What Happened This Month and Stacking the Shelves

So a lot of things have happened this month. But first, let’s go to Stacking the Shelves!

STSmall

Stacking the Shelves is a book meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. It’s all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual.

For review

ImageImage

Sorry for my shocking photography. Also my room was really dark. But anyway, I received both Disruption by Jessica Shirvington and Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor from HarperCollins Australia. Thanks, guys! I’ve already read Disruption and LOVED it, so look out for my review sometime this week.

From the library

Image

Why We Took the Car by Wolfgang Herrndorf (side note: WHAT A COOL NAME!). I haven’t heard much about it but it’s contemporary and it sounds good.

CRESS. CRESS by Marissa Meyer. CRESS. Okay, so I’ve rated the other two four stars, not five, but everyone’s enthusiasm has affected me. My school library had this book and I nabbed it as soon as I saw that beautiful cover on the “new books” stand.

Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer by Katie Alender. This reminded me of The Name of the Star so I borrowed it.

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick. Sounds like another cute contemporary.

Tigers on the Beach by Doug MacLeod. This looks really interesting!

It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini. This will be a reread for me – let’s hope it’s as good as last time!

These are all preparation for the holidays, in which I am going to read ALL the things.

And now: what’s happened in March? 

My goals for March were as follows:

Reading goals for March: 

– Finish at least 8 books (I would say more but my half-yearly exams are coming up soon!)

Check! I read 11 books 🙂

– Review at least five books

Check! You can read all my reviews here (just click on the photos): 

    Image1629601ImageImageImage

spellcasterImagesplinteredon the fencescarlet

Imagethe impossible knife of memoryfangirl

– Read some more MG

Well…not really. But totally this month!

Writing goals for March: 

– Get to 40,000 words on The Daisy List

Check! 

– Send some queries out for Mutual Weirdness

Not check! I didn’t really get around to this, but I’m planning to very soon 🙂

GIF of the month: 

image

Because recently we celebrated Fangirl Frenzy Week, and felt all the feels.

This month, I’ve also had exams (and I’ve still got two to go!). Luckily, school holidays are coming up, which means I can do lots of reading and writing. I’ll be on a blogging hiatus for one of those weeks, but don’t worry, I’ll give plenty of warning 🙂

MY GOALS FOR APRIL

Reading

– Read at least 12 books

– Review at least 8 books

– Read at least 4 books by Aussie authors

Writing

– Get to 50k on The Daisy List

– Send out a few queries for Mutual Weirdness (I’ll totally do it this time)

Recently read books

ImageImageImage

What I’m reading at the moment

Image

What I’m reading next

Image

And that’s about it from me! Here’s to an awesome April. Or what’s left of April. This reflection post is kinda late. What did you accomplish during March?

26 thoughts on “What Happened This Month and Stacking the Shelves

  1. Ah ha! You’re reading Marie Antoinette!! I really liked that one. Heads roll. (I know! I know! My puns are suuuuper awesome. XD) Cress is the best of ever, of course, aaaand I’m keen to see what you think of Disruption! Ohhh, and I’m totally up for more Daisy List if, you know, you feel like throwing it at me. x)

    • I’m really liking it so far! Except for Hannah. Wow. Also, I have a few days off this week so I can devote my time to reading Cress…excellent. And I’ve been meaning to send you more Daisy List D: look out for an email from me today 🙂

  2. Great month of reading! I read around 10 books last month, but I think that was a great amount to work on, considering I redesigned the blog. I’m so happy you’ve been enjoying The Lunar Chronicles, I want to get to them as soon as a I can, so here’s hoping. I’m also glad you liked On the Fence, jealous you’ve got it though. Well done Emily, and good luck for April! 😀

    • That’s definitely a big achievement! I leave the design of my blog to the good old WordPress templates 😛 I’ve been enjoying most of the books I’ve read lately, which is great! Thanks, Amanda, hope you have a great April as well 🙂

  3. Yay for reading Cress next – it’s my favourite from the Lunar Chronicles so far. And those are lovely books for review. I bought a copy of Disruption and am a little way in… need to make more time to read! 😀 Hope April is as great as March was!

  4. I’m glad you enjoyed Disruption! I can’t wait to read your review. I really do need to get my hands on it, as you and Mel both loved it. You got some great reads from the library! Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer looks super promising. I’ve also read My Life Next Door. It’s such an amazing read (: Super cute. I hope you enjoy it! Ooo, good job on your goals! You met most of them haha.

    • I KNOW, RIGHT? Mel liked a book!! Hurrah! Her curse is over 😛 I DID get some great reads. I finished Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer this morning, and now I’m onto Cress. Yay! At this rate I’ll have to borrow some more before we finish school 😛

  5. Wow, what a HUGE week. You’re flying though books at the moment. Disruption looks soooo good. Tried to find a copy this weekend, but couldn’t find a copy at my locals. Happy reading hun 🙂

  6. Congrats on fulfilling many of your March checklist! 😀 I don’t think I’ve fulfilled many of mine, and I’m waaay behind my Goodreads progress. Sigh, thank goodness for co-bloggers for picking up the slack! 🙂 In any case, have fun with Cress!! It’s one of my favorite books eveeeer.

    Faye at The Social Potato Reviews

    • Thanks, Faye! I’m pretty happy this year, but goals don’t always work out, and that’s okay too. Yay for your co-bloggers! That might happen eventually with me 🙂 SO EXCITED about Cress. I’m 50 pages in and Cress is adorable ❤

  7. AH yes! You do have the best gifs, Em >.< I hope you enjoy Maybe One Day, that was a really emotional book and I loved it to shreds. And eeep Disruption!

    Lovely recap, girly! <33

Leave a Reply

