When books are more than books: Harry Potter

This is my copy of Harry PotterImage and the Order of the Phoenix. Well, the family copy, technically, but I love it the most so I think we can agree that it’s mine. As you can probably tell from the photo, it’s a bit battered. It’s missing page 465-6 – who knows where it is, but I know the story so well that it doesn’t matter when I’m reading it.

If you read my post yesterday about The Fault in Our Stars, you’ll know that it means a lot to me. That’s nothing compared to Harry Potter

And I’m sure I’m not alone in this (please tell me I’m not alone in this).

Here are some of my most vivid memories of all things HP:

– Having nightmares of yellow eyes when I watched the second movie

– Reading the last book on the silver seats at school

– Buying the fifth book for my Nanna and lugging it home

– Doing a school presentation on Quidditch (this was last year, lol)

– Kind of hoping on my eleventh birthday that my Hogwarts letter would come (it wasn’t just me…surely…)

– This enrichment day in year 3 with a two day Harry Potter program thingy. We had to make ourselves into a character from the series, and my name was Emvarti Meadel (which I still think is totally cool).

– Reading it so many times I’ve lost count.

I’m still in the process of reading it right now. Things have kind of got in the way, but I’m halfway through the fifth book – I’ll probably finish the series during the school holidays. Every time I finish it, I’m just like:

The only cure for a book hangover is to read more books. But after reading Harry Potter nothing seems…the same. Most of the time I end up easing back into it, or reading other books in between.

I watch the movies when I’m sick. I read the books because I can. I used to write headcanons. I have a Pottermore account. I read The Casual Vacancy because JK Rowling wrote it (and actually loved it, so there).

I’ve watched countless fan videos. Like this one (WATCH IT WATCH IT WATCH IT).

I love everything and anything to do with Harry Potter. Even I can admit its flaws, though. For example, I didn’t like the 19 Years Later part. But it’s still part of Harry Potter, which means that I still love it. Confusing, much? The magic of Harry Potter will stay with me, hopefully, all my life, because it’s been such an amazing part of my life.

The details.

The details of Hogwarts will always continue to astound me. Just HOW is it possible to think up so many different, amazing things?

 

 

 

 

The world.

Hogwarts, Hogsmeade, the Ministry, the Quidditch World Cup…everything about the world JK Rowling created is spectacular.

 

 

 

 

The sass.

I love these moments in the movies. Harry’s so sassy in the books and I love it!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The friendships

They’ve had their ups and downs, but the strength of their friendship, as well as its development, is so well-written.

 

 

 

 

 

Basically?

Damn straight. And as JK Rowling said, Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks for listening to my fangirling, everyone. It’s been fun! What are your memories of Harry Potter, or, alternately, another book series? I’d LOVE to read them! Maybe pick like three or something and tell me in comments 🙂

27 thoughts on “When books are more than books: Harry Potter

  1. Well, I love HP too, of course, but I was much older than you when they were published, so I didn’t have the added magic of hoping for my Hogwarts letter or anything like that (and your mention of it makes me feel like I missed out… ;)) Another book series I loved was Patrick Ness’ Chaos Walking trilogy. I bought the first two books in paperback just because they sounded cool (and they were on a sort of buy-one-get-one-free deal), and I read them in literally a day. Couldn’t get enough. And then I was like a crazy woman for months on end until the last book was published, and I couldn’t wait for it to come out in paperback – I had to have it straight away. It’s the only time I’ve broken my ‘book series all need to be in the same format’ rule, but I regret nothing.

    Of course I also loved the Abhorsen trilogy and His Dark Materials, but they didn’t have the same brain-gripping power as Chaos Walking or HP. When I first came across John Connolly’s books I became addicted to them, too, and had to keep buying them – and he’s written *loads*. They’ve started to become less dense and interesting as time has gone on, but I’m still a loyal fan.

    *sigh* As always, I love your gifs. What a great post. 🙂

    • Hey, there’s still time to get your Hogwarts letter! I’m sure it just got lost in the mail 🙂

      I haven’t actually read any of Patrick Ness, but I can identify with the feeling of HAVING to have the next book. Some of my series’ (like Eragon), have different editions and sizes, which annoys me so much, but it was the first edition available.

      I LOVE His Dark Materials. Besides Harry Potter, it’s probably one of my favourite series’. The world in those books…well, the WORLDS, are also completely amazing. But for some reason they just haven’t had as much of an impact on me.

      Thank you!! I’m glad you liked it 🙂

  2. As I’ve been reading the HP books for the first time recently, I can say that the movies, for the most part, did a good job of showing what needed to be shown and to entertain. The only complaint I had was finding out that the Percy/Ministry story line existed in the books, but was never explained in the movies. And I wished they had gone into Voldemort’s back story more. Because I wanted to know why/how he was a baddie. What caused it. They glossed over it in the movies, so I got more of that in Book 6 especially.

    A terrible book-to-movie that I absolutely hate: Percy Jackson – The Lightning Thief. Talk about changes. I read the book with my book club students, and then we watched the movie, and I couldn’t believe the liberties they took with it. But it did make for good discussion topics with the kids about how the book and movie were different, what was left out.

      • I love the movies – I think they’re great companions to the novels. For the most part, I don’t mind when particular plot points are left out because I realise that not everything can be included.

        Percy Jackson is also an interesting one. I’ve heard people say that loved the movies, but those were people who hadn’t read the books. Which begs the question of whether it’s possible to judge the movie based on its own merit rather than as an adaptation, but that’s a discussion for another time!

        Agreed, Harry Potter is awesome 🙂

  3. I was planning on leaving a really nice, long comment on this post about why I love Harry Potter and exactly what it means to me…but then I watched that video and began to cry, and as I type this now, tears are still rolling down my cheeks, but it’s a mixture of both sad and happy tears, so it’s okay. I don’t know what else to say except for I love Harry Potter, because I do. I agree with everything you mentioned in your post, and muggles just don’t understand what Harry Potter means to us, and I’m hoping you know what I’m on about, because I’m not sure if I’m even making sense.

    • THAT VIDEO THOUGH. I remember the first time I watched it and how many tears just streamed down my face. I was a mess. It’s such a beautiful video.

      I totally know where you’re coming from, btw. It’s so hard to describe, but it’s easy to identify another Potterhead and identify with dem feels. It’s just…just. So important. And I hope this post showed that a little bit 😛

  4. You’re not alone. I actually have two set of Harry Potter. The battered ones and the new set edition that I received as a gift last year. I was a happy kid again when I opened that gift. However, I decided not to use it for “reading” because once you take out one book from the box, it will be too difficult to return it. The box is just too tight for the 7 books. I’m not sure why the manufacturer didn’t add an extra space! So basically getting and returning the book from the box is a nightmare.

    I’m reading Harry Potter series again. I’m back at book 1 and the paper already turned yellow. This book has been with me for 10+ years! Although they look already old, I’m glad that all pages are still intact and complete 🙂

  5. when i saw your picture of the harry potter book, i nearly had a heartattack. poor book! at least it’s been read a million times meaning i’m a little more okay with it being absoutely tattered. :O I love the name Emvarti Meadel, very creative! we have a harry potter club at my school but i can never go because i have choir during that time which totally sucks.

    great post, emvarti meadel! <33

    • Poor widdle HP 😦 it’s pretty battered. But very loved as well.

      Hahaha Emvarti Meadel is totes the best thing I’ve ever made up. Work of genius. Omg, though, do not start calling me that 😛

      Harry Potter club! That sounds awesome. *shakes fist at choir*

  6. Oh I just love Harry Potter so deeply, it was pretty much my childhood. Rushing to the stores and debating whether me or my sister would get to read them first. Wondering how those jelly beans and the butter beer would taste like. Knowing that I’d be in Gryffindor and wondering what house others would be in. I just love this fandom so much and I’m glad you do too ❤

    • I’m so glad there are so many people sharing my love of Harry Potter! Book bloggers are awesome. My sister got into the series a lot later than I did, so I didn’t have that connection, but I definitely did with my mum and my uncle. It was always the tradition that we all went to see the latest movie together, whenever that worked out to be. I’m a Ravenclaw (with some Hufflepuff traits, I think). Yay HP nerds!

  7. Harry Potter is amazing. I will always love it. Always.

    Hehe your HP books look very similar to mine… I’ve actually been buying some new editions of them lately, just so they can look all pretty on my already-overflowing bookshelf.

    • ALWAYS. I see what you did there (although I still don’t like Snape, just sayin’).

      I really want to buy new editions as well, but the thing is that they require MONEY (I know, right?). But I will always keep my tattered copies because they’re beautiful to me 😛

  8. Aw, man. This book made me teary-eyed. I only read Harry Potter this year for the first time (So many people messaged me about being jealous, too! Don’t we all wish to read it and experience the magic for the first time ever as well?) and ever since then it has been hard not to compare everything else to it. It was absolute love and magical. I don’t know why I didn’t read it sooner. I cried, I laughed, and I loved it to bits. There’s just something so fascinating and familiar and homey about it. The world is beautiful, the characters are endearing, the plot is amazing… every time I think about it, I still get goosebumps and I still get teary-eyed. How can such a fictional feel so real? I learned so much about life from this book, and I’ll make sure every generation from mine henceforth will read this series so they, too, can feel its impact ❤

    Faye at The Social Potato Reviews

    • Not comparing things to the amazingness of Harry Potter is extremely hard. Just the SCOPE of it is incredibly. Everyone henceforth should be required by law to read Harry Potter. Seriously. And the movies do it justice so well, and Fred and George are hilarious, and just EVERYTHING about it is incredible. I’m pretty jealous of you for experiencing it for the first time only recently 🙂 that would have been fantastic!

  9. Haha seeing your copy of the Order of the Phoenix made me laugh, because ALL of my Harry Potter books look like that too. Lol I suppose that’s the cost of reading Harry Potter when you’re like 10 years old. This post was insanely wonderful, you summed up all of my emotions and utter adoration towards this amazing series that will forever have an impact on my life. I think the magic of the series is what keeps readers just coming back to it. Like J.K. Rowling said, you can keep coming back to the series and feel like it’s your home. You can re-live the magic over and over, not only reading an amazing story but recalling those nights you stayed up all night reading under your covers. Remembering being Hermione for every Halloween, having a great female role model to look up to. Waiting in line at midnight to see the movies. There’s just so much fond memories I have shared with this series and it makes me love it even more.

    I’m still waiting for my Hogwarts letter 😛 Yeah, it probably just got reaaaallly lost in the mail. Lol. I remember being 11 and actually crying that I never got it. It was very traumatic for my 11 year old self.

    Once again, amazing post 🙂

    • Hahaha, silly ten-year-old Emily probably trashed those books. But this is the only one that’s missing a page, thank goodness.

      This series can never be over-estimated. Like you, it will always have a tremendous impact on me. It’s magical, really, that’s the only word to describe it. Every time I read it I discover something different.

      I’m still waiting for mine as well. I mean, it was probably Errol’s fault. Our poor 11 year old selves, though! If I ever have kids I’ll totally send them a Hogwarts letter (because obviously they’re going to read the books. That’s not even a question).

      Thanks so much, Larissa ❤

  10. Beautiful post Em, and I agree with everything! Harry Potter was with me as I grew up, and I hope for generations to come, it will shape them as it did me. I remember lining up when the new books were released, sitting in the cinemas in anticipation as the clock hit midnight and I was able to watch the new films. Harry Potter has been such an influential part of my growth and I definitely wished my acceptance letter arrived. 😛

    Hogwarts is home ❤ ❤

  11. Have you heard of the new site Hogwarts is Here? It’s basically created by fans- you can take all the Hogwarts classes online. I personally find it a lot cooler than Pottermore, because, well…YOU CAN TAKE THE CLASSES! How totally epic is that! I just started Transfiguration and I already have a quiz…☺

    • I have heard of it, actually! I was involved in it about a year and a half ago before it got closed down after never even having been opened. I even applied to be a teacher for one of the classes (nerd alert, much). I don’t really have the time to do it anymore, but it looks SO SO cool, and I hope you do well in Transfiguration 🙂

  12. My first set of HP books look exactly like yours, Extremely loved. I now have a set of American paperback and hardcover, a UK paperback set and an ebook set so I can read them however I want, whenever I want. I have tried to count how many times I’ve read them and then decided that that was impossible and that I like knowing that there is no number that can be placed on my affection for the incredible world that Rowling created. That video – no words, all emotions. Now I must read them all again, starting now.

    • Extremely loved is a good euphemism. You have a lot of editions, I’m impressed! Eventually I’d like a few different sets 🙂 I agree with you about not being able to measure how much it means to me. I’m re-reading them at the moment – I’m up to the sixth. Yay for Potterheads 🙂

  13. Oh my god. You just made me cry tears of nostalgia. I read the 7th book just the other day–and I totally get you on the 19 years later part! :’) 😀 The 5th book is my favorite, I think, just because so much happens in it and it’s the start of the “war” with Voldemort. A couple of my copies got so worn out that we had to re-buy them just so I could read them :’)

    Ah, I wish my TBR list just wasn’t so long… I reread these every few years every year and I love them. 🙂

    I waited for an owl on my 11th birthday, too. My parents still make fun of me.

    I don’t think I can ever forget Harry Potter… no matter how hard I try ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

    • Nostalgia is strong with Harry Potter 🙂 I love the fifth book too! Mostly because it’s the longest, haha. So much happens in it, and I love the DA so much. I’m going to have to buy new copies eventually too, haha.

      Haha, I’m in the middle of rereading them right now…very slowly, but sometimes it’s nice just to crack it open. It makes me so relaxed. Harry Potter 5life ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

