Beautiful People: In Which I Interview My Own Character

 

Click the picture to take you to The Notebook Sisters, who co-host this linky. It sounds like so much fun! What happens is, each month there are a set of interview questions for you to ask your characters. One of the questions was my submission (I know, I’m practically famous.)

So let’s do it!

Today I’ll be interviewing my character Alice, from an Alice in Wonderland retelling that I haven’t actually started yet. I’m hoping this will motivate me to do some more brainstorming, because I’m so excited. It’s going to be called Wanderland at the moment, and it involves characters you know and hopefully love (like the Cheshire Cat, the Little Crocodile and the Cheshire Cat) as well as new characters (like the Marmalade Minstrel, Motley Fox, nomadic poppies and Wooden Elizabeth). I am SO SO excited to write this!

1) What is their full name and is there a story behind why they got it? 

Her full name is Li Xia Kim. Her Anglicised name is Alice, which her mother chose for her when she was in first grade. Many of my Asian friends in real life have…not old-fashioned Anglicised names, but very traditional, I suppose. She prefers Alice, and so her name usually reads “Alice Kim.”

2) How old are they, and when were they born? 

Alice is fifteen. I’ve no idea when she was born – it doesn’t really matter to the storyline (well…yet). I suppose, contextually, it would make sense to have her from the same time period as the original Alice, but I think it might be more an amalgamation of different time periods.

3) Describe their physical appearance. (Bonus questions: 1. What is their race/nationality/ethnicity? 2. Do you have a picture of them? If so, include it!) 

She has long black hair and dark eyes. She’s Chinese and has that awesome straight hair I would kill for. She’s also paraplegic, so she gets around in a wheelchair (which is okay, because it has a pouch at the back for discreet storage of cake).

4) Describe your character’s personality first in one word, and then elaborate with a few sentences. 

Airy-fairy. It’s totally one word. I picture Alice as quite laidback, go-with-the-flow. What I love about the original story is that Alice is willing to just GO with it. Alice isn’t a worrier. She gets distracted easily. This is going to prove interesting in Wanderland…

5) What theme song(s) fit their personality and story arc?

Oh goodness, this is a hard question. I’m going to cheat and say one from the animated Alice in Wonderland movie, “In a World of My Own.” Alice likes her own company, but throughout Wanderland she realises she has to trust other people.

Here’s the song.

6) Which one of the seven deadly sins describes your character? 

This just gave me an awesome idea. The Seven Sins are definitely going to be people throughout this story. As for Alice, I’m not quite sure. I think maybe greed? She wants to experience everything in Wanderland, but gets frustrated at how complex and difficult it is to get ANYWHERE. Yep, let’s say greed.

7) If they were an element (fire, water, earth, air), which one would they be? 

Definitely air. Like I said before, she’s an airy-fairy, completely scatter-brained sometimes. Definitely a Hufflepuff. But there are definitely elements of the others in her, as well. She can get pretty defensive when she wants to be.

8) What is their favourite word? 

Either chimerical (imaginary or fanciful), dwale (to wander about deliriously) or mangaia (the road-like reflection of the moon on the water). What’s your favourite of these?

9) Who’s one person they really miss? (It could be someone who’s passed away, or someone they’re not close to anymore, or someone who’s moved away.) 

Isn’t this an awesome question? (of course it is, I thought of it…I think) Now I have to think of an answer. Hmm. Okay, I think she’d say her brother Charlie. In this journey, she’s WITH her brother the whole time, but it takes a while for them to connect like they used to. They’ve lost the easy childhood bond they used to have.

10) What sights, sounds, and smells remind them of that person?

Sights: injured animals, because Charlie wants to be a vet and can’t help looking after them.

Sounds: a screeching violin…Alice is never going to forget those few months where Charlie tried (and failed) to learn.

Smells: burnt cake. Charlie’s an awful cook.

And what iffffff there’s a place where all these memories are held? That would be pretty cool.

So there you have it! That’s a bit about my Alice. If you have any other questions about the story or the characters, feel free to ask in comments 🙂

And remember…

17 thoughts on “Beautiful People: In Which I Interview My Own Character

  1. *hugs post* Also: I highly approve of the discreet stash of cake. THIS SOUNDS INCREDIBLE. And so, so full of diversity…I’ve only ever read one book where a character was in a wheelchair and she was like a side character. OH. And eeeh, I love that she’s Alice Kim. That is a fantastic name. YOU MUST WRITE THIS ASAP. YOU MUST. YOU MUST.

    • Hahaha, I thought of you when I wrote the bit about cake 😛 I don’t think I’ve read a book with the main character in a wheelchair either…particularly in spec fic. But I have a lovely English relative in a wheelchair and I think people should be able to find themselves in YA books. I like her name as well 😀 I’m so glad you do! I WILL DEFINITELY WRITE IT, I AM SO EXCITED YOU HAVE NO IDEA!!

  2. You sound like you have some fantastic ideas for this character (and your story!) It’s fascinating to see how people who write creatively come up with such interesting and unique protagonists to use in their novels. I love the sound of Alice already and I’m sure that you’ll create something amazing! 🙂

    • Aww, thank you so much! I’m fine with the ideas, it’s just executing them that’s difficult 😛 I have so many ideas and I’ll never be able to write all of them. But this is something that won’t leave me alone, so I can’t wait to get stuck into it 🙂

  3. Great post! Alice sounds like an awesome character. Definitely diverse, which I think a lot of books are missing. 🙂 And I looooove Alice in Wonderland, so this is something I would imagine I’d like. (When you’re totally a famous author I demand you send me a signed copy. 😉 ) Also, a wheelchair with a place for discreet cake storage?! That is the best thing ever.

  4. YOU’RE AWESOME FOR WRITING AN ASIAN CHARACTER<333333 hehe I hope you start brainstorming more/writing very soon 🙂 Will you be updating your progress on your blog? Hhaha, can't wait for you to start writing!!

    • I have so many Asian friends both IRL and online so I figured I had to SOMETIME 😛 I probably will be updating, yes. I mean, I’m swamped with school stuff at the moment, but once we’re on school holidays I’ll be able to write HEAPS 🙂

  5. If only I had such a discreet storage, then no one would try to steal my cake! 😛

    Alice reallly sounds like a wonderful character! I’d DEFINITELY read this re-telling of Alice in Wonderland! Hopefully I’ll get to meet Alice and Charlie soon! 🙂

    Fantastic Post, Emily!! 🙂

  6. Wow, I really liked how you shaped this character, Emily. She seems real and easy to relate to already! If ever you publish or post your WIP anywhere, I’d definitely read it just to meet Alice Kim. And Mangaia definitely sounds like a beautiful word ❤ And how often do we see people in wheelchairs as protagonist? Not as often as it deserves, definitely, so I'm super interested in how you will continue shaping her and her experience. Great job, love 🙂

    Faye at The Social Potato Reviews

  7. Ok, so I commented a bit late, but this story sounds awesome! Will you be posting this on your blog? Because I’d like to read it. I really like fairy tale retellings and Alice sounds like an amazing character. I loved the gif in the end (The Cheshire Cat is one of my favorite characters) and the Harry Potter reference too! Go HufflePuffs!!! 😀

  8. Pingback: What Happened This Week: Stacking the Shelves and Not Much Else | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

