Top Ten Tuesday: Gateway Books

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Each week they will post a new Top Ten list. It’s a great way to find and connect with other awesome bloggers.

Two weeks ago, I was rebellious and switched Top Ten Tuesdays. So this week, I’m doing the one I missed. That is: top ten gateway books/authors in my reading journey. And I can think of quiiiite a few. Here goes.

ImageImageImage

1) Harry Potter

Because apparently I can’t have a single Top Ten Tuesday without it.

2) Looking for Alaska

This was my first foray into contemporary YA.

3) My Sister’s Keeper

One of the first adult books I read. It was contemporary, just not YA, and it kind of led me to John Green.

ImageImageImage

4) The Princess Diaries

One of the first YA books I read.

5) Trixie Belden

One of the first MG books I read (much better than Nancy Drew, btw)

6) Little Women

The first classic I read.

ImageImageImage

7) The Northern Lights

Probably my first experience of a genre mash-up.

8) The City of Ember

My first dystopian (probably…I think…)

9) Artemis Fowl

The first MG book I read as a YA

Those are my nine gateway books in my reading journey! What are yours?

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Gateway Books

    • The rest of my comment died. Well, here’s the continuation, then, haha! Harry Potter wasn’t a gateway to reading for me, but the movies really wanted to make me read the books (and I read the first three, so that’s an accomplishment!) Looking for Alaska’s my gateway to John Green. xD I have to check out these other books, especially My Sister’s Keeper and Artemis Fowl.

      • Ahh, silly comments system. Anyway, I watched the first few Harry Potter movies before the books as well. I suppose you could say my mum’s the gateway to reading, since she was the one who told me to read the books 🙂 I love both My Sister’s Keeper (Jodi Picoult’s writing is incredible) and Artemis Fowl. BOOKS! 😀

  1. Oh gosh, you made me severely doubt myself when I opened this post…I’m like, “Oh heck, I’ve mixed up the prompts very badly”….cheeky. x)

    Yesss to all things John Green. I think John Green actually showed me that I could enjoy a contemporary without secretly wishing zombies were going to creep out of the cupboard or something. (I do love my fantasy.) I really, really want to read Philip Pullman’s books (actually scored the Golden Compass second hand for $1, wooohoo go me). xD And yes to Trixie Belden. I only read about 10, but I never was interested in Nancy Drew. x)

    • Hahhaa, you shouldn’t. I’m the LOONY Teen Writer, remember? Who knows what I’m going to do next.

      I liked fantasy before I read John Green. Well, speculative fiction. Eragon, Harry Potter, His Dark Materials, The Last Dragon Chronicles, Ingo…all the awesome MG books in my life. Thank goodness I discovered YA contemporary! Nice for getting that $1 bargain, that’s great 🙂

      Trixie Belden is great. My mum recommended them. She’s my gateway into reading – she has a bookshelf full of old MG and YA books that I absolutely love.

  2. Harry Potter! ❤ And I loved Artemis Fowl as a kid, too. Such a great storyline with lovable characters. I've never read Little Women before. Was it good? I'm personally not into classics a whole lot to be honest though I would like to give them a proper go. I love the list. ^_^

  3. Pingback: What Happened This Week: Stacking the Shelves, Divergent movie and querying | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

