What happened this week: stacking the shelves, TFIOS movie and school spirit week

Random updates for this week:

– I finally put the widget for my Facebook page on the sidebar. It’s on the right >>> you can go like it if you want. I mean, I’m not forcing you or anything. (but I DO post pretty pictures of my books. And possibly my cats).

– It was School spirit week at my school this week. There are themes every day – Monday was horror, Tuesday was dynamic duos, Wednesday and Thursday were the athletics carnival days, and Friday was thrift shop. I didn’t dress up for any, because I’m slack. Well, except for the athletics carnival – I just have to wear blue for my house. Also I lost my shoe in both the 200m race and the triple jump event. Because shoes don’t want to stay on my feet, apparently.

– I went to see THE FREAKING TFIOS MOVIE, YO. Which I blogged about. And fangirled about. And I can’t wait til you guys can see it so I can fangirl with all of you.

– I’m Stacking the Shelves finally – I haven’t done one of these for like THREE WEEKS. I even edited the photos using PicMonkey, because I’m just that dedicated (plus my camera’s a piece of crap). Here goes.

STSmall

Stacking the Shelves is a book meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. It’s all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual.

WON

Image

Because I found one of the elusive red Interns, I got a prize pack from HarperCollins! WOO! This included:

1) Venom by Fiona Paul

2) Between the Lives by Jessica Shirvington

3) How to Convince a Boy to Kiss you by Tara Eglington

4) Divergent by Veronica Roth

5) All the Truth That’s In Me by Julie Berry

6) Some awesome cosmetics

The reason those last three aren’t in this photo? Well, the books I gave to my sister, since I already own them. So now they’re locked away in her room somewhere. And my mum and sister scored the cosmetics, because who needs make-up/jewellery when you can wear books? (I’m kidding. Please don’t wear books)

But yeah, this happened because of the AWESOME book The Intern by Gabrielle Tozer. My review of it is here. THANKS SO MUCH, HARPERCOLLINS, I CAN’T WAIT TO READ THESE.

BORROWED

Image

I borrowed “The Utsiders” apparently. Obviously this is The Outsiders by S E Hinton, a book I’ve been wanting to read for a while. The stamps on the back are from like 1990, which is so long – and it’s still in pretty good condition.

FOR REVIEW

Image

SUCH a cool cover. And it’s steampunk! Can’t wait to read this. Thanks, Thames and Hudson!

BOUGHT

Image

Okay, so I didn’t buy all of these. I just wanted to show off the complete book stack (isn’t it PRETTY?). Out of these I bought:

1) It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini (because I love it so much I had to OWN it)

2) Butter by Erin Lange (after loving Dead Ends I can’t wait to read this)

3) The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente (when I read a review of this book on the blog Speculating on SpecFic, I knew I HAD to own it)

So yep, those are the beautiful books I’ve acquired recently. Later today I’ll probably borrow some more, but you can see those next time 🙂

Books read since last week

ImageImage

Finding Jennier Jones was an alright read, but (I think) unnecessary given that not much progressed from the first book.

The Last Shot was a fantastic read. THAT ENDING. I’ll be reviewing it soon.

Currently reading

Image

Reading next

Image

GIF of the week

image

Good old John Green.

Posts this week

Monday: I reviewed a book called Writing Clementine and then took it down once I realised, since it doesn’t come out until the end of June! I’ll be reposting it then 🙂

Tuesday: alllll the gorgeous book covers

Wednesday: fangirling over the TFIOS movie

Thursday: I reviewed the awesome Aussie apocalyptic bookThe Last Girl by Michael Adams

Friday: I reviewed a book that made me think, Looking for JJ by Anne Cassidy

Saturday: I told you why doing the washing is good for ideas (no, really!)

How have you been this week? It’s getting colder where I live. Very difficult to get up in the mornings. Oh, and if you’ve done a Stacking the Shelves this week, LINK ME UP! It’s like my favourite meme of ever. 

29 thoughts on “What happened this week: stacking the shelves, TFIOS movie and school spirit week

  1. Cold? Ha! What cold…we’re back up to low 20s, which is kind of odd, but whatever. I just wish the weather would make up it’s mind if it’s going to be hot OR cold. None of this in-between twaddle. Yes, yes, end of weather-rant. 😉

    Suuuch a pretty stack. I’m totally looking forward to your review of Butter. I am DESPERATE for that book. But I’ll see what you think first. 😉 Dead Ends was awesome. Oh, and the covers kind of match so I’m kind of keen to buy it, buuut, yeah. Still deciding. 😉 I won The Girl Who etc. (gosh, that’s one heck of a title) but I haven’t read it yet. It’ll probably get pushed to the bottom of the TBR just because I’m dying under a mountain of ARCs at the moment. This is what happens when I take a few weeks off reading. >.>

    • Low 20s! Heatwave! It’s been single digits during the night here brrrr. (lol, people overseas are probably laughing at how hot that is)

      ISN’T IT PRETTY? I sometimes gaze at it for a few minutes/hours/years. I’m looking forward to READING that book 🙂 (promise I’ll review it as soon as possible, and then you’ll have to read it). The Girl who etc. (great title) looks SO good. But I know what you mean about Mt. TBR. Not that it stops me requesting books, apparently.

  2. Oooh, I can’t wait to read your review on The Last Shot! Really eager to see if you found it as boring as me lol. It is definitely getting colder, I like the brisk air though (luckily QLD isn’t as cold as down south). Wow you found one of the elusive The Interns, that must have been the best feeling ever! Great stack this week!

    • Probably not AS boring as you (I remember reading your review of it), but certainly not as good as the first :/ still, eagerly awaiting the third to see what happens! The brisk air is nice now that I’m used to it. How cool is it that I found a Red Intern?? They actually posted on Twitter that it was at my local bookshop and I pretty much ran straight there 😛

  3. Wooo, you’ve been busy and looks of beautiful books! The Peculiars is a beautiful cover I think, and I’m interested on your thoughts of It’s Kind of Funny Story, be good to see your opinion. Great week and well done fangirling over TFIOS! 😀

    • I quite like that photo too 🙂 it’s even better in real life. Spirit week is great – it also includes weird looks from non-school people, aka commoners. But we can live with that. I loved Dead Ends as well, so hopefully Butter won’t disappoint 🙂

  4. Brrrr, been getting up in the wee hours of the morning and it was 4 degrees in the Melbourne on Friday morning. That’s like peering icicles kind of weather. Good job on finding the exclusive Intern, I had no idea they were giving away prize pack’s. That makes for a super dooper awesome haul this week.

    • Four degrees is not enough degrees. There needs to be a one in front of it. Or, even better, a two. I completely forgot about the prize packs – HarperCollins tweeted a photo of the book at my local Dymocks and I just had to have it. They look very nice side-by-side on my bookshelf haha 🙂

  5. About nobody I know has read The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making- my sister and I got it for Christmas but she won’t read it because of the cover art. I, personally, love the cover art, so it’s mine now. I suggested it once in my reading class and got a bunch of strange looks-:)

  6. Wow! What a great haul! ❤ Definitely looking forward to seeing what you think of all these lovelies – especially of The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making and Butter as I’ve heard so many great things about them both! And wow! That prize pack from Harper? You lucky duck – haha! 😉 Thanks so much for sharing and happy reading! ❤

  7. Love your haul this week! I’m so happy you enjoyed The Last Shot 🙂 (P.S. I told you haha) Haven’t read Venom, but it looks really good. Can’t wait to see what you think of it! Happy Reading 🙂

  8. Yay for you Em! How exciting, can’t believe you found the elusive red Intern. I was looking for it everywhere but couldn’t find it. Such a wonderful stack you have this week, happy reading! xx

    • RIGHT, how cool is that? HarperCollins actually tweeted a photo of it at my local bookshop and I nearly fainted. Two days later I had my copy 🙂 I will indeed be reading happily, especially considering the book stack you’ll see tomorrow 😀

Leave a Reply

