What Happened This Week: Stacking the Shelves and Reading Wishlists

What’s happened recently, you ask?

1)ย I shared my reading wishlist for YA books. Link is at the end of this post. Anyway, based on that wishlist, I established that my perfect book would be:

A quirky retelling of multiple fairytales, where the main character is a mermaid with Asian heritage, who switches her tail for legs and discovers a land full of fairytale characters and stories. She would have a large family who cares about her, and who she cares about. There would be no love interest. Her hobbies would be knitting and collecting odd socks/shoes (because she has legs! Socks and shoes would be so interesting to her!). It would be funny, because I wanted a laugh-out-loud speculative fiction book. It would have a variety of weird settings, like an abandoned theme park, a painting, a snow globe, a jungle, underwater and in the clouds. Also, the book would have beautiful illustrations.

Would you read my perfect book? ๐Ÿ™‚

2)ย I attended a drama excursion, where my drama teacher actually performed in a play! It was so good. She played three or four different roles, and each had a different kind of American accent. Now THAT is talent!

3)ย I made a group on Goodreads called YA bloggers celebrating diverse books. You should totally join! In a couple of weeks, I’m devoting seven days to talking about diverse books. So look out for that!

4)ย I filmed my entry for the book bloggers tag (I was tagged by Jaz from Fiction in Fiction in Fiction, and Jeann from Happy Indulgence). I have to edit it and stuff, but hopefully that will be up soon!

And now it’s onto Stacking the Shelves (AKA my favourite book meme ever)

STSmall

Stacking the Shelves is a book meme hosted byย Tyngaโ€™s Reviews. Itโ€™s all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual.

FOR REVIEW

Image

Rebel by Amy Tintera – I actually lent my copy of the first book,ย Reboot. I haven’t read it yet, so I’ll have to track it down! This looks really great.

Every Word by Ellie Marney – I’ve actually already finished this one, and it is ah-may-zing. I’m part of the blog tour so you’ll hear about it shortly!

Thanks to Allen and Unwin for both of these โค

LIBRARY

Image

Stolen by Lucy Christopher – this looks really interesting

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas – judging by the explosion on Twitter when I asked if I should read this next (YES YES YES was unanimous) I am extremely excited for this book.

Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson – Peter Pan retelling!! Yes please! Someone else I know just wrote one of these… ๐Ÿ˜‰ Plus, it’s a beautiful cover.

Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson – I’ve heard a lot about this

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson – and this one too!

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater – I’ve never anything of hers. I figure it’s time to start!

BOUGHT

Image

This Star Won’t Go Out by Esther Earl – I’ve already read this, and reviewed it. You should read it right now.

Usually I do a Stacking the Shelves once every two weeks, but I’ve got so many awesome books lately! I’m expecting some books for review this week as well, so who knows? I might make this a weekly thing. Or maybe just a whenever-I-get-new-books thing.

BOOKS READ SINCE LAST WEEK

ImageImage17675031

(and, just saying, you guys HAVE to readย Every Wordย when it comes out. It’s like YA Sherlock. As in the TV show. But swoonier).

CURRENTLY READING

Image

I might actually have finished this by the time this post goes up. Anyway, it’s pretty good so far. A bit slow, but good.

READING NEXT

Image

VERY excited for this. I hope it doesn’t disappoint!

GIF OF THE WEEK

LOOK HOW CUTE IT IS!!!!

POSTS THIS WEEK

Monday:ย I reviewed the gorgeousย How To Keep a Boy From Kissing You by Tara Eglington

Tuesday:ย books I almost put down but didn’t, for better or worse

Wednesday:ย Teens Can Write Too blog chain – my reading wishlist!

Thursday:ย review ofย The Last Shot by Michael Adams (DAT ENDING!!)

Friday:ย review ofย This Star Won’t Go Out by Esther Earl…just read it, okay?

And that’s all for this week! What’s happening with you?ย 

30 thoughts on “What Happened This Week: Stacking the Shelves and Reading Wishlists

  1. I’m totally waiting on your review of The Peculiars to see if I’m going to bother with it. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Hehe….no pressure, right?! OH BUT I SEE ME MENTIONED THERE. Okay! I admit! Tiger Lily mildly inspired me. x) But mine is creepy, like creepiness everywhere sort of creepy. (I’m very eloquent.) REBEL. I have to finish up a book I’m reading on my kindle, annnnnd then I get to start that gorgeous preciousssss.

    • So I’m the guinea pig, huh? HUH? Okay, yeah, it wasn’t great. Pretty boring and not very steampunk-y. I can’t WAIT to read Tiger Lily! It looks so good. Almost as good as your creepy creepiness retelling (which I am FIRST in line to read whenever it’s ready, yes? I’m glad we’ve reached an agreement). Rebel looks really good. I’m getting Reboot back from a friend on Tuesday and then hopefully reading them both ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Sounds like you’ve had a great week, Emily! I can’t wait to see what you think of literally all of the library books your borrowed and also Every Word – if it’s similar to Sherlock, I’m definitely going to have to read it! Thanks for sharing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I’m great! And you should totally read This Star Won’t Go Out, it’s fantastic ๐Ÿ˜€

      Thanks for nominating me! I miiiiight get a chance to do it with the book blogger tag, but I’m not sure! I’ve been so busy lately :/ I loved reading your answers, though ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I love reading the Book Bloggers tag. It’s fun to see what people have said! Can’t wait to see your answers.
    Throne of Glass – you won’t regret reading it! I hope. It’s one of my favourite series. And Every Word! Squee! How great was it?!
    Hope you enjoy Rebel. I’ve seen a lot about it this week and think it looks great. Will be checking out your review when it’s posted!

    • Throne of Glass looks really good! Judging by all my book blogger friends’ reactions, I think I’ll enjoy it. OMG, Every Word was soooo good. Four and a half stars all the way (Mycroft and Rachel?? SWOON). I have to read Reboot before Rebel, but I’m hoping both will be great ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. OH YES I AM SO GLAD YOU ARE READING THRONE OF GLASS. I’m glad you’re venturing into fantasy reads now after the success that was Cinder (SUCCESS). Glad to hear Peculiars is a decent read! I look forward to reading your bb tag posts ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Ahhh This Star Won’t Go Out! ABsolutely loved it and was crying after the first bit.

    Enjoy your books, Emily! <33

  6. WOW! Fabulous haul Emily! โค Tiger Lily is one of my all time favorite books, and I hope you end up enjoying it as much as I did. And I really, really enjoyed Throne of Glass and Stolen! I haven’t read Wintergirls or Speak yet because I have a feeling I’m going to be emotionally destroyed by them, but I’ve heard nothing but fabulous things about both of them. Anyway, thanks so much for sharing and happy reading! โค

    • RIGHT? So excited to read these. Tiger Lily is one I often see as an under-rated book. Also very excited for Throne of Glass and Stolen. The Laurie Halse Anderson ones definitely look emotional, but if I couldn’t handle that I wouldn’t love contemporary as much as I do! Happy reading to you as well โค

  7. Looks like a great haul Emily! Like you, I’ve heard so many great things about the ‘Throne of Glass’ series but still haven’t had the chance to read it yet so hopefully looking forward to seeing what you make of it. ‘Peculiars’ looks really interesting – that cover definitely is intriguing.

    Hope you enjoy your books! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Right? So many beautiful books! Like you, I’ve heard a LOT about Throne of Glass and I decided it’s about time I read it. Peculiars was, unfortunately, not as good as I expected. The cover is fantastic, though.

      Happy reading!

  8. AHAHAHA your perfect book sounds amazing, you should totally write it and I’ll be first in line to read it ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Wonderful haul Em, I didn’t actually enjoy Reboot, so I’m hesitant about Rebel. Hope you enjoy it! Your library stocks some amazing books, I hope you enjoy ToG, it’s so wonderful โค Happy reading lovely xx

    • HAHA. Done. I will write it.

      That’s a shame about Reboot! I’ve heard such good things about Rebel. These books are from my local library and my school library – local is great for older series, and my school one always has new books. I LOVE THEM BOTH SO MUCH. Happy reading โค

  9. *chants* THRONE OF GLASS! THRONE OF GLASS! I hope you enjoy it as much as we all do! Oh, and you probably should have a copy of Crown of Midnight with you for after you finish Throne of Glass.
    Rebel is amazing! As you’ve heard already! haha Hope you get your copy of Reboot back soon so you can read this fantastic series.
    Happy Reading ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

