What Happened This Month: diverse book week, TFIOS movie and so much school

No Stacking the Shelves this week – next week, my pretties!

This month: 

– I got to see the TFIOS movie. Which was amazing. I can’t wait to go see it again.

– We celebrated diverse book week here on the blog, with some reviews, writing advice, recommendations and a discussion!

– I got to 55k on my second draft of The Daisy List

– So…much…schoolwork…which is why I’ve been a bit slack visiting everyone’s blogs. I’m catching up, I promise!

– I tried out for school captain. Made jokes about my family in my speech. It was great.

MY GOALS FOR MAY WERE TO…

Reading

– Read at least 8 books – check! I read 12 books!

– Review at least 8 books – check! Here are the books I reviewed. Click on each one to go to the review. 

dead ends Image the last girl looking for jj how to keep a boy from kissing you

the last show 17675031 the peculiars throne of glass vampire academy

looking for alibrandi night vision aristotle and dante

– Read at least 2 books by Aussie authors – check! I read The Last Shot by Michael Adams, Every Word by Ellie Marney and The Minnow by Diana Sweeney

– Read at least 2 MG books – not check, unfortunately 😦

Writing

– Get to 55k on The Daisy List – ding ding ding! Complete!

– Keep brainstorming for my Alice retelling (tentatively named Wanderland) – Does Pinterest brainstorming count?

– Send out some queries for Mutual Weirdness – Nope 😦

So I accomplished SOME things, but not others.

GOALS FOR JUNE

Reading

– Read at least 8 books

– Review at least 8 books

– Read at least 2 books by Aussie authors

– Read at least 2 books that I bought for myself

– Finish reading the MS of my CP Cait, because I have been so slack (sorry, Cait!)

Writing

– Finish the second draft of The Daisy List (I have no idea how long it’s going to end up being, so this might be slightly unrealistic)

– Send out a couple of queries for Mutual Weirdness, which I’ve been really slack with…sensing a pattern here?

– Brainstorming for Wanderland…I might do Camp NaNoWriMo in July with it, but I’ll see

Fingers crossed at least some of these happen!

GIF OF THE MONTH

(I had to, guys. I just had to)

BOOKS OF THE MONTH

aristotle and dante every word proper the minnow

Weird how they all have similar colour tones. But anyway, all these books are fantastic and you should read them immediately. My review of The Minnow is up tomorrow, and there’ll be a QandA plus review of Every Word on the 11th of June. Yay!!!

Books read since last week

aristotle and dante tiger lily the minnow

Currently Reading

speak

Reading next

wintergirls

(I have to return both of these to the library tomorrow, which is why I’m reading them quickly!

My May has been stressful but ultimately…fun. And this month (cannot BELIEVE it’s June already) I turn seventeen, so that’s exciting!

How has your May been?

(PS I’m really sorry about the weird white lines in this post. I have no idea why they’re there and I can’t figure out how to make them go away! Has anyone else had this problem?)

14 thoughts on “What Happened This Month: diverse book week, TFIOS movie and so much school

  1. OHMIGOD THAT GIF. It’s so freaky, lol! Congratulations on all the things you accomplished this month =) My May’s been awesome – the start of summer soon begins!! Oh and happy early birthday! 😉 Have an awesome June!

  2. I think Diverse Book week was really awesome!! I’m currently reading Every Last Breath and so far it’s awesome – next I really want to read The Minnow (I’ve seen heaps of great reviews on it). Jealous as about you seeing TFIOS 😛 but I’m seeing it on Wednesday, so not too long to wait!! Ohh, my birthdays in June too – what date are you? I’m the 10th 🙂

  3. AND I NEED MORE OF DAISY LIST. JUST SAYIN’. IN CASE YOU FORGOT. x) I’m sooo tempted to do Camp NaNo or something. I’ve never done one. o.O But you should definitely write Wanderland. I agree with that. I’ll give you cake. Lots and lots of cake.

    OH HUZZAH for goals!! I hope you get some queries out. 😉 I think I read 13 books this month? Which is a bit slow for me, but I’ve spent a lot of time watching TV shows instead, slacker me. But June is for writing for me too! Yay! XD

    • I ALMOST FORGOT. I will send you some more (and keep reading BLOOD). Camp NaNo is so much fun! The normal NaNoWriMo is better, though 😀

      (I will write Wanderland in exchange for cake, certainly)

      13 books, that’s crazy. You’re crazy. But we’ve established this.

  4. JESUS CHRIST THAT GIF AT THE BOTTOM WHY EMILY WHY.

    Anyways, WOAH you accomplished so many reading goals good on you! I only read like 7 books this month.
    And good job on 55k words, dayum girl you are on fire!

  5. NO EM, NOOOO. WHY. Why did that gif have to make a reappearance?!?! *sobs in corner*

    Haha jks jks! It’s so awesome to see that you accomplished so many of your bookish goals. I wish I could stick to a goals list each month and exceed it! Yay for reaching your writing goals as well – so excited for you!!! Good luck for the next month lovely ❤ ❤

  6. I didn’t even notice the lines until you pointed them out, heh. AND YES, Pinterest does count… Kind of. I mean, I’m not a massive outliner in general, so Pinterest is sometimes my ONLY way of brainstorming/outlining a novel. So I say it counts. 😉 I’m so excited for Camp NaNo; I am definitely doing the July session… I need something to actually motivate me to write. Plus I have all these plot bunnies bouncing around my head at nighttime and it’s getting really distracting. I feel like May has gone sooooo fast. I swear it was just the first yesterday! I can’t believe we’re already half way through the year… which brings the dreaded HSC every closer. O.o *panics*

    AND THAT GIF AGAIN. OH MY GAWSH.

    • I love outlining. I never stick to the outline, but it’s helpful to have it there 😛

      Oooh, we might be Camp NaNoing together, then! How exciting. I need some serious motivation, as well 😛 I have SO many plot bunnies too! I’ll never have time to write even half of them. *sobs*

      May has gone ridiculously fast. What even happened? We’re on, like, hyperdrive or something.

      omg, good luck with all your studying and everything O_O that will be me in a year’s time. SCARY. ALMOST AS SCARY AS THAT GIF 😛

Leave a Reply

