Book Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer

cress

Title: Cress (Lunar Chronicles #3)

Author: Marissa Meyer

Genre: YA sci-fi/retelling

Length: 550 pages

Published by: Macmillan

Source: my school library (kisses it)

Blurb: 

In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army. 

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice. 

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

Okay, Lunartics, you’ve got me. You used your glamour voodoo, didn’t you? You glamoured me into ABSOLUTELY LOVING THIS SERIES.

We get to meet Cress in this book (obviously). She basically screams

image

She’s so shy and awkward and funny and I love her. I ship her and Thorne so hard because she’s basically a fangirl for him and I love it. You know what else is great about her? Her name means lettuce. She’s a lettuce.

cress lettuce

 

I looked into this a bit and it’s because Rapunzel is a type of radish or something, so it fits that Cress would be a lettuce. Obviously. Anyway, I loved how Marissa Meyer incorporated the story of Rapunzel. It was so cleverly done! I have said it twice before but I will say it again: the way Marissa Meyer does retellings is incredible, merging the original story with a fantastic world of her own creation. I will read anything she writes.

Kai becomes more likeable in this book. He saw some sense, finally. I liked that.

Thorne becomes more awesome. Because he’s Thorne.

Cinder was as kick-butt as usual. I love Cinder. I think she’s my favourite.

Iko was as sassy as ever. Best robot ever.

Scarlet…poor Scarlet. I almost cringed reading the things that happened to her. But my lips are sealed. I would have liked to see more of her, actually – there wasn’t much.

CRESS IS ADORABLE, OKAY. She just is.

Wolf is a maniac again. But we love him anyway.

We get a glimpse of Winter. She’s creepy. And great.

And the different POVs worked so well! I was a bit worried because there were so many, but I shouldn’t have doubted Marissa Meyer. It’s a great mix of action, hilariousness and fantastic characters.

The only bits I didn’t like as much were the political discussions with Kai and the others. They dragged on a bit. And Thorne and Cress were in the desert for a LONG TIME. But those are small quibbles.

Overall, a really fantastic read.

But now I have to wait aaaaaages for Winter.

 

Rating: 5/5 Wonderkitties

PUPPYPUPPYPUPPYPUPPYPUPPY

 

 

14 thoughts on “Book Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer

  1. I FREAKING LOVE THIS SERIES. (You totally didn’t know that though, right?! XD) I can’t believe how funny Iko is…I mean, is it legal to write so well?! IS IT?! When Iko’s like “This is better than a net drama!” in like the high emotional scenes…gah, I died laughing. It all plays out like a movie in my head, I just…boyyaaaah! Also: I did think they spent too long in the desert. Not that I’m particularly complaining, it was just…not the most realistic survival experience ever, I didn’t think. And Thorne did steal a lot of Flynn Rider lines like, you know, “is that all hair?” and He DID say something about his nose at one point. But anyway! I still absolutely love this series!! XD

    • So do I! You’ve convinced me!!! Well, Marissa Meyer helped just a liiiiiittle bit. Iko is amazing. Her and Thorne ❤ the desert bit was kind of like the camping trip in Harry Potter – I liked it but it was just a bit too long, you know? There are definitely parallels with Thorne and Flynn now you mention it, but hey, I forgive Marissa Meyer. Can't wait until Winter 🙂

  2. Squee! This series morphs me into a squealing fan girl. So glad you loved Cress, Emily! How great is Captain Thorne in this book? 😀 The political bits weren’t too exciting but I think they had to be there just so the plot would move along. I can’t wait till Winter either… but I suppose we have no choice!

  3. I’ve been meaning to read this series. I’ve heard so many good things about it. Maybe I’ll finally add it to my to-read list. 🙂

  4. I still need to read this series :[ I keep meaning to but I just got so many other ebooks to read. I need to make time for this series, because it seems fantastic.Fangirl like relationships are awesome. I may or may not wish for one with certain people, which may be why I enjoy them so much when they work out. I mean what??! [; Lol I never knew Cress’ name literally made lettuce! That’s too funny. I actually haven’t read an enjoyable Rapunzel retelling before, so I’m glad this one worked for you c: And Melissa does multiple POVs well!? Omg that’s a rarity in YA, definitely got this series on the top of my list.

    Fabulous review girl! (:

    • The endless TBR, right? But the hype made me want to read these books SO much (plus Cait was fangirling about them so I had to see what all the fuss was about). I love retellings in general, and one of this much awesomeness, with well-written multiple POV and hilarity and great characters…it’s just a really great series.

    • Finally! All thanks to my school library (I borrowed all three from there). I thought that about Scarlet as well. But considering Cinder and Cress are my favourites out of the three, I didn’t mind too much. Plus it would have got pretty confusing if they’d all had the same amount of story time!

  5. Pingback: What Happened This Week: Stacking the Shelves, Divergent movie and querying | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

