Little Women and when classics are awesome

 

Image

So I finished Little Women a few days ago. I loved it even more this time (the last time I read it was about four or five years ago, I think). And though I hate to admit it, a part of me thinks it’s because I’m studying it for English. You grow to understand a book more when it’s being looked at in-depth, rather than reading it for pleasure. Sure, I don’t like analysing the hell out of it, but there’s a certain satisfaction you get from realising, ah, that’s what the author meant.

I’m not going to talk about Little Women in particular here. Instead I want to talk about classics. I mean, a lot of them I don’t like too much. I didn’t like Huckleberry Finn or The Great Gatsby. But there are some I like. For example: 

– Little Women

– The Bell Jar

– The Catcher in the Rye

– Tess of the D’Urbervilles

– Pride and Prejudice

– Others I can’t remember

But that’s not to say they’re the best books in the world. You can be as snobby as you want about classics and how good they are, but that’s not going to stop me from loving Harry Potter until the day I die. 

Yeah, classics take me longer to read than other books. But when I look through my Mum’s bookshelves and see all those beautiful hardbacks with yellow pages and beautiful language, they kind of pull at me. I used to read a lot of Noel Streatfeild when I was in the middle grade age, and a lot of Louisa May Alcott. I read Anne of Green Gables and Swallows and Amazons, and part of me wonders why I don’t read as many classics now.

Maybe because I don’t have time.

Maybe because I’m a more close-minded reader (I wouldn’t be surprised).

Maybe because classics are daunting.

But reading Little Women and loving it has made me realise that sometimes they can be really enjoyable. And I’d love to read more this year.

PS sorry for how short this post is – I’ve had four assessment tasks this week! More updates on Sunday, but for now just feel sorry for me 😛

Do you like classics? Hate them? Which ones have you read recently, or which ones have you read that you enjoyed?

15 thoughts on “Little Women and when classics are awesome

  1. I’m a sucker for classics, in fact I read and re-read more classics than new novels, though I try to mix it up. Nothing will stop me from re-reading To Kill a Mocking Bird or Of Mice & Men or even Animal Farm

  2. *feels dutifully sorry for you* Ah, yes, classics. They’re a really interesting topic, actually. I have to admit, even though I’d LIKE to read classics…I don’t. I don’t “understand” them, or whatnot. Unless I listen to them on audio. I think I have an eyeball brain disconnect sometimes. -_- But for me, classics just flow into my brain without meaning a thing. *sigh* I WISH it was different though. I think Mark Twain has a fabulous sense of humour.

  3. I actually read Little Women just for the heck of it in middle school. And, yeah, I enjoyed it. Except for the Laurie thing I mentioned. But I think I know what you mean. For example: I didn’t like The Great Gatsby so much. It was summer reading, so we didn’t even go over it in class. But a couple days ago my history teacher mentioned it while talking about the 1920’s. And suddenly I have a new understanding of it. I mean, he literally talked about it for five minutes and I was satisfied. It’s not like I love the book now, but I appreciate and see what Fitzgerald was trying to do.
    And I actually just finished The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. I really liked all the irony in it. I thought that was just great.
    I’d really love to read more classics in my life. But time is my main issue. It takes me longer to read classics too. But I really do enjoy it. Except maybe The Scarlet Letter. That was just too boring. And that’s something I rarely ever say o.o

    • We don’t get summer reading over here! Weird. I understand what you mean about when it’s explained – it’s like understanding is halfway towards respecting, which is almost as important as liking. And I do respect classics, because they are SO well-written. But what does well-written even mean? It could be the most “well-written” novel in the world but if people don’t like it I wouldn’t say it’s a success. These are the things that keep me up at night 😛

  4. I only read very few classics, and I don’t think I’ll be able to read many of them before I did. For one, the language sometimes can be very intimidating. I know how to speak and understand English quite well despite being a non-Native speaker, but when these novels were written, they were written in a very… literary sense. That kind of thing usually pushes me away because I oftentimes find it exhausting to read.

    Hopefully I’ll be able to get over this and read myself some. I did enjoy The Little Women, which my father bought for me when I was eight years old (why he didn’t buy me harry potter, I have no idea haha). Still pissed that Jo didn’t end up with the guy I want her with ><

    Faye at The Social Potato Reviews

    • Exactly, they take such a long time to read, and I’d rather spend my energy on amazing books – after all, reading is my relaxation time, I don’t want it to be a chore! But some classics I actually have enjoyed, so I’m still willing to seek them out 🙂

      Thanks for commenting, Faye! 🙂

  5. I actually do quite enjoy classics, I haven’t read any in a while though. I liked P&P and I think Dracula will be a good one to get into. One of my favourites is The Picture of Dorian Gray, that was creepy and not too hard to read.

  6. Pingback: What Happened This Week: Stacking the Shelves (4) and School Stuff | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

