Loony’s Musings: movie adaptations I loved more than the books

Have you ever watched a movie, LOVED IT, and then gone back to read the book, and the book’s not that great? Or loved a book/series and then been so excited to see the movie, and realise it’s actually better?

This doesn’t happen often, ย I must admit. I mean, I love books. Obviously. But here are some of my favourite movie adaptations that, I think, surpassed the awesomeness of the book/s.

1) Stardust

image

Best. Pirates. Ever. I read this book after watching the movie, and wasn’t that impressed, to be honest.

2) The Lord of the Rings

That GIF totally didn’t scare me…at all…there’s no way I’m going to have nightmares from it…

But anyway, I loved both the books and the movies. And yeah, Tolkien’s a genius, but I have a short attention span and dude, those books are LONG.

3) The Princess Bride

image

The book of this is also awesome. Read it. It’s very confusing with the author and stuff, but really unique. Except Buttercup is even more useless than in the movie. Seriously, I love this movie.

4) Eragon

(This is obviously a joke. That movie was awful)

5) Coraline

Fun story: my friend’s mum dyed her hair a different colour. The friend’s sister, who was about three at the time, thought her mum was The Other Mother. I mean, Coraline is a creepy movie, okay? I think it worked really well on-screen.

So those are my favourite movie adaptations of books. I think it’s important to mention that books and movies are totally separate art forms, and just because one’s superior to the other doesn’t mean that either of them changes because of it. Whether the movie ofย The Fault in Our Stars is awful or amazing, that won’t change my opinion of the book.

What are your favourite movie adaptations? Any you think are better than the books?

19 thoughts on “Loony’s Musings: movie adaptations I loved more than the books

  1. Awesome post! (:

    Out of your list I’ve only actually seen The Lord of the Rings … and I completely agree. Loved the film, but the book? I read about a chapter of it before I put it down. Too many details when I just wanted to get on with the story. And Eragon… Haha after some advice from a friend, I never watched that movie, but apparently the elven chick didn’t even have pointed ears or something? Weird.

    I think I’ll probably be the only one to says this, but I loved The Perks of Being a Wallflower adaptation more than the book. Also, I love the TV adaptation of Pretty Little liars (okay, so it’s not a movie, but still, same difference) more than the books. The books were too chick-lit for me. And they’re are too many of them. (They’re STILL going, I think.)

    I am so insanely excited to see The Fault in Our Stars adaptation. Though something tells me I should probably bring a tissue box with me. I’ll be a blubbering mess.

    • That is so true for LOTR. Pacing is soooo slow. I mean, what was wrong with his editor?

      I was tossing up with putting Perks on here actually. I absolutely LOVE that movie, and the first time I read the book I didn’t like it that much. But upon re-reading, I realised how amazing it was.

      Duuuuuuude, The Fault in Our Stars is going to kill me. I cried during the trailer D:

  2. I haven’t actually read any of these books, but I LOVED all of the movies you had this list! The only book that I actually really want to read from this list is Coraline because I only recently found out that it was a book.

    I’m really unsure whether I want to see TFioS at the movie theatres or not because I don’t want to cry in front of a lot of other people…

  3. I’m adding Mary Poppins to this list. -_- The book sucked beyond words. I feel SO bad…but I absolutely loathe the Mary Poppins book and LOVE the movie. And I’m so glad you were joking about Eragon…*stifles mini panic attack* WHY DOES THAT MOVIE EXIST?!! I haven’t watched Coraline yet, but I reeeeally liked the book. Creeeeepy.

    • Mary Poppins is such a good movie though! Maybe I won’t read the books ๐Ÿ˜› oh my gosh, Eragon was awful. I’m so disappointed, because I love the books! Even if everyone else says they’re awful! Coraline the movie is just as creepy, :O

  4. I haven’t been game enough to watch Eragon, I feel like it’s going to ruin my experience of a book. Nothing worst to have your favourite book butchered! But hey, at least you’ve found a few that were better than the book.

  5. Holy cow, Coraline is a creepy movie. I can’t remember if I read the book before or after. And I can’t even remember which one I liked more o.o
    I’ve never read LoTR, but I do love the movies ๐Ÿ˜€
    And I’ve never seen The Princess Bride, but I want to! And I don’t know anything about Eragon so I feel lame xD
    I can’t remember any movies that I liked MORE than the book. I know there are a few, but I can’t remember at all o.o I did like The Host, hated Beastly, liked The Lovely Bones, thought The Time Traveler’s Wife was about as good as the book, loved The Help (both book and movie), LOVE JURASSIC PARK. Both the book and movie are AMAZING in my opinion. They’re so similar, yet so different. But both so incredible.
    And of course, I’m just blanking on a whole bunch. But if I remember any, I’ll write it down and get back to you xD

    • The Princess Bride is AMAZING. And hilarious. And amazing.

      It took me a while to think of these, actually – more than I would have thought. But occasionally the movie is just such a good piece in its own right that I’m like woahhhhh. I’m sure there are many more movies I like more than the books, but there’s no way I’m going to remember them all!

  6. Pingback: What Happened This Week: Stacking the Shelves (4) and School Stuff | The Loony Teen Writer

  7. Yes! I was shocked how much I was disappointed by Stardust the book after the film was so…dramatic and explosive. Also: Eragorn. I’m not a big fan of the books anyway (well, the last books; the first wasn’t too bad), but that movie. *dies* Why??

  8. Yesssss to Stardust. I adore the movie, I went off and read the book … and I was really disappointed. Where was all the awesome? It made me a bit sad to be honest. But at least the movie is great, yeah? ๐Ÿ˜€
    Weirdly enough, I can’t think of another book to movie adaptation where I have liked the movie more. To be honest, if I really love a movie and HAVEN’T read the book, I actually stay away from the book. *shocked gasping* I know, it’s terrible of me. Like LOTR – oh man those movies own my heart, but I haven’t read the books. Howl’s Moving Castle – easily one of my favourite movies of all time and I haven’t read the book. The Time Traveller’s Wife, Phantom of the Opera, there were more but it’s rainy and my attention span is very short when it’s rainy.
    BUT. I remembered another movie I liked better than the book. Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants. That movie broke my heart, but the book didn’t quite have that ‘x’ factor. I still LOVED the book, but would pick the movie over it any day.
    Am I the only one who actually liked Eragon? Granted, I haven’t rad the book and I’m guessing it’s WAY different which is why people hate it. But I have rewatched that movie a heap of times. I really liked it *covers head*
    I feel like a bad reader, haha. But like you said, they’re two different forms of art, and sometimes one just captures the essence of a story in a more amazing way, I guess. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • At least we have the movie ๐Ÿ™‚ that movie is made of awesome.

      Phantom of the Opera โค and Les Mis โค (I mean, those books are massive. I'll probably never go with them). I think it's hard to match such high expectations – when they're both fantastic, which is rare, I am always so happy (like with The Perks of Being a Wallflower). Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants is another book I just didn't GET. Didn't do anything for me.

      I suppose without reading Eragon it might seem alright ๐Ÿ™‚ it wasn't even that it was so much different to the book, just that…I don't even know. I haven't watched it for a while! I can just remember hating it.

      That is so true. I love all different kinds of stories and I think the whole "literature is a superior art form" snobbery is kind of silly. Movies are great!

  9. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-up~ March 2014 | Young Writers Cafe

  10. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-up~ March 2014 | Bookish Serendipity

Leave a Reply

