Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson: ROAD TRIP!

Title: amy and roger's epic detourAmy and Roger’s Epic Detour

Author: Morgan Matson

Genre: YA contemporary

Length: 344 pages

Published by: Simon and Schuster

Source: borrowed

Blurb: 

Amy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it’s Amy’s responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. The only problem is, since her father died in a car accident, she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip – and has plenty of baggage of his own. The road home may be unfamiliar – especially with their friendship venturing into uncharted territory – but together, Amy and Roger will figure out how to map their way

Buckle in everyone, we’re going on a road trip!

This book was pretty good. I picked it up because I’d heard a lot about Morgan Matson, and I’m glad I did. Then I went on Goodreads to check out a few reviews and saw that Mel from YA Midnight Reads had read it in under an hour. (note: this is not a speed commonly reached by mere mortals – it took me quite a bit longer than that)

If you like these things, you will probably love Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour:  

– Interesting format. The chapters are occasionally broken up with memorabilia from their travels across the USA. These were quite fun.

– Road trips. If you want to indirectly travel the USA this is a good place to start.

– Slow romances. The very OPPOSITE of insta-love.

– Some sadness. It wasn’t like sob-worthy or anything, but still, the grief of Amy’s father’s death was always there.

– Some awesome side characters. In particular, Bronwyn. If you read this you’ll get to meet her. She’s pretty awesome.

(yeah, I’m just going to stick some random road trip/travel gifs in here. Forgive me)

I had a few complaints with this book.

First off, I think the pages with the travel journal/memorabilia/random notes/music mixes could have been better. I mean, do I really need to see what they bought at every fast food restaurant? Not really. I would have liked to see more interesting stuff. Also, the music mixes weren’t that interesting. I skipped most of them. What I did like about them was the clear humour between Amy and Roger. This is something I would have loved to see more in the actual book, because it got a bit angsty at some points.

And the big reveal at the end was so blindingly obvious I thought there had to be more to it. There were occasional flashbacks to past times that weren’t that relevant, and some of the pacing was pretty slow.

The whole adventure seemed pretty exciting, though. It made me want to do my own road trip, discovering some new things…

(okay, fine, this isn’t a road trip gif. But I’m brainstorming and Alice retelling, okay? It’s on my mind quite a lot)

I liked it, it was just a bit underwhelming, I guess. Slow in some parts, and Roger didn’t make much of an impression of me. I think more could be done with the scrapbooky format.

But if you like authors such as Sarah Dessen, you might enjoy this one 🙂

Rating: 3/5 Wonderkitties

PUPPYPUPPYPUPPY

 

17 thoughts on “Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson: ROAD TRIP!

  1. Great Review! I feel like we had a lot of the same thoughts about the book, especially regarding Roger (he was just so unmemorable to me) and none of the plot points really surprised me. I loved reading about all of the locations though! And I did love some of the side characters, especially Roger’s ex-gf’s little brother with a secret passion for hedge sculpting (alas, I can’t remember his name)

    • Yeah, I pretty much forgot his name as soon as I finished the book. But yeah, the locations were really interesting – I’d love it if there was a series about travelling in different places 🙂 oh, the ex-gf’s brother was fantastic! Topiary is such an awesome, different hobby.

  2. There is no such thing as “too many Alice gifs” so you’re good there. 😉 This sounds kind of fun! (But under an hour, Mel?! SERIOUSLY?? She is obviously a reading superhero, yes.) I haven’t actually read a lot of road trip books, except for Man Made Boy, but that was like Frankenstein’s son going on a roadtrip, which makes it not your average roadtrip, right? 😉 It was fun though.

  3. How does ANYONE read a book under an hour??? O_O Is that even possible? Does Mel have magical powers that we have yet to discover?

    I have never been big on ‘sadness’ but if it’s only lingering in the background instead of choking us with feels, I think I wouldn’t mind.

    I have had this on my TBR for ages but I am so much more encouraged to pick it up! 🙂

    Fantastic review, Emily!! 🙂

    • She has many magical powers, and reading this book in under an hour is one (it took me about 3, I think…I’m not as fast as some, though).

      It wasn’t hugely sad, but there was definitely a sad…vibe? But still, I hope you enjoy it, it was a very fun read 🙂

  4. This is a maybe book for me. I don’t really like books where the big reveal at the end is predictable, but then again, books like that can also be enjoyable, like Cinder. I might read this book because I’ve never actually read a road trip book and it might be interesting to read about all the places that Amy and Roger go. What really caught my attention in your review was the line “It made me want to do my own road trip, discovering some new things…”. I love books that inspire! Great review, Emily!

  5. I LOVE Morgan and am not a huge fan of Dessen, hehe! Ahhh I skipped most of the playlists as well. That aside, I adored everything else. Take me on a road trip with you, Emily!!

  6. Pingback: This Week: Stacking the Shelves, Wheelchair Basketball and School Holidays | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

