever seen.

6) This Song Will Save Your Life

I read this only recently. It was a heartbreaking and then heart-gluing-back-together story.

ImageImageImage

7) The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

Again, this was a recent read. It’s such a great book! The main character Caymen is one of my favourites ever.

8) Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson

Aside from the fact that Maureen Johnson is amazing, this is my favourite of her books.

9) The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot

This whole series is amazing, and I loved it even BEFORE I met John Green’s books, so it’s pretty special to me.

Image

10) The Intern by Gabrielle Tozer

Aussie author love! This is a recent release about a magazine internship: funny, hilarious and funny. It’s a great debut and I can’t wait to read more from Gabrielle Tozer!

So those are my top ten all time favourite contemporary YA books. There are many, many more that I love, and many I’ve probably forgotten. What are your favourite contemp books – any I REALLY REALLY REALLY should read but haven’t listed here?

32 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: All Time Favourite Contemporary YA Books

  1. You have just made me add two books to my to-read list!
    Another I loved recently is The Enchanted Orchard, although she’s probably not quite YA (I think the character has just finished school, from memory?). But it has THE QUALITIES, you know? With the feels, and the senses

  2. I NEARLY did contemporaries too! Kind of a good thing I didn’t, though, because my list would have been the same as yours! Seriously, you have epic taste. 😉 I LOVE Perks and omg, TFIOS…yes. *sobs* I didn’t hit of with Eleanor & Park very well, though, I mean it was good, but not exactly what I was expecting. (My bad.) I’m pretty excited about The Intern. I neeed to read it. 😉

    • It’s really weird how we have similar taste, since we seem to write and read such different things. I loved Eleanor and Park, but I can understand why you didn’t – it’s the way I felt about This Song Will Save Your Life. Even though objectively I could tell it was amazing, the feels just didn’t do it for me (I’m sorrrryyyyyy). But yeah. Read The Intern. It’s fantastic. And also I have a red cover and I’m going to brag about it forever.

  3. Great list here (: I’ve read the majority of the books mentioned woop. There’s only a few I haven’t read. I’ve seen the Intern around it looks very promising. It looks like the type of book I would love. Plus it’s getting compared to the Devil Wears Prada, which is an movie I totally love.

    Hmmm. I’m trying to think of great contemporaries that you haven’t mentioned haha. I would recommend Wanderlove by Kirsten Hubbard, My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick, Just One Day by Gayle Forman and The Book of Broken Hearts by Sarah Ockler (:

    • Woo! I approve of your taste in that case 😛 The Intern is great. If you’re around Aussie bloggers you’ve probably heard about it a lot! Plus the author is really lovely. I loved The Devil Wears Prada too – one of my go-to chick flicks.

      Ooooh thanks for the recs! I say Just One Day at the bookstore, but I want to borrow it before I buy it, since If I Stay didn’t really hit the mark with me. I’ve heard about Kirsten Hubbard and Huntley Fitzpatrick but not Sarah Ockler, so thanks! Definitely on the TBR 🙂

  4. The Fault in Our Stars is absolutely amazing, and even me, who usually doesn’t like that sort of contemporary, love love loved it. I keep hearing good things about This Song Will Save Your Life — which is great, because I actually borrowed it from the library the other week. ^_^

    • It totally is! I know a few people who got affected by hype and didn’t like it so much, but I’m glad I got to it in 2012 before all of that started. Libraries are great like that! All the fun of trying new books without spending money 😛

  5. The Intern – I’ve wanted to buy it since it came out… every time I see it in a bookstore I wish it was payday 😛
    The ones on here that I’ve read – Suite Scarlett, TFiOS, Eleanor and Park.. all amazing.
    And I’m with you- CAN’T Wait for Isla!

  6. Oh, TFIOS and E&P are definitely my favourite contemporary YAs too. Anna was good too and I can’t wait to read Isla. I haven’t really read many Aussie authors, I think, so I’ll check out The Intern. Any other good Aussie authors to recommend?

  7. Great post Emily! 🙂 I also have The Fault in Our Stars, Eleanor & Park, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, It’s Kind of a Funny Story and The Distance Between Us on my Top Ten Tuesday list this week! 🙂

    From your post I also love The Princess Diaries and I really want to read This Song Will Save Your Life, Suite Scarlet and The Intern.

    I got Anna and the French Kiss for Chrismas, but I haven’t read it it – I can’t wait to start it though!

    You can see my TTT post here, if you would like. 🙂 : http://paperbacksandprotagonists.blogspot.com.au/2014/03/top-ten-tuesday-4.html

    • Wow, we must have really similar taste, that’s awesome! You should definitely read Anna and the French Kiss, especially since Isla is coming out later this year. If you like so many of the ones I do, you’ll probably enjoy that as well! Thanks for stopping by my TTT, I’m heading over to yours now 🙂

  8. So yes to This Song and TFiOS. They were some of the best contemps EVER. I wasn’t a fan of Eleanor and Park but have been meaning to read Anna.

    Great list, Emily! <33

  9. I have to agree on a lot of your choices Emily! The Fault, Anna and The Distance are all fantastic choices, and I haven’t read any of the others I don’t think, although I do want to read This Song and Eleanor and Park, and I attempted The Perks, but it was a no go from me, I just couldn’t take to Charlie,, Great list hun! 🙂
    Also, I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Blog Awards!

  10. I friggin loved The Fault in Our Stars. I’ve had Eleanor and Park on my TBR list for some time because I read Attachments and thought it was adorable. Great list.
    Here’s my Top 10

  11. The Fault In Our Stars and Anna And The French Kiss made my list of favorite YA contemporaries too! Actually, I love your list in general! I haven’t had a chance to read Eleanor & Park or It’s A Kind Of A Funny Story, but I definitely plan on reading both of them soon!

  12. Pingback: What Happened This Week: British relatives | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

