What would you say to your favourite author?

Saturdays are usually about writing, but since this week is FANGIRL FRENZY WEEK, I thought I’d change it up a bit. And really, this could apply to writers as well.

For the purposes of this post I’ll use J K Rowling as my example, because she was my first favourite author. I mean, I probably can’t narrow my favourite authors down to five let alone one, but she’s the most obvious choice.

But what would I say to her if I met her? The first reaction wouldn’t be spoken, let me tell you. It’d be something like this:

image

Then a bit of this:

image

My next sentences would be incoherent. By the time I managed to say something discernible to the human ear as SPEECH, I’d probably be crying.

And then I’d be like: Jo, can I call you Jo? SHE SAID I CAN CALL HER JO. Jo, ahem, just wanted you to let you know that you’re my childhood. Nothing that important.

Our thoughts surrounding celebrities are weird, and we think of them as these unattainable people. But really, once I’d finished getting over my inner fangirl, I’d probably just talk to her like a normal person.

How amazing would that be? Just to talk to such an amazing author about writing and reading and things in general.

image

Really, I’d love to meet so many authors: John Green, J K Rowling, Meg Cabot, Phillip Pullman, Kasie West, Rainbow Rowell, Stephanie Perkins and SO MANY AUTHORS OKAY.

The only problem is my awkwardness. But I’m sure I could get over that eventually. After a few years. Possibly.

But seriously, where would you evenΒ start? The problem with this is that if I ever did meet any of these authors, it would probably be for three seconds while they signed a book or something. They’d never remember. Maybe I’d just make up a really awful pun and they’d remember it for the rest of their lives as The Worst Pun Ever.

Puns are great.

What was I talking about?

Okay so I haven’t actually answered the original question of this post, but that’s because I’d love you to answer. What would you say to your favourite author? What would you ask them about their book that you’ve always wanted to know, and only they can answer?Β Imagine you’re Hazel Grace and you get to meet Peter Van Houten. Except the author’s actually nice.

I’d love to know your answers πŸ™‚

And today’s the last day of Fangirl Frenzy Week, so I hope you’ve had as much fun as I have! Tomorrow I’ll be doing my monthly wrap-up, so watch out for that.

19 thoughts on “What would you say to your favourite author?

  1. Me? It’d be “um”. Honestly! That’s what I always say! I would probably drag Mime with me and make her memorise all my questions and then let HER talk. Then I would just stand there smiling like a goofball and hoping I don’t look as unintelligent as I feel. EXCEPTIONAL USE OF GIFS HERE.

  2. Haha, another great and relatable post! I’d most definitely be veryyy awkward at first when I’d meet my favorite authors.There would be a whole lot of “um” and “like.” I’d probably say things they’ve already heard a million times that day. I’d want to make myself memorable but wouldn’t be able to think of any way to do that. There would be a smile on my face the whole time, which would probably make the author uncomfortable.

    I’d hopefully be more interactive if I met them a second, third, fourth or eighth time xD Hopefully I’d be able to see past the fact that they’re an amazing author who had a huge impact on my life and would treat them like a normal human being instead of like some sort of god.

    Awee well this was a lovely post to end fangirl week with! Can’t wait to see more from this blog πŸ™‚

    • I’m with you on that. Cait mentioned that she’d make her sister do the talking, so I’m going to employ that method if I ever meet one of my fave authors.

      It’s hard to think of authors as anything less than gods. How do they do the thing where they make me cry and laugh and…wow. Crazy. I mean I write as well, but I can’t imagine ever having that kind of reaction.

      Fangirl week has been super-fun for me, so I’m glad you enjoyed it! πŸ˜€

      • I’m sure he gets it everywhere he goes! πŸ™‚ But it was an absolutely awesome experience. There are so many authors I’d love to meet, but I’ve convinced myself they’re all wonderful people, as well as brilliant writers; perhaps I’d be better off not shattering the illusion!

  3. I’d start just like meeting any celebrity: Do you know who you are!?!? (Of course they know who they are, crazy. They wake up the same person every morning.)

    Then, I’d be like the curator in Night at the Museum when she me Sacagawea: You rock!!!

  4. When you’re younger, it’s charming and authors would be completely flattered that their work has such an effect on you, but what if your in your 30’s like I am? Then it starts to get creepy. I really don’t know if I’d be that excited actually, books turn me into an excited mess, but I think meeting the authors of ny favourites would ruin the whole author illusion of greatness they had going on.

    Have you met any of yours yet Em?

    • HAHA. If you’re the same age as the author it’d definitely be a different experience. That’s a really good point about meeting them kind of ruining the “mystical author of wisdom” thingy.

      I have so far met zilch authors. It’s very sad, but I have good fun stalking…erm, interacting with them on Twitter.

  5. I freeze up. I’ve met a few authors I adore and I never know what to say. It’s like – everyone probably says the same thing… I don’t want to bore them! But most of the authors I’ve meet have been lovely. and they make you feel like it’s the first time they’ve heard all the ramblings that flow out.

    I hope you get to meet some of the authors you adore! πŸ˜€ And that you know what to say when you do πŸ™‚

    • Ooooh, so you’ve had experience of this! I would be worried about boring them as well. Until I tripped over something and fell on my face. That’d be interesting at least. But I’m sure, as you say, they try to be diplomatic and interested πŸ™‚

      Thanks, Kate, I hope so too!

  6. I have met two of my favorite authors. George RR Martin and Charlaine Harris. I remember saying to Charlaine Harris I was glad she came to my town because no one ever does. The person working at the bookstore looked at me all crazy. After that I started looking into authors who come to town and it turns out there are a lot that come. Oh well. Then I can’t even remember what I said to Martin. It happened soooo fast!!

    • That’s so cool!! Lol at your bookstore – you’d only realise if there were authors you wanted to meet, right? Totally understandable. And I can imagine it went really fast with George RR Martin. He was probably really in demand.

  7. I actually met my favourite author two weeks ago!
    And I was surprisingly un-nervous (yay for making up words -we’re pros at this, Emily). I thought I would be a hot mess trying to say something to her, but it was really easy.
    I said to her something along the lines of: I cannot express to you how much Wildwood Dancing (my favourite book) meant to me. I have read it more times than I can count. It is absolutely perfect, and I adore it.
    This is pretty much what I say to anyone who asks me about this book. So I thought I got my feelings across pretty well. We actually ending up having a huge long conversation.
    I also told me that she inspired me to write my own novels, because if someone could love my novel as much as I love Wildwood Dancing, I would be the happiest person alive.
    So that’s what I said to my favourite author ;D

    • So Juliet Marillier, innnnnnteresting. I think I actually own that book, but I’ve never read it!

      I’m so glad you got your thoughts across!! You seem to be in the minority among us tongue-twisted folk (or at least I’m assuming). I imagine you made her day πŸ™‚

      It’s so great that people have commented on this post talking about the times they’ve met their favourite author. I didn’t know there’d be so many!

Leave a Reply

