Top Ten Tuesday (on Friday): Classic YA and MG Books Everyone Should Read

00dc8-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish.

Each week there’s a different Top Ten list. It’s a great way to find and connect with other awesome bloggers.

Happy Friday everyone! I know it’s not Tuesday, but I really wanted to post about this topic, so I’ve fit it into this week’s blog schedule anyway. Today I’m talking about classic YA and MG books – a wide range of them. These are books that (in my very humble opinion) every human should read. I decided to include MG because YA is a relatively new genre, and there weren’t as many for that category.

speak the catcher in the rye little women

1) Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson – this is such a hugely influential book that it even inspired a YA imprint. I actually enjoyed Wintergirls more, but this is still a really important YA book.

2) The Catcher in the Rye by J D Salinger – one of the only classic books I actually like. The voice in it is absolutely incredible.

3) Little Women by Louisa May Alcott – I’ve read this one a few times now, and it’s such a lovely read. Even if these “little women” are kind of prissy.

alice in wonderland anne of green gables bridge

4) Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll – I mean, this one’s obvious, you’ve probably heard me banging on about it often enough. I’ve read it twice just this year and it never fails to amaze me.

5) Anne of Green Gables by L M Montgomery – My mum has a huge bookshelf full of the books she read as a kid, and this series has always been one of my favourites. Anne is such a fantastic protagonist.

6) Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson – WHY nobody told me this was sad I have no idea, but I’m warning you now. And the movie’s pretty good, too, from what I can remember of it.

wizard of oz a wrinkle in time the magician's nephew

7) The Wizard of Oz by L Frank Baum – this is a wonderful story and there have been so many retellings of it (books and movies) that it’s become hard for me to tell the last time I read the original. Which is, by the way, awesome. This cover was designed by a university student. You can see some others here.

8) A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle – I reread this book this year sometime (I think?). I used to love it when I was in about year five, and I loved how it didn’t patronise or condescend. Plus, sci-fi!

9) The Magician’s Nephew by C S Lewis – Well, just the whole series, really, which is incredible if you read the whole thing. If you can ignore the very un-subtle Christian imagery, it’s an amazing, imaginative journey.

So those are the classic YA and MG books you should definitely read! Okay, mostly MG, but YA ones were hard to find. At present, I’m still in No Internet Land, but I’ll be back tomorrow to update you on my Camp NaNoWriMo progress – hopefully it’s going well!

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (on Friday): Classic YA and MG Books Everyone Should Read

  1. A Bridge to Terebithia was purely written for people to sob over. Thanks a lot to the movie producers for making it a visual world to sob at too. *cries forever and always* I love so many of your picks! I confess, I haven’t read Little Women. I just…haven’t ever wanted to. I wasn’t a fan of Anne either, but I’m SO bad with reading classics! >-< I really ought to read more…but I just couldn't be bothered. Lazy reader, right here.

    • A Bridge to Terabithia is just cruel. I mean, seriously. I love Little Women!! I’ve read it quite a few times now. But in general, I haven’t read that many classics – I read more when I was a young’un than now, I must confess. But they can be so borrrrring.

  2. I never read A Bridge to Terebithia and I NEVER WILL. My sister totally spoiled it for me when she read it and I think it’s just cruel for a children’s book to be so sad.

    I still need to read Speak because I am weird and haven’t read it yet 😛

    YAY FOR CATCHER IN THE RYE THOUGH! I know a lot of people didn’t enjoy it but I really did. There is just something about Holden’s voice that makes him so incredibly relateable.

    A Wrinkle in Time is actually one of my all time favs. I absolutely love it! And Narnia! YAY! Narnia was the best *happy sigh*.

    Fantastic list, Emily! 🙂

    • READ IT ANYWAY. It’s awesome! And I quite liked the movie, too.

      I’m so glad you like Catcher in the Rye. It seems like people either hate it or love it, and I’ve done both. A Wrinkle in Time and Narnia are also ones that I could read over and over 🙂

  3. Great list Emily! It’s nice to find another person who loves ‘The Catcher in the Rye’, we just finished studying it in English and it seemed like you either loved it or hated it (I’m happy to say that I belong to the former).

  4. Awesome list Em. I’m all about the classics lately, especially the kids editions. I absolutely adore Alice and Oz, they’re timeless classics that people will still enjoy long after we’re gone. Thanks do much for sharing. Love these!

Leave a Reply

