Book Review: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

ImageTitle: Scarlet (Lunar Chronicles #2)

Author: Marissa Meyer

Genre: YA sci-fi/ fairytale retelling

Length: 454 pages

Published by: Macmillan

Source: borrowed from school library

Blurb: 

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison–even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive. Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

Note that there MAY be slight Cinder spoilers in this review.

Hurrah for not having second book syndrome! I actually think having the two narrators helped with that, because the addition of a second story thread just made things all the more interesting.

 

Highlights

– New characters! Thorne was a nice change from all the serious characters, and Scarlet was really different to Cinder. Wolf was the one I couldn’t figure out for most of the book, but my lips are sealed any further.

– Old characters! Cinder was still there, still as awesome as ever. I still hugely ship her and Kai. Just saying.

– More fairytales! I LOVED how Marissa Meyer incorporated the Little Red Riding fairytale, with Wolf and the grandma and everything. It’s just such a great mash-up, as I think I mentioned in my review of Cinder.

Both of these books have been really fast reads for me, and that’s generally an indicator that I’m hooked.

Since this incorporates Scarlet into things, I expected her to have more chapters than Cinder. But I wanted Cinder’s chapters! They were so good, and Thorne is hilarious. Especially towards the end. I couldn’t stop laughing whenever he corrected “Cadet” to “Captain.” Bit full of himself, isn’t he?

And we get to see Iko again! I won’t say anymore than that, but those who’ve read it know what I mean 😉

Both plots were great. Setting could have been used more, I think. I mean, China and France? There are some serious opportunities for awesome description there, but it wasn’t used very much.

Did I mention Thorne?

image

Really the only reason I’m not giving it 5 stars is because I only save that for books that blow me out of the water. I loved this, and you probably will too, but it didn’t reach that level for me. 4 stars is still re-read-worthy, although first I have to read Cress (take that, book-buying ban!).

I really loved how the two stories wove together. To be honest I thought they would come together sooner, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing. Also, the way Meyer distinguishes between all the characters is amazing, and they all have such distinct personalities. Loved that there was more of the Lunar glamour, and the ship was really cool too. There were some pretty terrifying moments, great plot twists, and overall a fantastic addition to the series. Scarlet the character didn’t impress me as much as Cinder, but that doesn’t surprise me – I mean, Cinder’s awesome.

Can’t wait to buy and read Cress!

Rating: 4/5 Wonderkitties

15 thoughts on “Book Review: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

  1. Whoop! I adored Thorne, especially in Cress. *wink wink* Although we might differ since I think I liked Scarlet (the character) more than Cinder, haha! But still, you have to read Cress ASAP! It was asdfghjkl full of Thorne. 😉

    • Dammmmmn, stop teasing me! 😛 I guess I’d better get my butt in gear and buy Cress. And probably the other two. Then I’ll be up to date by the time Winter comes out. Actually, speaking of which, maybe I should have read the series later in the year so I wouldn’t have to wait as long….

      Can’t wait to see more Thorne!

  2. I liked Cress to Scarlet 😛
    YAy another Thorne fan! He really shines in the third book.
    Meyer’s ability to weave in the classic fairytale aspects with futuristic twists…. kind of amazing.
    So glad you enjoyed it!

  3. I was too nervous to read your review of this..buuuut, I’m happy. ^.^ Surprisingly, this is like my favouritest book of the series! And most people it’s that meh middle book…omg, what’s wrong with me?!! XD OKAY. But I love this review, the gifs, the works. But noooo you’re on a book buying ban?! THIS IS TERRIBLE NEWS. It is absolutely brilliant. XD Mime is reading it right now (and taking foreeever. I read it in like 2 days, but whatever, she has school). But YAY ANYWAY SO GLAD YOU LIKED IT.

    • This happens to me as well! When there’s a book I love, EVERYONE ELSE has to love it. Or else. I finished it in two days as well, but it was a weekend so that’s probably why! And seriously, I don’t think I can keep up with this book-buying ban. It’s killing me. I plan on buying Cress ASAP.

  4. I remember being so hesitant to read Scarlet because i was super mean and a pessimest and thought i wouldn’t like it as much as i had loved Cinder BUT BOY WAS I WRONG. MARISSA MEYER CAN DO NO WRONG. like oh my god that woman deserves all the choclate chip cookies, She is brilliant. Thorne and Scarlet with two realy great additions to the story and I just loved them. great review emily 🙂
    lily

  5. This book is amazing and I’m shipping Kai and Cinder too. I hope they meet again soon.

    I can’t wait to read Cress too but I can’t find an available copy locally. I have to order them through Amazon and it will take around two weeks 😦 Cress looks interesting. She’s a hacker!

  6. Pingback: What Happened This Week: Embalming, Fangirling and Studying | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

