Top Ten Tuesday: books for your beach bag

00dc8-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Each week there’s a different Top Ten list. It’s a great way to find and connect with other awesome bloggers.

A quick note: here in The Land Down Under (aka Australia) we’ve traded a pretty warm-ish autumn for winter. It is getting COLD.

The books I’m going to recommend will hopefully warm you up a bit. I wasn’t quite sure of the kind of books I should include, so I’ve gone with light, fluffy and adorable.

 how to keep a boy from kissing you the truth about forever anna and the french kiss

1) How to Keep a Boy From Kissing You by Tara Eglington

The title says it all. This is a super-cute, adorable read.

2) The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

Or anything else by Sarah Dessen. She writes FANTASTIC contemporary YA and I need to re-read some.

3) Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

You don’t have to read this at summer. If you haven’t read it, just read it any time, anywhere. If you have, RE-read it any time, anywhere.

on the fence my life next dooooor thirteen little blue envelopes

4) On the Fence by Kasie West

I love this book so much. Read it.

5) My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

This one as well! It’s so adorable and has some great twists.

6) 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson

Or anything by Maureen Johnson. This is a really interesting travel read.

the princess diaries the intern for blog angus, thongs...

7) The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot

One of my favourite contemporary YA series of all time (and the first one I read!)

8) The Intern by Gabrielle Tozer

Hilarious, and written by an Aussie. You should definitely read it.

9) Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison

This is also hilarious. You might have seen the movie (the book’s better).

So there you have it! Those are my top nine beachy reads. Which is a synonym for “cute, funny and/or fluffy. Probably all of the above.” And, you know, I have awesome taste, so you should check them all out. Link me to your TTT in comments! I’d love to know which awesome beachy reads I’m missing out on.

31 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: books for your beach bag

  1. Anna and the French Kiss! <33 On the Fence! <33 This is totally a useful comment, haha! I'm not a big fan of Sarah Dessen but I've read 3 of her books. 🙂 I still have yet to read The Princess Diaries (loved the movie!) and My Life Next Door.

    • I’m all for fangirling comments! Have you not seen all the gifs I post? 😛 I don’t LOVE Sarah Dessen, but I’ve still read a few of her books, like you. Definitely read The Princess Diaries – they’re really quick reads and super-cute 🙂

  2. Gosh, winter? What winter?! We’ve been having mid-20s for aaaaages and I’m starting to doubt it’ll ever be cold. NOT THAT I MIND. Tee-shirts in Winter FTW. I’ve only read 2 of these. o.O How bad is that?! I need to try some Sarah Dessan and Kasie West. x)

  3. “Or anything else by Sarah Dessen.”

    I TOTALLY agree. And Anna and the French Kiss! Read it, re-read it, all day, everyday. 😀

  4. To be honest, the only one from that list I’ve read is The Truth about Forever. (Good choice, I should have thought of that one for my own TTT.) 😉 I’ll have to look into the others. I’ve wanted to read Anna and the French Kiss for a while now.

  5. I know I should read anything Sarah Dessen. It’s been a long time since I placed Dreamland upon my reading list of my mind for future use. I should read it anytime, anywhere. I think that’ll do for this summer coming up. XD

  6. It’s hard to believe that it’s Winter in Australia now! o_O That’s like… whoa, totally OFF the year or something, but then again, I’m used to everybody else’s calendars! 😛 Unfortunately, I won’t be able to read these at the beach because summer here is over and the rainy season has come DX Color me sadness 😦

    But still, thank you for the recs! I’ll take these in mind! Especially excited to read The Intern!

    Faye at The Social Potato Reviews

    • Haha, we’re always backwards here in the Land Down Under. Just reverse everything! Damn for the rainy season. Although it does mean you can stay INSIDE and read…

      Ohhhh, The Intern is so good! I hope you get a chance to read it 🙂

  7. I love Tara Eglington’s Aurora Skye series (Holden + Aurora = adorable!) and ‘The Intern’ was a great read from an Aussie author as well. I can’t wait to read ‘On the Fence’ – the hype has gotten to me on that one, and I’ve always wanted to get my hands on ‘Anna and the French Kiss’! So many fantastic looking books on this list, thanks for sharing 🙂

  8. Oh my gosh, you’ve already read On The Fence!!???? You don’t know how jealous I am right now! 😀 And Anna and the French Kiss is on my reading list as well….I kind of feel like I’m the only who hasn’t read it yet !

  9. Pingback: What Happened This Week: handwriting challenge and TFIOS hit theatres | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

