Top Ten Tuesday: books if you liked Merlin

Merlin is one of my favourite shows of all time. Very sad that it’s finished 😦 but here are some books you might like it you enjoyed Merlin.

ImageImageImage

1) The Magician’s Daughter by Justyn Walker

Why? It’s another underrated book. It’s MG, and based on the Arthurian legend (VERY loosely). It’s got adventure and it’s really sweet and I loved it in primary school.

2) Eragon by Christopher Paolini

Why? It’s set in the same time period as Merlin (ish), and it has dragons!

3) The Princess Bride by William Goldman

Why?Β One of my favourite things in Merlin is the banter between Arthur and Merlin.Β The Princess Bride is also tremendously funny.

ImageImageImage

4) Shalott by Felicity Pulman

Why?Β I can’t remember much about this book (I read it a few years back) but if you loved the setting of Merlin, you might enjoy this. It’s about some teens who go back in time to King Arthur’s Court after playing with some sort of computer game.

5) Me and Earl and the Dying Girl

Why?Β What, you say? This is contemporary! But if you loved the relationship between Arthur and Merlin (that is, freaking hilarious like I said before) you might like this.

6) Fairest by Gail Carson Levine

Why?Β I love Gail Carson Levine. If you liked the whole magic and medieval thing of Merlin, you’ll probably enjoy this. And the rest of Gail Carson Levine’s books, come to think of it.

ImageImage

7) A Game of Thrones by George R R Martin

Why?Β I haven’t actually read these. But from what I gather they’re medieval. I think? Correct me if I’m wrong. If you liked that about Merlin I suppose you could like this.

8) The Fellowship of the Ring by J R R Tolkien

Why?Β Okay, first of all, why have both these authors got two “R”s in their pen name? That’s just weird. Anyway, if you loved the adventure and magic and setting in Merlin, definitely read these. I mean, you should read them anyway.

9) The Holy Grail (Monty Python

Why?Β This is cheating because it’s a movie. BUT GUYS, YOU HAVE TO WATCH IT IF YOU HAVEN’T ALREADY. It is so funny, like Merlin, and it’s got some of the Arthurian legend and it’s just brilliant, okay?

Thus concludes my book recs. Wow, that was difficult. I don’t read that much fantasy and I had to go right back to books I read ages ago. I hope some of these are helpful, O Merlin Lovers. Or even if you don’t watch Merlin, some of these might appeal to you. They are all Loony Approved πŸ™‚

I’ll leave you with a parting GIF of Arthur and Merlin ACTUALLY HUGGING. My feels…

 

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: books if you liked Merlin

  1. Aw, there there….didn’t everyone die in Merlin? I want to watch it sometime buuuut I have a FEELING everyone will die (medieval hunch) and that’s sad. *brushes tear away* But YES to Monty Python though I felt like that was the WEIRDEST movie I have ever seen in all my born days. 0.0 I really want to read Me and Earl and the Dying Girl…OH and I like it how you picked out books for the time period AND the character relationships. Aaawesome. πŸ™‚

    • Not EVERYONE dies. Not even most people. I think you’ll be surprised if you watch it – it’s much more funny than I expected πŸ™‚ plus, dragon. Dude, The Holy Grail was just…how was that even a movie? How did they come up with it? Me and Earl and the Dying Girl is really good. Not so much about the Dying Girl as Me and Earl, which I liked better anyway. I had to sneak at least ONE contemporary in there πŸ˜›

  2. I still haven’t watched the last season of Merlin since I’ve been telling myself that it isn’t truly over until I’ve seen all the episodes. I absolutely love the dynamic between Arthur and Merlin, though, so I’ll definitely have to check out Me and Earl and the Dying Girl. Great list! πŸ™‚

    • People seem to love or hate Eragon. I’m firmly on the “love” side (even with that appalling movie). It’s slow to start, but worth it in the end. Princess Bride is fantastic, especially if you loved the movie. It’s one, I think, where both book and movie are on the same level of awesomeness.

  3. Oh, how I miss Merlin! 😦

    I used to love sitting down on a Sunday night and watching that show, though I did think the ending was good.

    Yes, you’re right about A Game of Thrones being medieval — I’ve just finished the second in the series (it was 911 pages … *faints* Though so far I am really loving the series.)

    Great list. πŸ™‚

    • I miss Merlin as well! In one of the winter school holidays a couple years ago, I had a massive week-long marathon with my sister. It was fantastic.

      A Game of Thrones sounds like something I would probably enjoy – if I can get over how massive they are, lol.

  4. I love The Princess Bride! And Fairest! Me and Earl and the Dying Girl just made no sense to me, but that’s my opinion. I really want to read Eragon but now that school’s almost out I can’t check it out from the library. Rats.

Leave a Reply

