What Happened This Week: Stacking the Shelves, six days of school and announcing Diverse Book Week!

This week has been quite eventful. I’ve had a LOT of schoolwork to complete – since we don’t have exams this term, we have a bucketload of assignments instead. That’s why my posts have been so short (I’m sorry!). The only ones I actually enjoy doing are my drama assignments, because they’re practical.

Which brings me to the reason I was at school six days this week.

I know, right? That’s dedication for you. We came to school yesterday (Saturday) for about five hours. We came up with new scene ideas and talked a lot about death. That’s the idea of the play – we make it about death, which is such a taboo topic. It’s really…freeing, I guess, to talk about these things, because often we don’t get the chance to. So that was a lot of fun!

I still managed to read three books, because I put some of my schoolwork on hold…next week’s Emily is going to HATE me.

Next week will be Diverse Book Week on my blog. I’m a bit late to the whole thing, but I don’t think it’s ever too late to spotlight diverse books. There’ll be reviews of diverse books, discussions and recommendations. I can’t wait to share it with you!

Other things that happened this week:

I reached 50k on the second draft of The Daisy List. Yay! I want it finished by no later than the end of July, so fingers crossed on that.

– For drama (again), I performed a scene from the Irish play The Beauty Queen of Leenane. It was so fun to do Irish accents and play a 70-year-old annoying lady.

– I added a few books to my shelves! I edit all my photos on PicMonkey, because otherwise they look really dark. You can find PicMonkey here. Here they are…

STSmall

Stacking the Shelves is a book meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. It’s all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual.

FOR REVIEW

aristotle and dante edited

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

I’m reading this right now and it is amaaaaaaazing. I requested it so I could feature it for Diverse Book Week. Thanks SO SO SO much to Simon and Schuster ❤

more than this and spark edited

More Than This by Patrick Ness

Spark by Rachael Craw

These lovelies are from Walker Books Australia. I see More Than This every time I go into the bookshop, and I’ve wanted to buy it EVERY SINGLE TIME. I’m so excited to read it. And the author of Spark is so lovely on Twitter, and her book sounds so awesome, that I just had to request it! Thanks Walker Books!!

BORROWED

vampire academy

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

I don’t have a photo of this one, since I had to give it back to my friend. She borrowed it from my local library for me. I have fantastic friends like that.

So those are the books I got this week! I’m still working on some of my library books but might have to return a few, because they’re almost overdue – already! And I can always borrow them again later.

BOOKS READ SINCE LAST WEEK

the peculiarsthrone of glassvampire academy

And I promise I will get around to reading Crown of Midnight and the rest of the Vampire Academy series. Eventually. Soon.

CURRENTLY READING

aristotle and dante

You guys have to read this book. Just saying.

READING NEXT

tiger lily

I’m SO EXCITED to read this.

GIF OF THE WEEK

Not sure why I love this GIF so much, but I do.

POSTS THIS WEEK

Monday: review of The Peculiars by Maureen Doyle McQuerry

Tuesday: top ten books with friendships

Wednesday: discussion of when you don’t have time to read

Thursday: review of Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

Friday: review of Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Saturday: I talked about skyscraper syndrome and disappointing books

 

And that’s it for this week! Look out next week for Diverse Book Week. What’s happened with you this week?

13 thoughts on “What Happened This Week: Stacking the Shelves, six days of school and announcing Diverse Book Week!

  1. One of my favorite roles in high school was playing the prince’s mother in Cinderella. She was pretty bland, so I created a character and my drama instructor let me role with it! I was told I stole the show. Always fun playing characters with an interesting personality.

  2. Ooh, diverse book week. XD That sounds like buckets of fun! The 6 days at school does not. 😐 I hope Next Week’s Emily forgives you. I HOPE YOU LIKE TIGER LILY. I loved it, but not quite enough to give it a 5. x) HUZZAH FOR 50K FOR DAISY. That’s awesome! I’m actually hoping to start writing next week. Well, RE-writing. I just have to knock over one more ARC and then, ooh, gosh, I’m like FREE. I’ll have gobbled down my TBR to nothing. It’s a very freeing feeling.

  3. I loved Tiger Lily! It’s so beautifully written. And I’m very interested to see what you think about Vampire Academy. I didn’t like the first one, but I really enjoyed the second book.

  4. Great wrap-up post, Emily! I’m definitely looking forward to diverse book week next week! And congratulations on your progress with The Daisy List! My copy of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe arrived last week, and I can’t wait to read it! I’ve heard such great things about it!

  5. I would love to watch your play about death, it sounds really good. Such a taboo topic, but the more people talk about it, the more open others will be as well. I can’t wait to hear about you think about Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. It sounds like a brilliant book, can;t wait to read it!

    • It’s going to be LEGENDARY. I really wish you could watch it, haha 😀

      Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe is fabulous. At the point of writing this comment, I have about 20 pages left and I cannot wait to finish it. I hope you enjoy it 😀

  6. Ooooh you got Aristotle & Dante, I have been wanting to read that one for ages since everyone has raved about it! More Than This I really enjoyed as well, I hope you do too (the book cover is so pretty isn’t it?) Sounds like you had a good week Emily, I hope it continues being good for this week too!

Leave a Reply

