What Happened This Week: Embalming, Fangirling and Studying

First let me explain the embalming bit of that title. We’re doing this drama thing called the Groundswell Project, which is where you make a play about death/dying. It’s meant to relieve some of the taboo around death by talking to young people about it. And it’s really awesome. For research the Groundswell people brought in a lovely lady called Amy, 22 and a funeral director/embalmer. The best thing is that her sister’s a wedding planner.

Some interesting things she told us about embalming include (LOOK AWAY IF YOU DON’T LIKE GORY DETAILS BECAUSE IT’S GORY):

– If the body has jaundice, using the wrong embalming fluids might turn the person green

image

(now we know your real story, Miss Wicked Witch)

– They put velcro behind people’s eyelids since often the eyes don’t shut

– They sew the person’s mouth shut so it doesn’t hang open

– She showed us her DEAD PERSON MAKE-UP KIT HOW COOL IS THAT

Also this week: I readย Fangirl and fangirled about it. I’ve also been studying for my half-yearly exams, which are happening over the next two weeks SAVE ME PLEASE.

Books Recently Read

where she wentthe impossible knife of memoryfangirl

Currently Reading

this is what happy looks like

Reading next…?

All of these are by Aussie authors. Isn’t that great?

Gif of the week

Posts this week

Monday: review of Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Tuesday: Top Ten Tuesday, the top ten things on my bookish bucket list

Wednesday: Loony’s Musings, this week me fangirling about the Paper Towns movie

Thursday: review of Where She Went by Gayle Forman

Friday: review of The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson

Saturday: Write Life Saturday, in which I talked about writing in different tenses

NEXT WEEK!

Next week is going to be very exciting. It’s going to be Fangirl Week, in which I reviewย Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, and talk about Harry Potter and The Fault in Our Stars, and the awesome fandom things in my bedroom (I have some cool stuff, okay). It’s going to be AWESOME. Stay tuned. Hope you’re all well. By the time this blog post goes up I’ll be studying madly for my English exam O_O

What have you read this week? What else have you been up to?

21 thoughts on “What Happened This Week: Embalming, Fangirling and Studying

  1. I love that her sister is a wedding planner! I am trying to figure out where I can work that into a story. I am glad you had a good week, Emily. I can’t wait for your review of Fangirl! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Okay, the embalming is kind of creepy…but really interesting at the same time. The kind of talked about mortuary stuff in I Am Not a Serial Killer, and seriously, I’m not going all serial-killer on anyone, but it IS interesting to know what they do with dead bodies. Creepy though. Okay, I’m shutting up on that topic. *ahem* I LOVED Fangirl!! *fangirls accordingly* I think Mime is reviewing it this week? If I ask her nicely….

  3. Haha oh man, I was wondering what blog I was on when I started reading the embalming bit. ๐Ÿ˜› It’s freaks me out that people put make up on the dead during their funeral. I’ve been to one before and it just seems a tad wrong to me. :\

    ANYWAYS, I voted for you to read Disruption! It was so good. I still haven’t read Fangirl yet (my bad), but it’s at the top of my TBR, I swear!

    Joy @ Thoughts By J

    • LOL, that must have been super-confusing.

      Ooooh, interesting! I can’t wait to find out which book I’m reading. You should read Fangirl. It was at the top of my TBR for ages too, but only recently got around to it (and my review is up tomorrow, yay!).

  4. Voted for you to read Looking for Alibrandi though I was almost about to click Disruption. Now it’s 50/50, hehe. OOh DEAD PERSON MAKEUP SOUNDS AWESOME.

    Thanks for sharing! <33

  5. Whoaaaaaaa :O The velcro & the sewing thing… *shudders*

    Yay for Fangirl! I hope you like This is What Happy Looks Like as well–I thought it was cute. :3 And ooh! Jelly.

  6. Hey girl! (: I’m back from Italy and definitely have missed you and this lovely blog <33

    ….And I've come back to talk of embalming. Lovely [; Haha seriously though, it's so morbid yet fascinating to me. I found the details quite interesting. I also wasn't aware of the whole green skin thing.

    I'm so glad you enjoyed Fangirl (: I quite liked it too! Can't wait to see your posts during fangirl week, I'm definitley excited.

    Good luck on your English exam!

  7. Totally fangirled over Fangirl too. LEVI WAS TOO ADORABLE. I did get kind of annoyed by though whole Simon Snow existing in a world where Harry Potter also existed though. That was a massively ridiculous thing.

    • LEVI LEVI LEVI. I mean I love Gus from TFIOS and all, but Levi could actually exist in real life, whereas Gus…probably could not. Oh yeah, the Simon Snow/Harry Potter thing was annoying. I talked about that in my review, actually ๐Ÿ˜›

  8. Voted for Disruption. I can’t wait to read that book!

    Interesting information on embalming… I never knew that stuff. Definitely helpful to a writer. (I’ve never actually written about embalming, but now I’ll know what to write if I do. ^_^)

Leave a Reply

