Loony’s Musings: Watching the TFIOS Movie (!!!!)

Thanks to Bookworld Australia, I got the chance to attend an advance screening of The Fault in Our Stars. I even got to bring two other minions – my mum and my sister.

Okay. Okay. Just…let me get my thoughts in order. This is more difficult than it sounds, because right now my feels are exploding everywhere and writing a coherent sentence is quite a task.

So yeah. I loved the TFIOS movie. And below you’ll find my extremely biased review of why it’s awesome (no spoilers, promise). As well as lots of GIFs.

First, though (before I get to the GIFs), a video. Okay, so let me paint you a word picture: the cinema lights went down, and at once everyone was quiet. Then John Green’s face came up on the screen – you will not even believe the fangirling. There was screaming and squealing and laughing. I came with my sister and my mum, who had no idea why everyone was freaking out so much.

So anyway, below is the video that we watched before the movie started.

image

So. Much. Fangirling. That’s what I took from this movie. Again to use the example of my sister and my mum, bless their souls, they were completely unprepared. We (the fangirls) laughed at everything – things that probably wouldn’t seem funny unless the book was important to you. We awwwed. We ooohed. We cried.

image

That’s basically my summary of how passionate everyone was. I’ve never even been to a midnight premiere let alone a PRE-screening, so that part was definitely a highlight.

Also at the screening were Joy from Thoughts by J and Jaz from Fiction in Fiction in Fiction. Unfortunately I didn’t get a chance to meet up with them, but we were in the same room! Which is pretty cool.

Onto the movie. Obviously I’m not going to spoil anything, but a few things:

1) It was not nearly as cringe-y as the trailer made it out to be. You might not even have thought that the trailer was cringe-y – even better! But I did. Some of Augustus’ lines in the trailer were just so unrealistic. But I swear he does not come across like that in the movie.

image

2) It was very faithful to the book. Not faithful in the sense that it followed the book from start to finish – that’s unrealistic and wouldn’t translate well on-screen. But it did keep the integrity of the book, and the tone, and the wittiness, and the themes that I was really worried would be coated in sentimentality and cheap ploys to make the audience cry.

image

3) Ansel and Shailene are fantastic actors. As soon as Ansel appeared (lots of squealing at that), their chemistry was evident. I almost forgot they’d been brother and sister in another movie. I was a bit doubtful about Ansel but he did really, really well.

image

4) Supporting characters really made the movie. Here I’m talking about Patrick (hilarious), Mr and Mrs Lancaster (so supportive), Isaac (hilarious), Van Houten (lots of depth) and Lidewij.

5) The music. Not to go into details but…I got chills, guys.

These gifs probably aren’t even making sense now.

But hopefully you can surmise that I loved it. I am so, so grateful that I got a chance to see this movie in a roomful of TFIOS fans, and it’s an experience I hope I can have again someday.

This was my entry to the competition, if you were wondering:

tfios bookworld entry

 

So are you going to go see the movie? Not going to? I’d love to know your thoughts!

26 thoughts on “Loony’s Musings: Watching the TFIOS Movie (!!!!)

  1. I AM SO JEALOUS RIGHT NOW I CAN’T EVEN. OMG. YOU ARE SO LUCKY. YEEEEEEEESSSSSSSS!! The gifs are like A+++++ perfection and I’m soooooo excited for this movie. I didn’t end up going to the cinemas to see Divergent, which is like sob worthy, BUT I am so going the second our tiny teeny town gets TFIOS. I will be there. Fangirling probably. But bah, judging from the Avengers movies and The Hobbit and The Hunger Games? I don’t think there are ANY nerds in our town. -_- Oh well, Mime and I make up for it.
    Also that clip of John Green saying hello to Australia was HILARIOUS. How is that dude so funny?!!

    • I KNOW I AM SO GRATEFUL. I hope I don’t get your hopes up too high…oh goodness, that would be bad. Sucks that you couldn’t see Divergent, but there’s always DVD? And with the amount of YA movies coming out this year there’ll be others to see. You should move towns if yours isn’t nerdy – not even worth staying there 😛 oh man, that clip of John Green…we laughed at every. Single. Thing. Because, you know, nerdfighters have inside jokes and all that – my mum was so confused 😛

  2. Ohhh I wish I wasn’t the only one who hadn’t read the book!! I started to, and then… well, the trailer is cringe-y to me and my family, as we have standards and our plumb line is our plumb line, you know? (You probably don’t. Since my plumb line is high, and I have pretty high standards for the level of maturity and appropriateness I read in a book.) I was anxious to hear what you had to say about it, and I’m trying to get some TFIOS readers who read the book and will give me an honest view of what they thought about it “appropriateness” wise (:P) Because even if I don’t read it until after it’s popular, I want to know that it’s okay with my morals and values and it will be worth the read. (I’m sure it will be, one day… when I can read it.) I was glad to hear it wasn’t exactly as the trailer portrayed it, though. :-/ I’m jealous either way. And still feeling sad I’m the only one in my social group who hasn’t read it, lol.

    • Hey, it’s not for everyone. A lot of my friends liked it, but there were some who didn’t – they just tune out when we’re talking about TFIOS (I mean, I talk about it waaaay too much. I’m told to be quiet very often). I’m not sure about appropriateness because I don’t know you that well, or what your morals/values are. I mean it’s got swearing and stuff like that. But hopefully you’ll like it if you ever choose to read it!

  3. Wow, Cait totally mirrored my reaction xD
    BUT DUDE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THAT’S SO AMAZING! I can’t even imagine being in a room full of people like that. I’ve never been to a midnight premiere either. But I’m sure this would blow any midnight premiere out of the water. AHHH. That video made me laugh xD And thank you so much for not spoiling anything! I don’t know how you did it, but you described your love without giving anything away. Which is actually a really good way to review and I definitely want to see it a thousand times more than before. Too bad I have to wait a stinkin’ MONTH! D,:
    But I’m totally happy that you got to have that amazing experience ^.^ And I love your entry. Dramatic, cute, and clearly shows how much you love the book (:

    • Hahaha pretty much! She knows just what to say 😛

      It was INCREDIBLE. Being with so many people that you don’t even know, but who share this huge passion for a book…it really was amazing laughing and crying with them. I’m glad none of it was spoiled for you 🙂 that was my aim! And seriously, I don’t think I can overestimate how good it was! One month. June 5. You can do it. I’m going to go see it again when it comes out for realsies 🙂

      And I’m glad you like my entry 😀

  4. AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH I AM IN LOVE WITH THIS POST! I tried to write one up too (and I did), but it just didn’t work and I love the GIF’s and this post is just perfect, perfect, perfect.

    • Also, I totally agree with all the fangirling – I brought my mum (who was totally unprepared) and my best friend who has read the book and loves it, but she’s just not a fangirl as much as I try to turn her into one…they thought we were all crazy!

      • I’m glad you liked it 🙂

        Oh god, there’s LIKING the books, and then there’s FANGIRLING about the books. I haven’t had much chance to fangirl about things but this was definitely one of those times 🙂

  5. This sounds awesome, Emily! TFiOS didn’t have a huge impact on me, but I have a feeling the movie will. I didn’t really love the trailer, so YAY the movie’s better! And I don’t think of Shailene and Ansel as siblings since I couldn’t even remember Ansel’s face as Caleb. 😡 But I really love it when movies are faithful to the books. GO CHILLS.

  6. Its awesome that you had the chance to watch the pre-screening! I can understand the fangirling hahaha, even my mom wants to read the book and to watch the movie now. I’m glad that the movie would be “faithful” as you say it, to the book. I would be sad if the movie didn’t portray the beauty of this book. I am more more more excited to watch this now! 😀

    • My mum hadn’t actually read the book when she watched the movie, but I’m trying to get her on to it! I was worried about the movie, that’s for sure – there are SO many ways they could have got it wrong. But they didn’t, and I’m so so glad 🙂

  7. You have me so excited for this movie now omg. The trailer was so cringe worthy, I was so worried the book wouldn’t translate well into film. Lol the metaphor cigarette line joke on tumblr (I don’t know if you’ve see it going around) KILLS ME. It just sounds so pretentious. So I’m glad the lines work in the movie. I’m glad that you think it did and I hope the same will happen to me. T

    he film comes out on June 6th here in Canada so I have a lot of time to prepare myself for the crazy emotions I’ll undoubtedly feel. I always cry during movies, I know I’ll be a right mess in this one.

    • Ahh, I hope I haven’t got your expectations too high D: but yeah, the movie is so different to what the trailer depicts it as. Gus is much more goofy than pretentious 🙂 OH GOD, I’ve seen those jokes on Tumblr, they are hilarious!! And John Green thinks so too, which I think is lovely.

      June 6! Wow, later than Australia for a change. I mean, we had to get something earlier than the US EVENTUALLY. I cried and I don’t normally cry in movies, so…yup. You’ll probably be a mess. Bring tissues, lol 😛

  8. Love your entry and am not surprised in the slightest that you won! I’m glad that the film was close to the book. I was impressed by the trailer that so much of the dialogue appeared to have come straight from the book. You’ve just made me that much more excited about seeing it when t’s released! 😀

  9. Pingback: What happened this week: stacking the shelves, TFIOS movie and school spirit week | The Loony Teen Writer

  10. Hi Emily, I found your blog today via Cassandra Page’s blog and I must say, I’ve really enjoyed reading through your work. I’m so excited to see TFiOS movie. A friend of mine went to the Bookworld screening also and said, “It was beautiful and devastating and you absolutely 100% have to see it.” It’s rare to hear people who love a book rave about the movie. I’m trying to keep my expectations in check but it’s so hard to do!

    • Good old Cass 🙂 it’s definitely my favourite movie adaptation of like…all time. Besides Harry Potter (which is assumed). It’s so hard to be excited about the movie without raising people’s expectations too much, though! Hopefully you enjoy it 😀

  11. Pingback: Teens Can Write Too Blog Chain: book-to-movie adaptations | The Loony Teen Writer

  12. Pingback: Why You Should Watch Mockingjay (like right now) | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

