Maybe One Day: friendship and dancing

Title: ImageMaybe One Day

Author: Melissa Kantor

Genre: YA contemporary

Length: 384 pages

Published by: HarperTeen

Source: received in exchange for review (thanks, Harper!)

Blurb:

Zoe and her best friend, Olivia, have always had big plans for the future, none of which included Olivia getting sick. Still, Zoe is determined to put on a brave face and be positive for her friend.

Even when she isn’t sure what to say.

Even when Olivia misses months of school.

Even when Zoe starts falling for Calvin, Olivia’s crush.

The one thing that keeps Zoe moving forward is knowing that Olivia will beat this, and everything will go back to the way it was before. It has to. Because the alternative is too terrifying for her to even imagine.

In this incandescent page-turner, which follows in the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, Melissa Kantor artfully explores the idea that the worst thing to happen to you might not be something that is actually happening to you. Raw, irreverent, and honest, Zoe’s unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

Call me morbid but I was excited to read this book. Excited for the friendship and the dance aspect, and to bawl my eyes out. Well, the friendship part was correct at least.

I think there could have been more focus on the dancing aspect though. I was really excited about it, because I used to be a dancer – even went interstate for a dancing competition and stuff like that. One of the girls fell in the water at Seaworld. Fun times. But yeah, no, there wasn’t much of the dance stuff in this book.

What it DID create was a deeper sense of friendship between the two main characters. Their shared memories of dance really helped me connect with them as characters.

I also didn’t bawl my eyes out. Don’t get me wrong, it’s really sad, but I don’t cry in…like, in any books. Pretty much. Except TFIOS because duuuuuude.

Anyway. Off topic.

The friendship was the strongest part of this book. It was believable, and real, and they’d gone through so much together that it was heart-breaking to see the tragedy. I really felt for Zoe – she’s depicted as the Not Nice One, whereas Olivia has always been the kind, sweet girl. I related more with Zoe, to be honest.

The romance was nice enough, even if it kind of came out of nowhere. The best thing was that he didn’t take advantage of Zoe when she was drunk. That is a MASSIVE brownie point from me, both to the guy and to Melissa Kantor. Hells yes for sober consent.

I know I’m really going back and forth in this review, but another pet peeve of mine is when cheerleaders are made out as shallow. Which is this case in this book. Grr! It annoys me so much. There wasn’t much development of the cheerleaders.

But overall, this is a sweet story of friendship, and a sad story of cancer. The descriptions of the treatment are really well done – not too much, not too little. I would definitely read it again.

Rating: 3.5/5 Wonderkitties

PUPPYPUPPYPUPPYPUPPY

 

 

8 thoughts on “Maybe One Day: friendship and dancing

  1. I’m with you on the cheerleaders-being-shallow. It’s a freakishly vicious stereotype. *sigh* I probably won’t ever get to this one, because it doesn’t seem to POP awesomeness in anyone’s reviews. But friendship is SO good in books. I don’t think there’s enough books of really good-solid YA friendships…although, that saying, I don’t know if this one lasts or anything. 😉 Hehe…ANYWAY. I like books that you can kind of learn from? You know, if they are about dancing, I want to SEE the dancing. I, for one, only dance to the Wiggles when forced by a three year old and otherwise sit stoically in a chair. So I think learning more about the dancing would have rocked…anyhow. x)

    • What is with that stereotype? It’s annoying! If cheerleading was more popular in Australia I would totally do it. The friendship thing was a big tick – in a way I kind of wish that there hadn’t been the romance, but that kind of seems like a requirement in YA now. Sadly. Dancing to the Wiggles sounds like fun. I much prefer singing the songs 🙂

    • Definitely the best aspect. I had a sneak peek at the upcoming Top Ten Tuesdays, and one of them was “top ten books with friendship.” This will definitely make the cut.

      I still dance at school – it’s pretty much the only exercise I enjoy, lol. It’s such a lot of fun.

  2. I loved the friendship and did not give a crap about the romance at all, lol! xD I really, really hate the cheerleader stereotype as well! It makes me want to lash out on everyone, since I have two cousins who are cheerleaders and are both super friendly! </3 Believe me, I also like to read books that'll make me cry rivers. XD Not this one, though. I think I only cried in the last 5%?

    • Well, exactly. The friendship was fantastic and in a way that made up for the romance? Sort of? Grrr, the cheerleader thing always seems like a cheap character trick to me. Like, I’m-going-to-avoid-developing-their-characters type of thing. Or that’s what it seems like to me. This one didn’t make me cry at all, but I’m hardly a softie, so that’s probably why 😛

Leave a Reply

