Top Ten Tuesday: best books of 2014

00dc8-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Each week there’s a different Top Ten list. It’s a great way to find and connect with other awesome bloggers.

Today I’ll be talking about my top 10 favourite books of 2014 (so far!). I’ve read SO many amazing books, so this was a hard list to come up with. And by the way, I’m not counting re-reads, otherwise The Fault in Our Stars would count for about 17.

aristotle and dante dead ends  these broken stars

1) Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

This book is simply amazing. Beautiful writing, beautiful dialogue, beautiful friendship. Seriously, read it.

2) Dead Ends by Erin Lange

I still haven’t read her book Butter, but it’s very high on my TBR. This was such a good book!

3) These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

I finished this on the 1st January this year, so technically it counts as a 2014 read. CAN’T WAIT for This Shattered World.

lola and the boy next door the intern for blog

4) Lola and the Booy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

I’d already read Anna and the French Kiss before this year, but not Lola. Stephanie Perkins is such an amazing writing.

5) The Intern by Gabrielle Tozer

Hilarious and with an endearing protagonist, this is a fantastic Aussie contemporary.

splintered cinder bird crystal chan

6) Splintered by A G Howard

Alice in Wonderland retelling, yes please! You knew it was going to make it onto this list, surely?

7) Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Basically the whole series. I am so pumped for Winter.

8) Bird by Crystal Chan

This is one of the most unique books I’ve ever read. And it’s MG, which is awesome.

the distance between us wintergirls

9) The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

Apparently 2014 is “The year of discovering awesome contemporary writers.” Kasie West’s books are AMAZING.

10) Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

I’ve so far read three of Anderson’s books this year, and have loved them all. Wintergirls affected my the most out of those three.

So there you have it! My favourite reads so far in 2014. There are SO SO many more that I could have included (I’ve read a bit over 70 books this year) but I kept it to ten. Look at that restraint. Well done, Emily. What about you guys? What have been your favourite books so far this year?

35 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: best books of 2014

  1. I’ve read 6 of these! Eeeh, they are so so so good. And thanks to you, I’ve reserved Aristotle at my library and omg, I’m EXCITED. I haven’t seen anyone disliking it yet and I’m always up for a 5-star read. x) Lola surprised me with just how much I loved it. I mean, I loved Anna and all, but I just kind of shrugged them off as good contemporaries, when in reality THEY’RE BRILLIANT. *counts down till Isla*

    • Go you! We obviously both have awesome taste. But you knew that already. Aristotle and Dante is amazing. The only person I’ve seen dislike it is Kara over at Diary of a Teen Writer, lol. But not everyone can like it! Oh god, Lola was amazing too. Stephanie Perkins is just…amazing. I’ve pre-ordered Isla EEEEK. So exciting!!

  2. Great list!

    Wahhh, I feel like I’m the ONLY person who didn’t like Aristotle and Dante. You know when everyone loves a book, but for some reason you just didn’t like it? THAT WAS THIS BOOK. Just wasn’t for me, I think. I can’t wait to read These Broken Stars, I keep hearing nothing but good stuff about them, and the cover is very preeettty. 😉 For some reason I haven’t yet read Lola — I really loved Anna, but never really got around to reading the second book. Huh. I need to rectify this immediately. I also so want to read The Intern, it sounds great. 🙂

    • God, I hate that feeling. Being the black sheep is never fun. You WANT to like something, but you just can’t force yourself, you know? That was me with Throne of Glass. Oooh, These Broken Stars is so much fun. I love the whole survival aspect. Definitely read both Lola and The Intern – both fantastic contemporaries 😀

  3. I loved the prose of Aristotle and Dante, and I’m really excited to start reading novels by Stephanie Perkins, her books are recommended all over so many blogs! I’m excited to read Splintered too, I’ve seen mixed reviews and I feel like Alice is such a commonly retold story, but the cover is to gorgeous to ignore! Great list!

    • Stephanie Perkins is just…just…besides John Green, she’s my favourite contemporary author. Actually, I was surprised to find out that there are only like 3 Alice retellings within YA (traditionally published). Not as widespread as I thought! Splintered is awesome 😀

  4. Would you believe that after reading your list I think my copy of Cinder on my desk keeps on getting my attention and I think it’s trying to tell me to read it now, ASAP. lol!
    Yay! I love Lola and the Boy Next Door too, and I can’t wait for Isla’s story! 😀

    Ella @ The Filipina Booknote

  5. Thanks so much for sharing your awesome as sauce list, Emily! . 🙂

    I NEED TO READ THE INTERN, SPLINTERED, CINDER AND BIRD!!! SO BADLY! I tried reading Cinder earlier this year, but I couldn’t really get into it because I don’t think I was in the right mood and then I had to take it back to the library so, boo…I will get my own copy one day, I swear!

    As you know, I love Wintergirls and I loved These Broken Stars and I needed This Shattered World yesterday! I also love The Distance Between Us and I almost put TBS and TDBU on my list this week also. 🙂

    Both Anna and Lola were on my list this week, and I need Isla nooooow!

    I haven’t heard a lot about Dead Ends, but I think it’s another book to add to my “to check out” list. 🙂

    • YOU REALLY DO. Ohhh, I hope you end up liking Cinder. It is all kinds of awesome.

      I totally need This Shattered World. I keep seeing pics of it from BEA and I NEED IT.

      Isla needs to come out, like, now. Or yesterday. I’ve pre-ordered it 😀

      Dead Ends is FANTASTIC. Not sure why not many people have heard of it…you should definitely check it out 😀

  6. I see so many books on here that I loved or want to read! I just got Aristotle and Dante yesterday. Splintered is my favorite retelling of Alice in Wonderland, Cinder was just EPIC, and I want to read These Broken Stars and The Distance Between Us. Nice list!

  7. Aristotle and Dante! I seriously need to read that. LOVED These Broken Stars. Sequel please! Lola’s adorable as well. Splintered was SO graphic and I loved it! Cinder! Winter needs to come sooner. I also need to check out Bird. The Distance Between Us wasn’t great for me, but I loved Kasie’s other books. 🙂

  8. YAYYYY!!!! SO GLAD YOU LOVED LOLA! AND CINDER!<3333333 I'm rather curious about Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe – I haven't read the blurb and the cover isn't one which immediately grabs my attention but everyone seems to be reading/liking it at the moment, and now you've mentioned it on your top 2014 books, soooo I guess that's a sign for me to read it yeah? hehehe
    Awesome list Emily!

    P.S CAN I CALL YOU EMS? I'VE ALWAYS LOVED CALLING MY FRIENDS "EMS" INSTEAD OF "EMILY" ❤

    • I’M SO GLAD I LOVED CINDER TOO. It was definitely one I didn’t want to be a black sheep for 😛 The blurb of it isn’t that attention-grabbing, which was why I was so pleasantly surprised!

      You can TOTALLY call me Ems. What should I call you? Shirls? Haha. You’re coming to PTA, aren’t you? We can figure it out then 😛

  9. Some of those would definitely be on my list as well! I absolutely loved Splintered, These Broken Stars, Bird, Dead Ends and Cinder, so I’m really glad to know you also enjoyed them! Thanks for sharing Emily, and great choices!

  10. Pingback: What Happened This Week: Stacking the Shelves and Not Much Else | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

