Book Review: Disruption by Jessica Shirvington

Title: ImageDisruption

Author: Jessica Shirvington

Genre: YA sci-fi

Length: 400 pages

Published by: HarperTeen Australia

Source: received in exchange for review, from HarperTeen (THANK YOU!)

Blurb:

What if a microchip could identify your perfect match?
What if it could be used against you and the ones you love?

Eight years ago, Mercer Corporation’s M-Bands became mandatory. An evolution of the smartphone, the bracelets promised an easier life. Instead, they have come to control it.

Two years ago, Maggie Stevens watched helplessly as one of the people she loves most was taken from her, shattering her world as she knew it. 

Now, Maggie is ready. And Quentin Mercer – heir to the M-Corp empire – has become key to Maggie’s plan. But as the pieces of her dangerous design fall into place, could Quentin’s involvement destroy everything she’s fought for? 

In a world full of broken promises, the ones Maggie must keep could be the most heartbreaking.

Everyone’s talked about how they love Disruption, but going into it, I had my doubts. It started slowly for me, and I began to think I’d be a black sheep. But nope.

It got better. And better. And I realised why other people liked it so much – because it’s REALLY GOOD. I’m a huge fan of contemporary, but this was a fast-paced story with an incredible concept and realistic projections of the near-future.

Let’s start with characters.

Maggie – she’s so cool. Doesn’t take crap from anyone. Bossy. Knows what she wants. She’s somehow really relatable even though she’s nothing like me. Yeah, she manipulates Quentin at the beginning, but the way everything snowballs is out of her control and so realistic.

Gus – his relationship with Maggie (PLATONIC, WOAH. NO LOVE TRIANGLE HERE) is awesome. They bicker all the time.

Quentin – I love his relationship with Maggie as well. She doesn’t change for him, thank goodness, and the scene where she’s been shot and he’s helping her is ADORABLE. The scenes with both of them were my favourites.

THE CONCEPT OF THIS BOOK IS FANTASTIC.

Okay, so we’ve got the M-Bands, right? And they tell you how close you match with someone. 100% matches are treated like celebrities, because it’s pretty rare. That’s really cool, and the science behind it was well-explained – all the pheromones and stuff (I say “stuff” because I don’t know what I’m talking about – but I can tell that Jessica Shirvington did!). I can actually see people being obsessed with this idea. Like, realistically, it wouldn’t work for everyone, but in Western society people are so obsessed with romantic love that I’m sure they’d do anything to find it.

Oh, and that plot twist at the end? I won’t go into any detail, because those who have read it know what I’m talking about. BUT IT WAS SO GREAT. Did not expect it at all.

image

And if you were wondering, it’s more sci-fi, not dystopian. There are so many dystopians out there, but this one was just a really interesting concept, and well-written. You know when there’s a FANTASTIC premise and the writing lets it down? Jessica Shirvington’s writing just strengthened the idea of M-bands.

And also, Australian author!! I’m aiming to read 4 books by Aussie authors in April. She’s my first and I was definitely not let down. Disruption is more than worthy of all its rave reviews, and it brings something really unique to the sci-fi genre.

Rating: 4/5 Wonderkitties

PUPPYPUPPYPUPPYPUPPY

12 thoughts on “Book Review: Disruption by Jessica Shirvington

  1. So, so glad you loved this Emily! I picked it up from my local KMart a couple of weeks ago, but I haven’t had the chance to read it yet – now I can’t wait! I might have to start it today…hmm.

  2. Go Aussie authors! Woot! Woot! I want to read this mainly because a) she’s Australian and b) so many people are loving this! I NEED TO BE IN ON IT. I’m glad it’s more sci-fi instead of dystopian, because I don’t want to read anymore dystopians (at least for a little while). Dang, I’m sooo burnt out of them at the moment, which sucks, because I love that genre. *ahem* I really like the sound of Maggie’s personality too!

    • Aussie Aussie Aussie! Oi oi oi! And yeah, it kind of feels like ALL the Aussie bloggers are reading this one, wouldn’t want you to miss out!! This is definitely more sci-fi. I don’t think there’s enough sci-fi – loooots of dystopian, though. Hopefully you get a chance to read it!

  3. Gosh, I need this book like I need water. You’re the third person to have given this book a praising, and I mean PRAISING review. So many of the dystopic books we have nowadays are shams and disappointments, and to see one so warmly and positively received makes me feel like there is hope in this genre after all. Great review, love! ❤

    Faye at The Social Potato Reviews

  4. I bought a copy – yes… I was lured in by the Jessica Shirvington-ness of it all and the gorgeous golden cover! – but it’s GREAT! I’ve only read the first 100 pages but have high hopes for the end.
    Also – best of luck reading 4 aussies authors in April! 😀 That’s only one a week. You can do it!

  5. I need to check this one out! Both you and Mel enjoyed it immensely. I’ve never read a book by Jessica but I’m willing to give her a shot hehe c: Wait, no love triangle!? A platonic relationship!? Now that’s some craziness [; Oooo, the concept here does sound quite interesting. It’s giving me a lot of different thoughts, I can definitely see it as a movie. And the fact it’s backed up by actual science?? Fantastic. I’m also glad that this one is more sci-fi than dystopian. Dystopians just seem to always fall flat for me /:

    Lovely review! (: I can’t wait to read this one and see the awesome plot twist you mentioned.

    • It has to be good if Mel liked it 🙂 I hadn’t read anything by her either until this, but I’m glad I did! Platonic love, I know right??? Weird! OH YEAH, this could definitely be a movie, I found myself visualising scenes and everything. Oooooh, can’t wait to hear your thoughts on the plot twist if you end up reading it.

  6. Pingback: What Happened This Week: end of exams and start of holidays | The Loony Teen Writer

  7. Pingback: Corruption by Jessica Shirvington – duologies rock | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

