What Happened This Week: Stacking the Shelves and Happy Birthday To Me

Hey guys! So today’s my birthday. YAY πŸ™‚ I am the glorious age of 17. Well, as I’m writing this I’m in the last legs of being 16. But yeah, back in ye olde June 22, 1997, little me arrived. The whole world rejoiced, basically. You had to be there.

Technically, I should be able to get my P plates today. But you need 120 hours of driving to do that, and I’m nowhere near. Instead I’ll just walk places. Walking is nice.

 

What else happened this week? Well.

OnΒ Monday I had a drama performance (it’s a play about death. Basically, there’s a society that’s eradicated grief – sadness is not allowed. It’s VERY fun). OnΒ Thursday I had an in-class essay (would you believe I wrote FIVE practise essays for it? Way too many, in my opinion). The rest of the days I was doing the assignments that have accumulated towards the end of the term – like the teachers are saying QUICK DO THIS BEFORE YOU GO ON HOLIDAYS. Mind you, we also have holiday homework. So that’s fun.

This week was also PTA. Sadly, at the last minute I couldn’t attend, but it looked like so much fun! Always next year. But I did squeal a bit when this was posted on Twitter:

That’s ME in the top left corner! I’m alongside some of the awesomest Aussie blogs out there, so I’m very honoured.

Camp NaNoWriMo (or, as I like to refer to it, OKS, Organised Keyboard Smashing) is fast approaching. I’m using my extension English lessons to brainstorm. Don’t tell my teacher – we’re supposed to be watching Dr Strangelove or something.

And now let’s go to…

STSmall

Stacking the Shelves is a book meme hosted byΒ Tynga’s Reviews. It’s all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual.

side effects and dorothy edit

Side Effects May Vary from the Bookworld sale that’s going on at the moment. I bought this with birthday money from my grandparents, as well as two others (they haven’t arrived yet).

Dorothy Must Die from my dad (I told my sister I wanted it, and she told him). I got this one early since I wouldn’t be at my dad’s house for my ACTUAL birthday. It has this lovely raised font and a beautiful textured cover and I cannot WAIT to read it despite reading soooo many negative reviews.

BOOKS READ SINCE LAST WEEK

sparkΒ hold still

Both were awesome. My review ofΒ Spark and interview with Rachael Craw is coming up on the 1st of July, so look out for that!

CURRENTLY READING

amy and roger's epic detour

This is quite good so far.

READING NEXT

the probability of miracles

I’m reading this next because it has to be returned to the library soon. ButΒ Dorothy Must DieΒ is SO after this.

GIF OF THE WEEK

image

(this cat is saying: why can’t school be OVER already? Okay, maybe that’s just me. One week left and then GLORIOUS HOLIDAYS in which I have to do not-so-glorious homework. Humph.)

POSTS THIS WEEK

Monday:Β I reviewed Hate Is Such a Strong Word by Sarah Ayoub (basically: don’t be racist)

Tuesday:Β I shared the top ten books on my summer (well, actually winter) TBR list

Wednesday:Β I talked about my different types of five star ratings, because there are lots

Friday:Β I reviewed Hold Still by Nina LaCour

Saturday:Β I shared some tips for Camp NaNoWriMo and talked about the story I’ll be writing for it!

How was your week?

29 thoughts on “What Happened This Week: Stacking the Shelves and Happy Birthday To Me

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!! Haha I’m the opposite to you, I’m getting my L plate soon. As if you only have one week of school left!!!!! I have two 😦 Ok, now I have finished complaining. Congrats on being up there at the PTA event! I couldn’t go to the one in my capital city but it looked like fun. When does Camp Nanowrimo actually start? Dorothy Must Die will be amazing. You see, I have book esp, so I know these things. Happy Birthday again!

    • Oooh, good luck! Driving is a lot of fun πŸ™‚ sucks you have two weeks left, though, I’m counting down the days til I finish! Camp NaNoWriMo starts on the 1st of July…It’s so soon, aaaah! I’m glad your book esp tells you I’ll like Dorothy Must Die, because I really want to.

  2. Happy Birthday Emily! *sends cake* Looks like you’ve got some great picks this week – ‘Dorothy Must Die’ is one I’ve heard so much about, so can’t wait to see what you think πŸ™‚

  3. Happy birthday! πŸ˜€
    Yay! I recently bought Side Effects MAy Vary too! I hope we both enjoy it. You’re reading Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour, I hope you like it til the end. πŸ™‚
    That cat GIF is so adorable. Haha!

    Ella @ The Filipina Booknote

  4. Happy birthday Emily, I hope you had a great one! Bookish presents are always awesome. I can’t wait to hear what you think of Dorothy, I loved it myself but I know there were mixed reviews. I really enjoyed Spark too!

  5. Happy Birthday! Great post, as usual, great variety of books.
    That cat. Expresses me on the mornings of school testing days. And really many mornings with no sleep. πŸ™‚

  6. HAPPY OF HAPPIEST BIRTHDAYS!!! I have Dorothy Must Die. Why haven’t I read it yet, that’s the real question…gah. Too many books. Not enough time. <– my favourite excuse. πŸ˜‰ I can't wait to see what you think of it!!!

  7. Happy late Birthday!! Hope you had a brilliant, book filled day πŸ™‚ I haven’t seen many negative review for Dorothy Must Die…… All I’ve seen is positive ones, but I’m really looking forward to reading it as well. I didn’t like Side Effects May Vary, just warning you, you are supposed to hate the main character. Seriously, it’s true, that’s why it’s either a love or a hate kind of book. Good luck with it! Great haul this week πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Gina!! I’m amazed you’ve only seen positive reviews – I’ve seen more negative than positive, I think, but I still want to read it. I’ve heard that about Side Effects May Vary, but it will be good research since what I’m writing at the moment has similar themes. And I’m pretty lenient πŸ™‚

  8. Dorothy Must Die was marketed great in drumming up hype. It was marketed poorly for content, as far as I’m concerned. It’s a children’s story, but the book is definitely not for children. It’s not one I’d be able to stock in my library, so I never finished it. Hope you enjoy it for pleasure reading though.

    I’m really interested to hear your thoughts on Spark. I’m interested in reading that one.

  9. HAPPY 17TH!
    So sad we missed you at PTA Live, must meet you at a future event. Yay for birthday books I hope you enjoy them. Amy & Roger is a cute read!
    Happy birthday again!

Leave a Reply

