What Happened This Week: Stacking the Shelves and Not Much Else

Hello everyone!

You may notice that this post is being uploaded in a time that’s not my usual spot. Or you may not notice. Either way, it’s because I’ve been without internet for almost TWO DAYS. I know, it’s a tragedy. So I couldn’t upload a post at all for Saturday. So what happened this week?

– So much school stuff again. We’re nearing the end of term but I still have like four assessment tasks left. It’s crazy. So I’m spending my time writing practise essays for Antony and Cleopatra and collecting questionnaires for Society and Culture.

– Other than all my lovely books, there’s not much else to tell you! So let’s go straight there.

STSmall

Stacking the Shelves is a book meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. It’s all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual.

THE STACK

Image

These are divided into…

FOR REVIEW

four books from blooms and allen edited

Razorhurst by Justine Larbalestier thanks to Allen and Unwin

Flirty Dancing by Jenny McLachlan, Searching for Sky by Jillian Cantor, and Apple and Rain by Sarah Crossan thanks to Bloomsbury

Three of these were very welcome surprises. Especially Apple and Rain, which came like this…

apple and rain edited

Well, at least they warned us! 🙂

breaking butterflies edited

I also got Breaking Butterflies by M. Anjelais thanks to Scholastic Australia – sorry for the awful photo, this one arrived later in the week and so isn’t in the stack. The Minnow is also in my “stack” photo, because last Stacking the Shelves I forgot to include it!

FROM THE LIBRARY

library stack edited

Hold Still by Nina LaCour, The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder, Hate is Such a Strong Word by Sarah Ayoub and Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson. Again, sorry for the dodgy photography!

So there you go! Those are my additions this week. Some weeks I get none, some weeks I get…quite a lot. It’s crazy.  I edited all these photos using PicMonkey, which is so so so helpful (since my photography skills are nonexistent).

BOOKS READ SINCE LAST WEEK

the girl who circumnavigated hate is such a strong word

Fairyland was awesome, and Hate was really interesting to read, if a bit angsty. I’ll be reviewing it next week sometime!

CURRENTLY READING

spark

LOVING this so far!

READING NEXT

searching for sky

This looks SO AMAZING – it’s one of the ones I requested, and I’ve heard lots of good things about it. Side note: I seem to be reading a lot of blue books recently. That’s quite odd.

GIF OF THE WEEK

Also, if you don’t already watch Sherlock, you’re missing out.

POSTS THIS WEEK

Monday: I reviewed the mind-blowing book More Than This by Patrick Ness

Tuesday: I shared my favourite books of this year so far

Wednesday: I interviewed Ellie Marney and reviewed her awesome new book Every Word

Thursday: I told you about the main character of a story I’m really excited to start writing! It’s an Alice in Wonderland retelling…

Friday: I reviewed the totally magical book The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M Valente

That’s all for this week! Tomorrow I’m attending PTALive Sydney with some awesome Sydney bloggers, and I can’t wait! It’s going to be so awesome 🙂

16 thoughts on “What Happened This Week: Stacking the Shelves and Not Much Else

  1. That cover for ‘Breaking Butterflies’ is beautiful! Plus, I’ve seen so much about ‘The Minnow’ – it looks like a really thought-provoking read 🙂 Enjoy your books!

  2. Having no internet is my worst nightmare, sorry you had to endure that Em! Hopefully this post means the internet is fixed now 😀 Good luck with all your new books, I’m super excited to read Searching for Sky & Apple and Rain. I know they’re both tear jerkers though, so definitely need the tissues ready. Have a wonderful bookish week xx

  3. I just read Fairyland too! It was so quirky and very imaginative. I hope you like Searching for Sky! You will definitely need those tissues for both this and Apple & Rain 🙂 Happy Reading

  4. I have Searching for Sky! But it has a dodgy ARC cover and I’m sad because that cover is so so so beautiful. x) I agree that Hate Is Such an etc. is VERY angsty, but I quite enjoyed it. I felt like it was a little too much like Looking for Alibrandi, though? Just swap Lebanon for Italy. *shrugs* Still. I DID like it!

    • Mwahaha, I got the awesome finished cover 😛 that’s the perks of being disorganised and forgetting to request it earlier. I agree with Hate is Such a Strong Word – my review is up tomorrow. I liked it, but didn’t really love it. 🙂

  5. Soo many similar books omg! :O High five! And yes omg omg so extremely excited for tomorrow! 😀 Good luck with all your assignments. I only have a few to go but I totally know how stressful it can be.

  6. No internet for two days? *faints* 😀

    Nice stack! I seriously don’t need any more books to add to my TBR lists… but some of these look great. Especially Apple and Rain and Breaking Butterflies — that cover is soooo pretty. 🙂

    • IKR? It was a very difficult time for me.

      You DEFINITELY don’t need any more books! I saw your stack last time, missy 😛 Apple and Rain looks absolutely fantastic – hence why I was going to request it. And Breaking Butterflies has an awesome cover, yes 😛

  7. Imma tell you what I told Cait, reading Flirty Dancing with a pinch of giddiness. It’s a cute, fluffy easy read, but the protag is much younger than us, so keep that in mind 😉 I got Searching for Sky too and that cover is beautiful isn’t it! That Apple and Rain book is sweet though too, so lovely haul 🙂

  8. The Aussie/UK cover for Searching the Sky never fails to amaze me. It is so so gorgeous!!!!
    I keep on seeing Apples and Rain everywhere and ALL I WANT TO KNOW IS if it’s as sad as the packaging says it is! 😛 I mean that packaging really grabs your attention 😛 It’s so nice of them to warn you guys though! 😀

    Fantastic Haul, Emily and HAPPY READING! 😀

    • RIGHT? I sometimes just gaze at it…

      I’ve seen Apple and Rain everywhere too – everyone’s been taking pictures of the adorable package! SO CURIOUS to see if it really makes me cry. Not many books do.

      HAPPY READING, Rashika 😀

  9. Hahaa I’m actually REALLY interested in your essay on Antony and Cleopatra! Long story short: I studied Antony as a character in HS, and this year I found out from my student that Antony and Cleopatra had history together…and I was like WHATTTTTTTTTT??? REALLLLYYY??!! Sooo yeah, kinda interested in Antony and Cleopatra essays now! hahhahaha

    Ooooohh awesome books this week<3 Everyone seems to have received Apple and Rain~ hopefully it's really good!

    Enjoy Ems!<3

Leave a Reply

