Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas (hey, it rhymes!)

Title: throne of glassThrone of Glass

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre: YA epic fantasy

Published by: Bloomsbury

Length: 404 pages

Source: borrowed from the library

Blurb: 

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin. Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom. 

Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her… but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best. 

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead… quickly followed by another. 

Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

It could have been better. 

That’s the first thing I’d like to say. With glowing reviews from many of my fellow book bloggers, I expected this to be amaaazzzingggggggg. And don’t get me wrong, it was quite good. Just not INCREDIBLY good.

So we’ve got Celaena Sardothien. (Sa-Lay-Na, by the way. I know. It confused me too). And she’s pretty cool. Even though she’s an assassin, she likes dresses. I thought that was nice. AND ALSO SHE’S AN ASSASSIN (did I mention that).

image

There were other things I liked. For example, Chaol. (He’s my favourite). I also liked the dialogue, which was extremely witty and often hilarious. I was confused at times, because it was at odds with the time period – it’s a medieval setting, but Celaena says “shove it up your ass” to someone (I can’t remember who). Am I missing something? Did people actually say these things in this time period? I don’t know, I could be getting this completely wrong.

I liked the blood and guts bits. Yep, I’m weird. But I found it morbidly fascinating.

I liked the Tests. Especially the wine one.

I liked Chaol. Wait, I mentioned him already.

But there were also things I didn’t like as much. For example, there wasn’t enough explanation for my taste. We’re TOLD that Celaena is a deadly assassin, but now shown – we don’t find out anything about her former life, why she’s an assassin or how she manages to be so butt-kickin’.

It was also a little…boring. *hordes of Throne of Glass fangirls bombard me* It took me a few days to read this, and the pace was pretty slow.

However, I would still read the second book (and the rest, however many decades away those are).

Don’t let my review affect you too much! I really did like this book despite its flaws, and SO many others love it.

Rating: 3/5 stars

PUPPYPUPPYPUPPY

Have you read Throne of Glass? What did you think?

 

22 thoughts on “Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas (hey, it rhymes!)

  1. Ugh i’m so upset this one just didn’t whoa you liked it did me and os many other bloggers. To be honest things really pick up in the sequel…that’s where the whole “OMG FANGIRLING NOW” moments kick in. The prequel novellas also fill in all that past Celena stuff and everyone seems to love them like crazy (i’m waiting for book three to read the novellas so I can binge read the entire series again)

  2. I’ve seen a lot of bloggers squealing over this but to be honest, it doesn’t really interest me. The concept sounds neat enough though. Ninjas? Teenage assassins? Awesome. I don’t think I’ll be picking this up, though.

  3. Ok, so this is not a good review. Just saying. You say you don’t like that you don’t find out about her earlier life, but you need to read the novellas to find that out. If they said too much in ToG then it would ruin the plotline of the novellas, and also the plotline of CoM, so don’t be so harsh

  4. 3/5 stars? *gasps* HOW DARE YOU!? Haha, only kidding. To each their own, right? 😉 Interesting note: the author has said (on Pinterest or somewhere I don’t really remember) that it’s not actually set in a medieval time period, and she didn’t really have a specific time period in mind. I suppose that’s the thing about high fantasy: you’re not limited by history and facts, and you can pretty much do whatever the hell you want. Heh. 🙂

    Also, I keep staring at that first gif. I don’t know why but I am entranced by it.

    • *weeps* I’m so sad that I didn’t like it more. Interesting that she didn’t set in in the medieval time, but still, some of the language felt out of place. I guess that was just me 😛 it kind of pulled me out of the story, you know? But that’s what I love about fantasy as well. So many things you can do with it.

      That little gem of a GIF is from (as usual) Tumblr. Took me a while to find but so worth it 😛

  5. I loved this book, but many other people have agreed that there doesn’t seem to be too much action and assassinating here. But just you wait until Crown of Midnight for everything to be made even more awesome 😀

  6. WHAT? WHO ARE YOU? WHAT ARE YOU EVEN SAYING? *throws chocolate cake at you*

    Okay okay, I do understand why this isn’t everyone’s cup of cake. And I will keep talking to you despite the fact that you don’t love my most favourite book. Hehe. (But you liked Splintered, soooo. I WILL BE FORGIVING.) Ha! It’s weird when “everyone else” loves a book and you’re like, “Whaaat”, isn’t it? I do that SO much, it’s embarrassing. x) Anyhow. Chaol. Yes. Chaol.

    • *eats chocolate cake*

      *cries* I KNOW. I’m so disappointed with my brain!! WHAT WAS IT THINKING?? But yes, we agree on Splintered, so that’s good. It’s so weird when people love and book and you just kind of…miss something. Because I so wanted to love this 😦 It happened to me with City of Bones as well.

      Buuuuuut, I’m still reading Crown of Midnight. I’m hoping I will love it 🙂

  7. We had the same problem! We’re always told that Calaena’s badass and everything, but she acted kind of wimpy for me, haha! Not really a fan of either Chaol or Dorian at the moment, but Dorian is soooo boring. Reminds me of Prince Maxon. 😛 Apparently book 2’s super amazing, though. 😉

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one! Although we’re definitely in the minority (black sheep…baaa). Dorian was definitely boring. He reminded me of Prince Kai from Cinder (although Kai gets better eventually!). Chaol was much better. And I actually quite liked Nox…

  8. I’m sorry that this book disappointed you, Emily! I have yet to start the series, but am glad that I’m seeing more people who aren’t finding this book to be 5 stars – I don’t want my expectations to be too high! I really enjoyed reading your review – are you going to be continuing the series?

    • I’m sorry, too 😦 *weeps* I think the “expectations being too high” thing is a great point – I’m even going to blog about it…soonish. Because I hate it when I expect to LOVE a book and then it ends up being…meh. I think I will end up reading the next one, though 🙂

  9. You know, I’m almost pleased you didn’t fangirl as much as others. Charnell and I want to read this together in a few weeks time and were both afraid of hype in books, so it’s good that you can lower our expectations I think a bit. Now I’ll be able to go in not expecting mind blowing reading, but still find it enjoyable and well written, so thank you Emily. Also, I like this blunt, layout review, it’s good and to the point 🙂

    • That is a really good point! Sometimes it’s not good to have expectations too high – I almost always end up disappointed 😦 that’s why I’m glad I read TFIOS really early, otherwise I think the hype might have gotten to me. I really hope you enjoy it!

      And this review is really short, haha. Most of mine are longer but I still try and make them concise 🙂 lists are often good for that.

  10. Pingback: What Happened This Week: Stacking the Shelves, six days of school and announcing Diverse Book Week! | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

