Book Review: Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer by Katie Alender

Title: marie antoinette, serial killerMarie Antoinette, Serial Killer

Author: Katie Alender

Genre: YA paranormal

Length: 296 pages

Published by: Scholastic

Source: borrowed from local library

Blurb: 

Colette Iselin is excited to go to Paris on a class trip. She’ll get to soak up the beauty and culture, and maybe even learn something about her family’s French roots.

But a series of gruesome murders are taking place across the city, putting everyone on edge. And as she tours museums and palaces, Colette keeps seeing a strange vision: a pale woman in a ball gown and powdered wig, who looks suspiciously like Marie Antoinette.

Colette knows her popular, status-obsessed friends won’t believe her, so she seeks out the help of a charming French boy. Together, they uncover a shocking secret involving a dark, hidden history. When Colette realizes she herself may hold the key to the mystery, her own life is suddenly in danger . . .

Acclaimed author Katie Alender brings heart-stopping suspense to this story of revenge, betrayal, intrigue — and one killer queen

I was a bit unsure, going into this one. I’d heard both good and bad things about it, but it sounded cool and I don’t trust other people, so I wanted to try it myself. But still. I was prepared to not like it. WE MUST POKE IT TO SEE IF IT IS GOOD.

image

And you know what? I REALLY liked it.

If you liked The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson, you will probably like this. It’s got ghosts. It’s got foreign travel. It’s got food (as we’ve established). It’s got…okay, really bitchy friends. These bitchy friends are my main quibble with the book. I just wanted to SHAKE Hannah, because oh my goodness, she is awful. Our main character gets like that as well sometimes. And I wish they’d been more three-dimensional, you know? Nobody is that shallow without at least having a back-story. I would have liked to see that.

But the other friends Collette makes are lovely. I just wish she could have seen that sooner and stopped being an awful person.

The plot, though a bit over-the-top, is enjoyable. Interspersed with gorgeous descriptions of Paris, Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer is a fun, short read, and I think the length is good. Collette was a great main character – she had claustrophobia, and not many books feature characters with phobias, so that was nice.

All I’m saying is not to expect something hugely suspenseful and creepy, because this book is pretty light. There are some big issues explored here, but also a lot of cute fluffy stuff. And I loved that!

My other complaint (although I like the word quibble better, just saying…it’s a cool word) was with the ending. Maybe it’s just my inferior intellect, but it wasn’t explained that well. Marie Antoinette has weird motives, yo.

Also: the food. I could live for a week based on the food descriptions in this book. I want to go to France just to eat the food, I’m not even joking. The only reason I didn’t drool all over this book is because it’s from the library.

It was great. Really liked it. Decapitation and deliciousness. And ball gowns. And Paris. You should read this book.

Rating: 4/5 Wonderkitties

PUPPYPUPPYPUPPYPUPPY

23 thoughts on “Book Review: Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer by Katie Alender

  1. I saw cait’s review and I instantly fell in love. Since you liked it too, I will certainly pick this one up (although who knows when I will have time to get to it)! Great review, Emily. Your GIF skills are epic too! 🙂

  2. I’ve seen this book around but knew nothing at all about it except for the title. It sounds…. kind of crazy!
    But if the food descriptions are really that good I think it’s probably not one to read on an empty stomach! 😛 Great review Emily!

  3. I love how you’re really thoughtful with the drooling. I’m not even joking, either, buuuut I WANT TO GO TO PARIS FOR THE FOOD SO BAD. It’s my life’s dream. Honestly. Paris. If anyone tells me it’s not even that cool of a city, I ignore them. SO. This book was an awesomely pleasant surprise, right/?!! 😉 I’m probably with you on the ending but. Something about it made me only give it a 4 too. You can shake Hannah, but I think I’ll slap her. Gah. Collette needing a bit of shaking sometimes too. I died a little when she didn’t see how awesome Aubrey was.

    • HAHA, yes, I am definitely a thoughtful drooler. Paris, though – BREAD. Like. Bread is pretty much my favourite food. It was so surprising that I really liked this! Except for, yeah, the ending and the bitchiness. Goodness, Collette, wake up.

  4. I’ve seen some really positive reviews on this one and have had it on my TBR for a while so I think I’ll go grab this if I see it at the library next time I go.

    Lovely review, girl! <33

  5. I’m a bit on the fence regarding this one, but I really enjoyed reading your review. Don’t we all just love to be in Paris? Well, I was there during Holy Week in 2011 and didn’t enjoy it, but that’s because it was super crowded x_x any other time would be okay, plus with gowns? Hell yes.

    Faye at The Social Potato Reviews

  6. Yay! I think I’ll give this one a shot, I also enjoyed The Name of the Star so I believe I’d find enjoyment in this one (: Though it does suck that the classic mean girl trope was used, it’s so annoying when characters are just mean for the sake of being so. It’s just so unrealistic and makes it seem like no thought was given to these characters.

    I’ve always wanted to go to France, as I do speak some French! c: And the food. I’m glad the descriptions are so wonderful- of France and the food lol.

    This seems like like the perfect book when I’m in need of a fluffy but not totally read c; hehe. Wonderful review! (:

    • I really liked The Name of the Star as well! I didn’t like the second one as much, though. Oh man, the mean girl trope. She just could have been developed further, you know? I don’t speak any French; I’m already super jealous. I know bonjour and that’s about it.

  7. Pingback: What Happened This Week: end of exams and start of holidays | The Loony Teen Writer

  8. I too have heard a lot of mixed feelings of this book! I got it from the library, but it had to be returned before I got to it. *sigh* I will have to try it again! 🙂

  9. I have been trying to decide if I want to read this one or not, your book has finally convinced me. I definitely feel like this is one I want to try for myself, it sounds great. Thanks for the honest review 🙂

Leave a Reply

