Review: The Last Shot by Michael Adams

Title: the last showThe Last Shot

Author: Michael Adams

Genre: YA dystopian

Length: 407 pages

Published by: Allen and Unwin

Published in: March 2014

Source: I won it!

Blurb: 

After facing the heartbreaking truth in Shadow Valley, Danby is determined to have her revenge on Jack.

With Jack dead, her little brother Evan and hundreds of other Minions will be free of his control. With Jack dead, she and her friend Nathan will be able to revive thousands more from the millions of catatonic Goners.

But what if she’s wrong – about everything?

After Danby confronts Jack on a dying stretch of highway, all of her beliefs are turned inside out. Not only are his feelings for her real, he’s working against the clock to save lives and rebuild society. To Danby’s horror, it’s Nathan who appears to threaten the new order.

With her emotions raging and blood on her hands, Danby has to take a side in a deadly battle that’ll decide the future of the world. And as allies become enemies and foes turn into friends, she’ll have to embrace methods so dark that the price of survival may be her very soul …

PEW PEW PEW. This book is called The Last Shot, but there are many, many shots.

I’m going to be honest: I liked the first one better. It was really different – the world it introduced was unique and something I’d never read about before. In this one, the second book of the series, it got a bit…typical dystopian. There was a lot of hiding, running, darkness and people not turning out to be who they were.

Plus I was kind of confused by the blurb.

image

Which I know isn’t the fault of the author, or the story. But really! I’m not going to go into spoilers, but don’t make the blurb so specific if some of it turns out to be wrong later. That’s as much as I can say without spoiling it!

Despite those things, I was still really engaged in the story. I wanted Danby to succeed for the sake of her brother, and she’s a great lead character still. There’s a lot of character development spent on good ol’ Danby. She becomes a real leader. I can totally see how she would fall for Jack, and the flaw of being too trusting makes me sad. She has to give up her trust in other people and that to me is the real cause of the apocalypse – everyone turning on each other. I know some reviewers have said that Danby’s stupid for trusting Jack, but I see it as a flaw that she overcomes and is stronger for it.

Setting was awesome again. Some of it is set where I live! In the actual place I live! How cool is that??? I could picture everything so much better than usual.

Plus…dat ending. I’d say something more intellectual, but that’s all I’ve got. Really. Mind = blown. Read it just for the ending, I swear.

image

I would have liked more explanation in this book. There were a few things that seemed really far-fetched, and because they weren’t explained, my suspension of disbelief suffered a bit. Although I’m sure more will be explained in the final book.

The writing was, again, superb. Crisp I think is a good word. Sounds weird but it’s true! The language was economical and the details were chosen with a lot of care. There wasn’t a word that wasn’t important to the story. It’s not often that I notice the writing rather than the story, but Michael Adams has blown me away with the movie-like precision of his descriptions and incredible storytelling ability.

While this wasn’t as good (at least in my opinion) as the first book, I can’t wait until the final installment. Often in trilogies the middle book isn’t as good as the “bookends,” and I hope that’s the case for this one! Bring on The Last Place. 

Rating: 3.5/5 Wonderkitties

PUPPYPUPPYPUPPYPUPPY

3 thoughts on “Review: The Last Shot by Michael Adams

  1. I’ve been meaning to start this series for a very long time. I’ve heard nothing by praise for the first book, and I totally agree with you. Such an original premise! It’s always so good to see a character develop from one book to the next, especially when they learn from their past mistakes. Danby sounds like a wonderful character, I can’t wait to meet her one day. 🙂

    • That was the same with me! I got the first book at the beginning of this year, and only just managed to find time to read it. Books tend to slide down the TBR when they’re not for review, haha. Character development is AWESOME, and Danby has it in abundance. I hope you get a chance to read The Last Girl 🙂

  2. Pingback: What Happened This Week: Stacking the Shelves and Reading Wishlists | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

