Top Ten Tuesday: Most Unique Books I’ve Read

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Each week they will post a new Top Ten list. It’s a great way to find and connect with other awesome bloggers.
I can already tell this post is going to take me a while. I mean, I’ve read a lot of books over the years. And some of them are really unique, so I enlisted the help of Goodreads to remember all the awesome. I’ve come up with a list of books that were really unique.
ImageImageImage
1) The Solitaire Mystery by Jostein Gaarder
I first read this book in year 5. I think. Anyway, it’s MG and it’s about philosophy, goldfish, playing cards, sticky buns, magnifiying glasses and dwarves. SO DIFFERENT AND AWESOME. Read it.
2) Splintered by A G Howard
There are things wrong with this book, but that doesn’t stop it from being absolutely incredible in terms of world-building and imagination. Rivals Tim Burton in creepiness.
3) Bird by Crystal Chan
I was in no way disappointed by this book when I read it this year. So completely beautiful and unique.
ImageImageImage
4) Jamintha by Jennifer Wilde
Filed under “books nobody has ever heard of.” I don’t even remember where I got it from, but I remember that it’s really creepy, the plot twists are AMAZING, and it’s stayed with me for years. I still own it so I might reread it soon.
5) Butter by Erin Lange
Okay, so I haven’t actually read this. But the premise is SO different!
6) His Dark Materials by Phillip Pullman
The world created in these books is on the same scale as Harry Potter, and I don’t say that lightly. It really is a masterpiece.
ImageImageImage
7) The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
I mean, how do you even classify this book? It’s such a different take on World War II, and I love it to pieces.
8) The Fire Within by Chris D’Lacey
Yeah, so, the last few books in this series were awful, but they’re still really unique. Clay dragons? That’s cool, okay?
9) Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
I mean, it’s not like I can have Splintered on here and leave out Alice in Wonderland. That would be blasphemy.
Image
10) Holes by Louis Sachar
Another awesome MG. How did Louis Sachar even come up with this? It’s awesome! I also read this one in year 5 – we took turns reading it aloud, which I loved, and now it sits proudly on my bookshelf.
Do you share any with me? Any other books I should check out because HOW HAVE I NOT READ THEM BEFORE? Let me know in comments and link me to your TTT! Because I definitely need more books on my TBR. Okay, no, I don’t need them, but I’m always looking for great recs!
25 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Most Unique Books I’ve Read

  1. I’ve yet to read any of the books listed here (yes, even Splintered… /gets shot) I’m going to bookmark this post though so I can take a closer look at each of them when I have the time. I don’t have a list, but I guess unique books I’ve read would probably have to be… um…(10 minutes later…) yeah I’ll have to get back to you on that 😛 I haven’t thought of anything that unique yet 😛

    Faye at The Social Potato Reviews

    • It took me a while to think of these books. Goodreads helped a lot 🙂 but yeah, totally read Splintered, it’s great. I really have to read Butter soon, seeing as though it’s on my list. Hopefully I won’t regret putting it on there 😛

  2. Bird is definitely beautiful and unique! Perfect addition to this week’s list.
    And I really want to read Splintered! I keep seeing it everywhere and people raving but I’ve not yet got my hands on a copy! Argh!
    As for Butter – I keep seeing it around too. The author has a new book which I hope to read and it also sounds like it has a unique premise. Great list Emily!

    • Bird is lovely. So glad I own a copy.
      I requested Splintered from Thames and Hudson, and they very nicely sent me Unhinged as well (I love them).
      And Dead Ends is the new book by that author. I’ll be reviewing it soon, I think 🙂 but I totally have to buy Butter, the premise is so different.
      Thanks, Kate 🙂

  3. Bird is definitely a beautiful read. I am so glad I’ve had the pleasure of reading it. I have Butter on my Kindle. I keep forgetting about it, so I’m glad I’ve been reminded by looking at your list! Thanks Emily. Great list!. 🙂

  4. Weeell… I’ve only read Splintered from this whole list. D: I thought about putting it in my own list, but for some reason I didn’t. :/ But yeah, it’s such an oddly unique read! Bird and The Book Thief are some of the books I really need to get to!

    • In that case you are TOTALLY MISSING OUT. The Solitaire Mystery is one of my fave books of all time, actually, purely because it’s so different. But hey, I know it’s not particularly popular 🙂 Definitely read Bird and The Book Thief, though – I wouldn’t want anyone to miss out on those beauties 🙂

  5. SPLINTERED. *fangirls quietly* It’s on my list too, OF COURSE, because heck if I can squeeze it on any list up it goes. x) I really want to read Butter now after the awesome that was Dead Ends. I love it when an author blows your mind and you become enslaved to their writing for life. It’s talent, honestly, it is. XD

    • We all know how much you love Splintered 😛

      I got approved for Dead Ends, yaaaaaaaaay. So that should be coming this week sometime. And I MUST purchase Butter!!

      Oh, and by the way, it is now my ultimate life goal to have someone enslaved to my writing. Just saying.

  6. We both chose Holes and His Dark Materials for our list! 😀 Is it weird that I haven’t met many people who actually read the book Holes? Most of my friends love the movie, but don’t even know it’s a book.

    Other than that, I don’t think I’ve read most of these. I tried giving The Book Thief a chance, but something stopped me from continuing. I have to pick it up again because so many people recommend it. ^_^

    • I haven’t met many either! I put it on my list so people might read it 🙂 I didn’t even know there was a movie version until a few years ago, haha.

      Sometimes unique books don’t mesh well, I guess. Like a lot of people have Shatter Me on their lists, which I did not like at all. But sometimes second reads are great for realising you actually like a book, so who knows!

  7. I absolutely love His Dark Materials. A friend suggested them to me over a year ago and now they are one of my favourite series. I love the subtle anarchism and the sweet love story. Unique, yes. Masterpiece, yes!

  8. Sadly, I haven’t read the majority of books on this list. I’ve only read Holes and The Golden Compass. Both are such imaginative stories. The world in the Golden Compass is amazing meanwhile the characters and plotline in Holes is mind boggling. Literally, those authors are the most intelligent people. I have no idea how you could come up with such intricate ideals.

    Wonderful list! (:

    • Yeah, I like some weird books 😛 I wanted to put some different ones on the list because those are the ones that have really stuck with me. If you get a chance, do try and find The Solitaire Mystery – it is amaaaaazing. Holes and His Dark Materials are incredible, and I would love to crawl inside those authors’ brains and discover HOW THEY DO IT. Because seriously, they are just so imaginative.

  9. Pingback: What Happened This Week: end of exams and start of holidays | The Loony Teen Writer

  10. Pingback: Dead Ends by Erin Lange: a likeable bully | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

