Top Ten Tuesday: cover trends I like and dislike

00dc8-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Each week there’s a different Top Ten list. It’s a great way to find and connect with other awesome bloggers.

Pretty much everyone loves books covers, right? I know I do. So I LOVE it when these Top Ten Tuesdays concern book covers. I’m going to talk about some cover trends I like, and some I dislike. Who knows how many of each.

TRENDS I LIKE 


everything leads to you it's kind of a funny story ink amanda sun 

1) Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour

     Trend: BEAUTIFUL TYPOGRAPHY. Like, font is so important, and this font is really lovely.

2) It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini –

      Trend: awesome use of colours – there have been a lot of these in recent releases. The yellow works so well with the other colours, AND it relates to the story.

3) Ink by Amanda Sun –

       Trend: of amazing artwork.

dorothy must die proper what's left of me fangirl

4) Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige –

      Trend: bold splashes of colour and minimalistic layouts. There have been heaps of these lately!

5) What’s Left of Me by Kat Zhang

       Trend: use of space, which is SO AWESOME in these books (another one is Bird by Crystal Chan, which I can never stop harping on about).

6) Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell – 

      Trend: again, minimalism and also the cartoonish, block colours.

TRENDS I DISLIKE

the one thirteen little blue envelopes

7) The One by Kiera Cass

      Trend: froofy dresses. They appear so often, it’s weird. Not a big fan.

8) 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson –

       Trend: decapitated person. I LOVE Maureen Johnson, but I HATE the “decapitated person” book cover trend. I just do.

bloodlines hold still

9) Bloodlines by Richelle Mead –

      Trend: people in general on covers. I’m sorry but these covers look SO cheesy and kind of put me off (all those Bloodlines fans, don’t take me too seriously, I’m normally very nice)

10) Hold Still by Nina LaCour –

         Trend:  1) There’s a person, and we know by now that I don’t like people, and 2) really bland covers don’t do anything for me. Interesting how I’ve got two of her books on here, one for good and one for bad.

Six cover trends I like, four I dislike. Do you share any of them with me? Any you VEHEMENTLY disagree with? Let me know in comments!

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: cover trends I like and dislike

  1. I AGREE WITH YOU. (Is this a surprise? This should not be a surprise. You have A+ taste in just about everything.) I’m not a fan of the decapitated covers…although, to be honest, I don’t mind the fluffy dresses. x) They’re puuurty. The faces? NO TO THE FACES. And I don’t get it how the UK/AUS covers almost always change the cool US covers to faces. I’m looking at you Reboot. There was no reason to put faces on those gorgeous black and red and blue barcode like covers. *sigh*

  2. I actually really like the covers with dresses. 😛 Yes, they’re kind of overused if you ask me, but I love looking at pretty dresses hehe. And I so agree with Cait about the Reboot/Rebel covers. The Aus versions are kind of urgh to be honest… I think that was partly the reason why it took me so long to pick up Reboot. I adore the cover of Everything Leads to You; plus, I really wanna read that book. 😀 Great list!

  3. BEAUTIFUL TYPOGRAPHY YES PLEASE. I’m a huge font-nerd, so these matter a lot to me, haha! I love minimalist layouts as well. They’re easy to look at, elegant and just plain but not boring at all. I love the ones where there are spaces to form other shapes. 😀 Cartoonish covers are super cute! I especially loved the covers for Love and Other Foreign Words and Fangirl. 🙂

    I do like poofy dresses, but only if they actually make sense and are relevant to the story. HAHAHA, so many covers with bodies and NO FACES. x) As for people on covers–it depends. They should look badass and the cover shouldn’t look cheap. Yeah, I HATE the Bloodlines covers with a burning passion. >_< Hold Still has a weird cover. Not a fan.

    • I LOVE awesome fonts – and they can go wrong so easily and make a cover look really cheap. Font is important (I once saw one that used comic sans…not good, not good). Just looked up Love and Foreign Words – it’s so pretty!!

      I guess the thing is that covers should be RELEVANT to the story. Like, why have a girl in a pretty dress if it’s dystopian and there are no dresses in sight? Weird if you ask me.

  4. AGREED AGREED AGREED! I’m a lover of typography and minimalism on covers. I also love colours that meshes well together. While I don’t mind people on covers too much, I hate when they’re the sole focus and the photography looks so awkward. Ugh. Minimal allllll the way!

  5. I’m with you on the dislike for the dresses. It’s okay if it’s relevant to the story, but sometimes it isn’t and that’s just weird. I love gorgeous typography. 🙂

  6. I agree with almost everything you said here, except for the Fangirl cover. While I really like minimalist covers, I don’t like cartoon-style covers. I especially agree with you about the cover art that makes good use of space. I, too, love the covers of What’s Left of Me and Bird. Another good example is Sisters Red. Simple, minimalist renderings of Scarlett, Rosie and a Fenris all connect to make one cohesive picture. It was cover love at first sight for me.

  7. Pingback: This Week: Stacking the Shelves, Wheelchair Basketball and School Holidays | The Loony Teen Writer

Leave a Reply

